Rodney Holland Carvings
Rodney Holland Carvings, West Highland Way, Tyndrum, FK20 8SA, United Kingdom- Attraction
- Wheelchair Accessible
Charming Hotel in Tyndrum with Modern Amenities
Comfortable Accommodation: Muthu Ben Doran Hotel offers cozy rooms equipped with modern amenities such as flat-screen TVs, private bathrooms, and comfortable bedding.
Convenient Facilities: Enjoy the convenience of free WiFi, room service, and a 24-hour front desk. The hotel also features a lovely garden, free private parking, a shared lounge, and a restaurant serving delicious meals.
Scenic Surroundings: Situated just 45 km from Inveraray Castle and close to Massacre of Glencoe, the hotel provides a perfect base for exploring the stunning landscapes of Tyndrum.
Ready to experience a delightful stay at Muthu Ben Doran Hotel? Book now and make unforgettable memories!
Check-in from
02:00 PM
Check-out by
10:00 AM
Parking
FREE
Children
Allowed
Pets
Not allowed
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
12 sqm
Garden View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults
Beds
2 Twin bed (90-130 cm wide)
Room details
12 sqm
Garden View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
12 sqm
Garden View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
17 sqm
Garden View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
2 Twin bed (90-130 cm wide)
Room details
17 sqm
Garden View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Extra-large double bed (Super-king size) (181-210 cm wide)
Room details
17 sqm
Garden View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 3 guests
3 adults · 2 children
Beds
Twin bed (90-130 cm wide), Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
17 sqm
Garden View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 1 guests
1 adults
Beds
Twin bed (90-130 cm wide)
Room details
9 sqm
Garden View
In-room amenities
Get answers about amenities, policies, and more — e.g. “Are pets allowed?” or “Is parking available?”
Provider-sourced guest reviews.
Environnement, confort, wifi performant
Créneaux horaire diner très "british"
Location was good
Lack of parking spaces
Entorno y las instalaciones
Grifo de la ducha no funcionaba
Close to the WHW and shops/laundry. Quiet good sized room.
Restaurant staff were friendly but understaffed. Decor and finishes are in need of updates/repairs. Full of tour groups/buses.
Clean and comfortable
We stayed at the Muthu Ben Doran Hotel for one night as a convenient stopover on our way to Edinburgh. It is a large, fairly basic hotel and, at around €140 for the night, considerably cheaper than the other hotels we stayed in during our trip through Scotland. Our expectations were therefore realistic. The positive side: our room was a good size and, most importantly, the beds were very comfortable and of surprisingly good quality. We slept very well.
The bathroom, however, is in serious need of renovation. It felt extremely dated, with plastic-style wall panels, an old bath, toilet and a very small washbasin. There was also not a single shelf or surface to put toiletries on, which is such a simple thing but makes the bathroom quite impractical. There was no fridge in the room either. Breakfast was very basic. There was plenty available and you certainly won’t leave hungry, but the quality of the products was rather low. Toast and eggs were perfectly fine, but overall this is not a breakfast you will remember for its quality. In summary, it does the job as an overnight stop in Tyndrum: convenient location, decent-sized room and very comfortable beds. For the price, we didn’t expect luxury, but the bathrooms in particular could really use an update and a few simple practical improvements would make a big difference. For one night in transit, perfectly adequate. For a longer stay, I would probably choose somewhere else.
Basic rooms but comfortable for a night or 2. Staff were friendly
Had no phone signal and couldn’t connect to the WiFi so
Stanza grande e pulita. Hotel situato in una zona tranquilla e con un ampio parcheggio.
The staff are so welcoming , easy access to your room , big rooms , comfy huge beds , bath and shower ,
.
Liked the bed and clean sheets and towels
Some staff were not that friendly
Great location
L'ampiezza della nostra camera e del nostro letto era da Wow! stanza pulita super accogliente. Personale molto gentile sia al check-in/out che a cena e colazione, servite a buffet, con discreta scelta di piatti (poco tradizionali ma buoni). Albergo molto grande con spazi comuni un po' datati ma che offrono possibili piacevoli momenti di convivialità fra ospiti.
