Plant Life
Plant Life, Thormanby Road, Howth, County Dublin, Ireland- Made
- Mural
- Sight
Compare nearby stays with similar location, guest experience, amenities, and class.
Charming Bed and Breakfast in Howth with Garden and Family Rooms
Tranquil Garden and Shared Lounge: Relax in the serene garden or socialize in the inviting shared lounge at Gleann Na Smol in Howth.
Comfortable Family Rooms and Well-equipped Kitchen: Enjoy spacious family rooms, each with a well-fitted kitchen, perfect for a cozy stay with loved ones.
Convenient Location for Exploring: With Burrow Beach and Portmarnock Golf Club nearby, and easy access to Croke Park Stadium, Gleann Na Smol is the ideal base for your adventures in Howth.
Book now to experience a delightful stay at Gleann Na Smol and create unforgettable memories in Howth.
Check-in from
02:00 PM
Check-out by
11:00 AM
Parking
FREE
Children
Allowed
Pets
Not allowed
Sleeps
Up to 3 guests
3 adults · 2 children
Beds
Twin bed (90-130 cm wide), Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
21 sqm
Garden View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
21 sqm
Garden View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
21 sqm
Garden View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 4 guests
4 adults · 3 children
Beds
2 Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
21 sqm
Garden View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 4 guests
4 adults · 3 children
Beds
2 Twin bed (90-130 cm wide), Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
21 sqm
Garden View
In-room amenities
Get answers about amenities, policies, and more — e.g. “Are pets allowed?” or “Is parking available?”
Provider-sourced guest reviews.
The owner Sean was very accommodating he picked my granddaughter up from dart station witch was appreciated. He made a wonderful.breakfast .
Le petit déjeuner
Très déçus par la chambre avec un lit inconfortable, une douche avec évacuation bouchée, une propreté bien moyenne . Mauvais rapport qualité prix ! Seul point positif proche de la presqu'île de Howth
could not get hot water in the morning, and tv never worked
see above
Nichts
Wir hatten noch nie so ein schlechtes, heruntergekommenes und schmuddeliges Zimmer und die Dusche war eklig.
Home from home feel
Owner was friendly and made breakfast to order. Also, suggested local places playing live music.
Unfortunately, this property fell well short of expectations. The unit smelled unpleasant as soon as we walked in, and the space felt cluttered and unclean throughout — there was dirty laundry left in a basket, and the kitchen counters were cluttered with items. The bed was also a letdown; It was small and the mattress was worn enough that you could feel the springs through it. The one bright spot was the host, who was very accommodating and responsive. That said, the overall condition of the property made for an awful stay. To put it in perspective, my sister stayed at a hotel in the same area and paid less than we did for this room. I would not stay here again.
Unfortunately, this property fell well short of expectations. The unit smelled unpleasant as soon as we walked in, and the space felt cluttered and unclean throughout — there was dirty laundry left in a basket, and the kitchen counters were cluttered with items. The bed was also a letdown; It was small and the mattress was worn enough that you could feel the springs through it. The one bright spot was the host, who was very accommodating and responsive. That said, the overall condition of the property made for an awful stay. To put it in perspective, my sister stayed at a hotel in the same area and paid less than we did for this room. I would not stay here again.
Super Lage für den Cliff Walk in Howth und den kleinen Strand unweit der Herberge!
Zimmertür war kaputt und nicht abschließbar. Sonst aber gutes Zimmer.
Location is amazing but tricky with public transport at night . Hospitable host ; would give you shirt off his back Quiet comfortable bedroom Plentiful food
Tv didn’t work Not aesthetically good in any way but beds were comfortable and food was plentiful
Location and Sean
Way over priced for the state of accommodation. It was like paying 2 nights for 1 night.
Il proprietario è molto gentile e simpatico. La colazione è ricca e su richiesta ti prepara uova, salsicce, toast... La casa è vicinissima al mare ed è comoda per fare delle passeggiate. Il parcheggio è all'interno della proprietà.
il bagno della camera è molto piccolo. Nella camera è presente una moquette di dubbia pulizia e i letti sono molto scomodi. In linea generale si vede che il proprietario, per quanto carinissimo e gentile, fa fatica a stare dietro alla pulizia della casa.
Nice friendly welcome
House smelt of chip oil Bedding not ironed Dirty shower with hair in i Door not able to lock Tv didnt work Dirty room
L emplacement et la gentillesse de l hote
C est très sale j ai été piqué par des punaises de lit j ai plein de boutons et qui grattent énormément le ménage au secours et pour le prix c est abusé
The property is in a really nice location to see Howth and is a short drive into Dublin so handy if you’d like to see both. The owner was very friendly at check in and again in the morning at breakfast.