L'acqua calda è un problema, non perchè manca ma perchè è istantaneamente rovente! Ci sono dei cartelli che avvisano di questo ma è complicato gestire la doccia
Chambre spacieuse et confortable
Absence de refrigerateur
Good size room. Nice showers. Nice breakfast and dinners. 5 min walk to The Green Welly nearby which is worth a look at.
Miły personel, wygodne łóżka, czysto i schludnie
Osobne krany do zimnej i gorącej wody w łazience.
It’s in a good area
The lights flickered in the room like it was a horror film. There was dirt on the wall. It smelt like burning because someone left the radiator on (it was summer) the shower temp was so hard to control.
Friendly Asian girl in the food hall.
Cold food. Noisy room. Very overpriced.
Breakfast was really bad ,
On the West Highland Way so the bath was a bonus!
Faded splendour, bedrooms very tired (no pun intended)
Sehr freundliches Personal!
Überraschend gute Curries, schon etwas abgerockte Zimmer aber sauber
Great location. Allowed to check in earlier than stated
Constant running water noise from locked cupboard in room, thankfully after reporting it after a few hours from staff it stopped, no further communication from staff. Shower leaked it off shower screen creating flood on bathroom floor.
Comfortable beds, chairs and sofas; nicely decorated
Difficult to shower without wetting the bathroom floor
Garden and location
Too old and run down, lack of presentation in the room, too expensive.
Pleasant staff, great location near shops snd bus stops, room and bed clean and vomfortable
Xl
Seng var god
Varmt
Excellent location. Plenty of parking etc. good for overnight stop
Two many problems which could be easily fixed if anyone had an eye for detail. No plug in the sink - impossible to have a wash or shave with H and C separate taps. Hand cream dispenser in shower instead of conditioner. Bathroom door wouldn’t close. Bedroom carpet dangerously scuffed up at the corner - a tripping hazard. Disappointing à la carte dinner - venison loin served medium as requested but almost too tough to cut.
חדר ענק נקי מיקום טוב ארוחת בוקר נחמדה
המלון מעט מיושן, אבל ענה לצרכים שלנו.
Staff was great/ food was amazing/room was clean and comfortable
Was so excited to see a tub but could get no hot water
The location was excellent that is why I picked it. The staff were pleasant and well mannered. Breakfast nice plenty on offer.
Cleanliness . The toilet was dirty, a used toilet brush that looked as if it hadn’t been cleaned in weeks. An air vent (extractor fan) thick with dust also in the toilet. The water from the shower just pours onto the floor from below the shower screen on the bath. Rooms are tired and dated. Restaurant (Munro bar /come games room) took 50 mins to serve a veg pizza ( menu said bell peppers, mushrooms, onions, tomatoes) it came with courgette and mushroom with cheese. Burger was pink in the middle when cut open awful food. Also didn’t like the fact the fire alarm going but no gathering of residents at muster point, but there was a fire, but advised it was put out and everything is ok. Fire doors in corridors still all closed when checking out.
L’amabilité du personnel Le bon rapport qualité prix
Salle de bains un peu vieillotte et très petite
Confortable amabilité du personnel
Rien
Staff, beautifull view.
Everything was ok.
Le calme.
Les moquettes des parties communes sont toutes tachées. Surtout la salle de restauration. Les repas en demi pension ne sont pas variés. La qualité est moyenne.
Friendly welcome, comfortable room, able to park my motorcycle in front of main entrance.
I did dinner bed and breakfast. Food was ok but limited in choice. Prob better to use restaurant next to hotel for evening meal.
Lovely location in the Highlands
As other reviews state, old, unclean, noisy. Needs a full and thorough modernisation
Customer service, their interaction and try to fulfil requirement promptly. Enjoyed staying although, it was an expensive room
Location Customer service Location
Friendly staff good breakfast Beds comfy
Starting to look a bit run down Toilet seat loose No instructions on how to get towel heater and bathroom fan to work ( didn't ask to be fair ) Toilet door took some opening Tv very small Booking said walk in shower it wasn't
Excellent
Lo stile, la camera spaziosa , la pulizia .
Pokoje czyste i przestronne. Obsługa pomocna. Śniadanie smaczne.
Hotel ma już swoje lata i to widać. Ściany raczej cienkie, dochodzą głosy z innych pokoi.
Friendly n helpful staff
Nothing
Location was useful for walking activities in the area.
Property was very dated and the decor confusing (“tasteful nudes” and flamenco dancer art work… alongside Scottish crests).
Great location on the West Highland Way, very clean and plush and excellent value for money with amazing views and great bar and dining.
The bathroom, although very clean was dated compared to the rest of my room which was exceptionally well presented.
The staff was really nice.
The breakfast was average at best.
Hotel has a cool vibe
Was a bit shabby and windows wouldn't open beyond crack.
Room was very nicely done. Comfy bed great shower although shower screen a bit leaky. Breakfast was plentiful with a good choice of hot and cold options. Excellent location for walking WHW and other walks also few mins walking distance to other shops and eateries.
Shower screen needed attention to save water running into floor. Also the large lounge area had games to play some which are noisy especially when you're trying to chat and relax. Perhaps a separate area for these would be good
Good location for launching off into the highland. 3rd time l have stayed here,although this time the prices were quite high
Not much not to like staff are polite and helpful rooms are updated and clean and comfy
Dans l'ensemble correcte, même si vieillissant. La literie etait propre et confortable.
Certaines prises de fonctionnaient pas, les voyageurs dehors se garent n'importe comment. Prévoir de se garer plus loin.
Evening Meal
Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, and good food. Pool, darts, ping pong, and air hockey in the spacious bar.
The decor of the place is weird. Everything clashes. Just an odd vibe to the place. But fun for a night.
Unfortunately we didn’t get to arrive at hotel for our booking .This was due to a major accident and road was closed.We did contact the hotel to quire a refund, this was declined.! Didn’t think this was a fair response from hotel as our arrival was completely out of our hands , due to road closure.Very disappointed .
Very comfy bed. Shower was really good. Perfect location for our plans. Would book again.
It did feel a bit like the hotel from the Shining but we didn't see any sets of twins uttering cryptic things about murder so Winning, I guess? Restaurant did not appeal to us at all but we didn't eat there
Very noisy at all hours. Staff came into the bedroom to clean it at 7 am.
It was very quirky, staff were exceptional
The staff were so lovely the room was so clean and very comfy
Habitaciones amplias, cómodas y muy agradables. Ambiente tranquilo. Bien ubicado y fácil de aparcar. Por fuera parece que va a estar más anticuado, pero las habitaciones están muy renovadas y está muy bien.
Nada que reseñar. Solo pasamos una noche
Great location and super friendly, efficient staff. This is our second stay at this hotel. Highly recommend.
Set off the road, quiet location, beautiful inside
The Service Staff was kind and every Moment helpful. We enjoyed all food options: the Scottish breakfast, the Afternoon tea that we booked for our last day, and the chef's menu for dinner.
Missed chocolate cream with the breakfast.
Lovely hotel. Very clean, friendly staff and the food was very nice. Bed was comfortable and loved the fact that the en suite had a bath
Only thing we disliked was the fact that a lot of the other guests were very noisy. Not everyone wants to be woken as soon as its light outside.
The stuff, particularly the Asian manager, are very pleasant and helpful.
The breakfast ran out of tea cups half of the time. and the foods were low quality in general. The hotel has signs on every hot water faucet about its boiling hot temperature. Why not lower it? Don’t understand. In the USA, this may become a law suit.