There’s a few things that let the property down. Clearly the photos are pretty old, there’s a lot of wear and tear and mold in both the bedroom and the bathroom. The bed whilst comfortable enough seemed pretty flimsy and the headboard was almost falling off! The staff knocked on doors and entered the room in the morning which was a bit bizarre and uncomfortable. All in all it seems like this would have been a beautiful spot a few years ago but just needs some TLC.
La ubicación es buena, tiene parking y el propietario es amable.
En general no hay limpieza. Las sábanas no parecían limpias, la habitación bastante sucia, la cocina mas de lo mismo... La verdad que para lo que pagamos podrían dar mejor servicio. Puede ser un sitio austero pero la limpieza es primordial.
Very relaxed family vibe , Sean is the perfect host very accommodating and hospitable. After a night in a loud unipersonal apartment in Dublin this was a welcome change.
Needs updating
Tipica casetta irlandese con un host gentile e simpatico
La posizione
La camera il materasso rotto , parecchio disordine
All was amazing
Host was very kind and accommodating. He even held a package sent from a previous place we had stayed. Area is beautiful, great breakfast and host had many suggestions for places to see and eat.
The space is a little different from the pictures
Onestamente niente
Le foto non rispecchiano la realtà, struttura datata ma soprattutto sporca
Der Aufenthalt hat uns gut gefallen. Die Freundlichkeit des Gastgebers war unschlagbar. Er hat uns sehr gute Tips für Pubs und Spaziergänge gegeben. Weiterhin hat er uns ein tolles Frühstück zubereitet. Das B&B liegt fussläufig zu Pubs und den Klippen.
Das Zimmer war sehr einfach gestaltet und nicht auf dem neuesten Stand. Die Einrichtung war sehr in die Jahre gekommen.
Hôte des plus sympathique, chaleureux, intéressant et plein d'humour. Petit déjeuner irlandais au top, et dame de service très attentionnée. Super emplacement près de Howth à pied, et sur le trajet des ballades le long de la presqu'île.
La literie un peu molle
Sean è una persona molto accogliente, ti fa sentire come a casa. La struttura è un po' datata ma abbiamo trovato pulito e la posizione è molto comoda per visitare Howth.
Il materasso non è molto confortevole.
Great location. Friendly host.
Our room had obviously not been properly cleaned in a long time, even the bedside lamps were covered in dust. Guests talking in another room kept us awake till 2am. I had not realised that we were not in our own contained unit, but you stay in one of six bedrooms in the property.
Breakfast good but overall cleanliness not good Cobwebs in room and carpet filthy
Camera piccola, letto troppo piccolo e scomodi
host community feel with other guests
little space dated not clean
Très bonne accueil et petit déjeuner exelent
Le lit inconfortable
Sean was a lovely host, attentive and responsive. His staff were also. The house was easy to find, park at & an easy walk into Howth.
A little expensive given the size of the room, the bathroom being detached rather than en suite and the need for some updating overall, though very comfortable
el sean ha sigut molt amable i ens ha fer un esmorzar deliciós.
l'habitació no va ser exactament com apareixia a la imatge, i podria haver estat una mica més neta.
We just loved our stay. The host was fantastic. Breakfast was great. Small room, but cozy. We had everything we needed. Quick walk to the beach and pubs. Would stay again!
Propriétaire très accueillant. Grande salle de bain. Bon petit déjeuner. Port de pêche et balade le long des falaises à proximité
Petite chambre.
Il est bien placé et le petit déjeuner est complet. Le lit est confortable.
La chambre était petite et il n’y avait qu’une petite fenêtre de toit. La propreté n’était pas optimale.
El molt a prop del centre, el breakfast es abundant
Li falta una mica de nateja.
Très bon Accueil de Sean, le propriétaire. Irish Breakfast au top!
Taille des chambres un peu petite Propreté qui n'était pas irréprochable.
La ubicación
Los colchones con bultos y duros. Y el mantenimiento dejaba bastante que desear.
Colazione fantastica, super varia ed abbondante, inoltre i proprietari sempre pronti ad aggiungere qualsiasi cosa si desiderasse! Sempre gentilissimi e super ospitali
Il letto troppo morbido per i miei gusti
We checked in, then immediately checked out again. This property is absolutely awful. Needs a deep clean. The owner was really lovely but blind to the fact that it needed a refurbishment.
Lovely host great Irish breakfast and the location
Die Gastgeber waren freundlich und zuvorkommend. Das Haus ist ein wenig am Hang, oberhalb des Hafens von Howth und wir konnten das Auto vor dem Haus parkieren.
Das Doppelbett war eine Zumutung, man konnte jede Feder einzeln spüren und dürfte nicht mehr für eine Vermietung genutzt werden.