Vriendelijk personeel. Neena zorgde voor een goede service bij het diner.
Lovely Hotel - so understated.
Zeer vriendelijke bediening in het restaurant!
The location. The bed was comfortable. The good food cafe is right next door, it does excellent fish and chips.
The bathroom was dusty and there was hair in the shower when we first arrived i.e. not our own hair. The breakfast buffet was of a very poor standard. The coffee was undrinkable and the cooked breakfast items had been left out too long and I am unsure if they were kept warm properly. The best part of the breakfast was the cereal, as this was the only part not cooked in the hotel kitchen.
The location, quality of hotel, friendly staff, comfortable bedrooms thank you
Location was ideal for our trip.parking was easy, facilities are dated ,however very clean and well equipped
Bathroom was a bit dated
Breakfast staff were friendly and a great breakfast.
Dropped something on the floor and seen how filthy under the bed was. It was filthy and dusty.
Evening meal Staff
Breakfast
La habitación y desayuno
Rapporto qualità prezzo top, camera grande e silenziosa, letto grande e confortevole.
I lavandini con rubinetti singoli che o esce acqua gelida o bollente.
-very close to nature -hotel with very Scottish character -big comfortable room
I have liked everything
Posizione strategica per andare verso nord senza i costi del nord, bella posizione e molto comoda per la macchina
La doccia nella vasca non mi piace mai perché la ritengo meno sicura
Great breakfast. Excellent location. Perfect place to stay while doing the West Highland Way.
The interior is a little rundown. The bathroom was not great.
Wir haben die Frühstückszeit übersehen und waren kurz vor Ende erst im Frühstücksraum. Trotzdem wurden wir noch sehr höflich bedient.
In die Jahre gekommen. Der Room-Service stand ohne zu klopfen plötzlich im Zimmer.
Super Lage, hat alles was man braucht und war sauber und die Mitarbeitenden super freundlich
Etwas in die Jahre gekommen für den Preis
The location
A cleaner, more professional version would be: The room wasn’t particularly clean and there was a lot of noise, which made the stay less comfortable than expected. I was also disappointed that food service stopped at 8:15pm, which I find quite ridiculous for a hotel. The bar also had a very poor selection, and paying such a high price for something as simple as a Coke and a chocolate bar felt excessive.
Ubicación en un entorno precioso. Muy tranquilo. Perfecto para desconectar. El hotel tiene todo lo necesario para una estancia de 10.
La ducha podría mejorar.
引爆胎無法準時抵達,前台等我們到半夜12:30才報到,反應浴室沒有熱水,也立刻提供一間隔壁的空房讓我們洗澡
應該有超過三十年的老地毯,佈滿各種痕跡,充滿霉味的房間
super frühstück, unkomplizierter Check-in, freundliches Personal und geräumige Zimmer
das Hotel ist schon ziemlihc in die Jahre gekommen, was an sich unproblematisch ist, jedoch gab es keine Möglichkeit meine Wäsche irgendwie zu trocknen, was in einer Wandergegend und dem typisch schottischen Wetter etwas ungünstig ist.
Great location in Tyndrum, managed to book at short notice when there was nowhere else available
Limited car parking had to leave on side of grass, wifi very poor, seemed a bit pricey for the stay
Sehr freundliche Mitarbeitende, gute Ausstattung des Zimmers.
Das Essen (insbesondere Frühstück) war sehr einfach gehalten.
Bella Struttura, belle camere e buoni servizi, la zona bar è molto carina. Posizione ottima per visitare i dintori. Staff gentile e disponibile
L'offerta ed il servizio per la cena non è di gran livello, non adeguata ai prezzi secondo noi
Location and friendly staff
All good
Struttura che ha un che di storico, forse di un’epoca passata, ma è una bella realtà. Le camere sono spaziose e pulite.
Purtroppo si sentono molto i rumori dalle altre stanze, le porte sono molto alte quindi entra luce dal basso. La cena e colazione purtroppo non all’altezza, servizio da rivedere, a colazione mancava molta scelta, arrivava con contagocce.