The host is wonderful, as is the housekeeper. Great people. The location is a short walk from downtown - and from the sea. Breakfast was superb, and tailored to our preferences. Very homey. There are rooms to read and relax in the house. There is a family vibe there - even among guests.
The pics on Booking are accurate, but they don't show the age and tiredness of the house. If I were 23 and travelling through Europe, this would be my stop. Mattresses are mediocre. Huge pile of smelly trash and bottles out back. Cleanliness is passable, but not great. Room was small, and in need of some TLC. Imagine staying in your favorite uncles house. The main issue was that this wasn't cheap - we paid more to stay here than the Hilton in town.
Centralt och pittoreskt med grym frukost och härlig underhållning av den trevlige värden.
Ogillade ingenting.
La proximité du centre ville L accueil du propriétaire
La salle de bain en dehors de la chambre La taille de la chambre ( trop petite pour entreposer deux valises et circuler ) Le fait de ne pas pouvoir manger seuls le matin ( petit dej partagé avec les autres locataires ) Va et vient et bruit du fait du nombre d’occupants Prix élevé
Very nice people, lovely place, delicious breakfast. Huge bathroom.
Small bedroom
Posizione ottima, comodissima per visitare le cliffs di Howth e per prendere il treno per Dublino. Ampia scelta ristoranti. Sean, il nostro ospite è persona fantastica. Qui ci si sente come a casa
Purtroppo la struttura è decisamente "vissuta", avrebbe bisogno di un po' di ristrutturazione... ma Sean, il proprietario, sa come farsi perdonare con la sua gentilezza e simpatia e con le sue colazioni ;-)
Les hôtes sont très agréables et accueillants. L’emplacement est parfait. Le petit-déjeuner est très bon et complet (aussi bien sucré que salé).
La chambre et la salle de bain aurait nécessité d’un ménage un peu plus profond.
Nulla, il proprietario che provava ad essere gentile, ma offriva un prodotto allucinante
Struttura estremamente sporca, macchie non meglio identificate in bagno ma dal colore eloquente, letti con capelli sulle lenzuola, ragnatele e ragni ovunque. A mia moglie stava cadendo un anta sulla testa. Foto disponibili a richiesta per lo staff di booking. State lontani! Dimenticavo è vicino al centro visto che vi verrà la voglia di dormire sulle panchine.
All is brilliant!
Very nice stay, very friendly staff. Breakfast was A1 and location was excellent. Thanks Sean see you again.
The property is located in a residential area close to the sea, value for money. Shaun was friendly and helpful, willing to help. He offered the breakfast but we had to leave as we had other plans.
Sean the host could not do enough for us. Very welcoming and friendly. Sean went above and beyond for us and we are very greatful. 😁
Nothing
Snídaně a personál byl skvělý
Celkem obyčejné na cenu
It was absolutely flitey, toilet brush discusting full of poo, shower tiles flity, carpet in bedroom discusting, afraid to walk on it with my bare feet, had to work the TV with a cable hanging from the back of it, I'm actually going to complain to booking.com, i stayed in a place the night before, and it was so satisfyed, it was spotless, and it was for the same money
Pán byl ochotný a milí
Peřiny byli cítit potem, postele ve špatném stavu, špinavá kuchyně, celkově nečisté a smradlavé.
Host bent over backwards to be helpful, and everything with a smile. He's quite a character
Super Lage, netter Gastgeber Tolles Frühstück
Alles etwas in die Jahre gekommen. Aber noch okay
Nothing.
To begin with, when we entered the room, we noticed mold growth in the shower, bubbling from the shower drain, and a lack of general cleanliness. However, these oversights were not the main reason for this review. While my girlfriend and I were staying there, at around 1 AM, a guest at the accommodation arrived, banging on the doors demanding to be let in. Both my girlfriend and I were very scared, not knowing if he would try to break into our room, damage our rental car, or even try to hurt us. After he was let in, we heard screaming, loud footsteps, and what sounded like fighting for around 20 minutes. Eventually, we decided that it was best for our safety to leave. We were forced to find another accommodation, paying a large sum of money just to have a simple and comfortable night's rest. I do not recommend staying here.
Location
The bed needs replacing as it was old and uncomfortable as well as it was pushed up against the wall which made it very difficult to get out of bed without disturbing the other person. Linen and bedding was old. The room had a funky smell. The whole place could do with a good clean.
There was no-one about when we arrived, seen two other men who were staying there but not the owner, messaged and rang him no answer, waited 10/15 minutes and nothing, needed to leave as we were going to a concert in Malahide castle, had planned to take the Dart but ended up driving to Malahide and spending €30 on parking the car, was so disappointed with the guesthouse and the response or no response from the owner we ended up just driving back to Belfast and didn’t get home until 1:45 in the morning, I’ve asked for a refund with no response. There was an old fusty smell on entering the guesthouse, washing lying all over the kitchen, not the type of place I would stay in or recommend to anyone. Can you please help me get a refund?