Locatie
Restaurant, pizza, burgers
Location
No fridge or phone in the room
old hotel
The staff were friendly, professional, and helpful. the games room was very cool, the breakfast and dinner were good, and the staff were very kind to wait for us on multiple occasions as we were arriving at the last minute for both breakfast and dinner. our room was of a decent size.
Our room was not as clean as expected. The bathroom stank of cigarettes. The filter inside the bathroom had accumulated dirt and hadn’t been cleaned in a long time. The whole hotel hadn’t been modernized in years. The interior design has ample room for improvement.
Excellent location, facilities. Good bedroom with en-suite
Always friendly , excellent bedroom and facilities
Bell’hotel alle porte delle Highlands, è stato un soggiorno davvero piacevole. Stanze pulite e ben arredate, letti comodi.
The staff tried to be helpful and generally friendly despite English not being their first language for any of them, apparently. The deserts we had were excellent - the pastry chef seemed to be very good.
The hotel is operated by the MGM corporation, which is based in India. The staff all appeared to be of Indian or similar descent, and that resulted in the hotel having no feeling of Scottish ethnicity or authenticity. Hence, it was not what we expected at all and left us feeling disappointed, even though the staff themselves were efficient, friendly and cheerful. This is a large hotel that is definitely set up for coach parties so buffet food seems to be the norm and food quality is satisfactory, although with little choice and curry was the only choice for vegetarians or vegans. Surprisingly, the curries were very thin and runny but the flavour was good. It was also disappointing that they don't use free range eggs or chicken. We did ask about that and were told it was very difficult (but we know some other national hotel chains have a policy of using free range eggs at least, so it can be done). The cleaning standard was poor in multiple respects: the carpets in the corridors had a grey line of dust against the skirting on each side, suggesting they had not been properly vacuumed in a long time. There were marks on the walls in the restaurant and the salt & pepper pots were grubby. All of these things could be easily rectified with some proper cleaning and attention to detail as hygiene in a restaurant, especially, should be fundamental. The external appearance was disappointing, with render coming off the walls and paintwork peeling etc. It made the place look shabby and unloved.
Location
Very dirty room, dusty on top of pictures, behind bed, below bath on wood, curtains not hanging nicely, overall very disappointing, I expected better from my Indian natives...
In the photos it’s nice but it’s quite plasticky in real life
The walls were so thin, I could hear next door snore and fart at the same time. The cleaners started cleaning at 07:30/8 am. Thin walls and hoovers at that time in the morning is not good. The toilet seat came off in my hand and there is no automatic ventilation in the bathroom. That is a separate, unmarked switch on the wall that you have to know about and I would have if reception had told me about it on check in but they didn’t. Comfy bed though
Prachtige omgeving. Echt een Schots hotel.
De hygiëne had beter gekund.
Excellent location -I travelled by train and it was an easy walk down from the station. The room was spacious and clean. It was good to have a window that opened.
Breakfast was ok although the hot food was a bit hit and miss.
Feedback themes are sourced from guest reviews provided by our data provider.
What guests love
Areas to consider
Cleanliness
6.23/10Concerns raised about maintenance and cleanliness in some areas, particularly in the bathroom.
Service
9.2/10Staff were noted as friendly, accommodating, and exceeded expectations in hospitality.
Location
8.24/10Accessible location mentioned, although some reviews did not find it ideal.
Room Quality
5.69/10Several complaints about the room quality not matching expectations based on descriptions.
Amenities
8.22/10Good facilities were noted, though some inconveniences occurred, such as power outages.
Value for Money
6.68/10Mixed feelings on pricing, with some guests feeling it was overpriced for the quality received.
Food and Beverage
6.23/10Negative feedback regarding food quality and options available.
Overall Experience
8.7/10Overall positive experience for some guests, highly praised in a few reviews despite issues.