The property was old, messy and had an old fusty smell, wouldn’t recommend and no one there to enable us to check in.
We didn’t stay. It was too dirty. We got a reservation at the Hilton in Dublin instead
It was comfortable, clean, good breakfast and Sean was outstanding: friendly, professional; welcoming and incredibly helpful.
Nothing
Beds were very comfortable. The owner was very accommodating and lovely to chat with.
Herzliches Willkommen, unkompliziert und nette Gespräche mit dem Gastgeber
Location was good
Cleanliness Wi-Fi not working worn and torn just shabby
Sean the Owner is a very welcoming host and is very knowledgeable about the area and history The accommodation was very accessible to Malahide for the concert we attended
We had an ensuite room with recently updated shower room The accommodation needs to be upgraded in some areas, and this would certainly help to keep it going into the future Breakfast was excellent great choice speedy service
De locatie. Dicht bij centrum. En de omgeving: cliffswalk. Gastheer was heel vriendelijk!
Voor €160 een kamer waar je niet rond het bed kunt. En het leek schoon, maar als je de gezamenlijke ruimtes bekijkt, zoals de keuken, was het niet hygiënisch.
The host was AMAZING! He let me drop off my luggage early so that I could tackle the Howth Cliff Walk. He even offered to drive me into town to the tourist information center so that I could pick up a map and grab a lunch to take with me. He then dropped me at the head of the trail so that I wouldn't have to walk the bit through town. Wonderful man! The B&B itself was very nice, and the breakfast was excellent. My bed was comfortable, and the shower in the bathroom worked splendidly.
I was a little confused in booking and ended up renting a room that did not have an ensuite bathroom. That being said, the bathroom was right next to my room, and there were no issues. The bedroom itself could use a detailed cleaning, particularly the carpet and along the bases of the walls.
Charming property and the host was amazing - gave us wonderful recommendations and breakfast was outstanding- a real gem
Bed could have been a little softer but still comfortable
Der Gastgeber war super freundlich!
Das Verständnis von Sauberkeit entspricht überhaupt nicht unseren Vorstellungen und ist auch nicht vereinbar.
Rien
Hébergement vétuste et très sale, inconfortable, salle de bain étroite dont une trappe donne sur un grenier avec un debarras affreux. Toile d'araignees dans tous les coins. La femme de menage n'est pas passée depuis bien longtemps.Lit vieux et sale. Manque d'hygiène au petit déjeuner. Plus de place de parking privé, j'ai stationné mon véhicule dans la rue et au matin la portière de la voiture de location Europcar était rayée. Les frais,qui m'incombent s'élève à 1 200 €. Ce gîte doit fermer
The biggest highlight of our time here was Sean, the host. He was very generous with his time in sharing stories and telling us about the history and politics of Ireland, lining up a taxi for our departure day and making recommendations. He also made us a delicious full-Irish breakfast. He was also accommodating of an early check-in and having some breakfast items available earlier than the regular hours to accommodate our early departure. We appreciated having an affordable place to stay for this area.
The room was tight for 4 people (we were aware of this ahead of time based on pictures). It was acceptably clean, but not very clean. At times Sean was hard to find in the house, but he was responsive to my messages on booking.com. We would stay here again if we came back.
Sean é una persona molto gentile e accogliente,la struttura é in una buona posizione.
Purtroppo il prezzo che si paga non rispecchia il valore.Camera nostra non era pulita bene,lo scarico della doccia non funzionava.Colazione scarsa.Come appoggio per una notte ci potrebbe anche stare a patto di pagare un prezzo minore.
Está muy bien ubicado, cerca del centro de Howth, exactamente a unos 10 minutos andando. Además se encuentra cerca de un mirador desde donde puedes ver el puerto muy bonito. También añadir que la cercanía y trato del dueño del alojamiento ha sido espléndido. Recomendaría el alojamiento.
Feedback themes are sourced from guest reviews provided by our data provider.
What guests love
Areas to consider
Cleanliness
6.06/10Various mentions of the need for cleaning and updating kitchen and bathroom amenities.
Service
8.53/10Multiple reviews highlight the friendliness and helpfulness of the host, including personalized assistance.
Location
8.57/10Consistently praised for being perfect, quiet, and centrally located near public transport.
Room Quality
6.52/10Comments about outdated beds and small room sizes.
Amenities
7.55/10Basic amenities mentioned but noted to be lacking in maintenance.
Value for Money
7.01/10Overall value seems affected by the described conditions but mitigated by good location and service.
Food and Beverage
9.06/10Highly rated breakfasts and accommodations for dietary needs.
Overall Experience
7.53/10An overall good experience but marked down due to cleanliness and room quality issues.