Dog Stream Reserve
Dog Stream Reserve, Hanmer Springs, Hurunui District, New Zealand- Park
Compare nearby stays with similar location, guest experience, amenities, and class.
Convenient Location
Hanmer Springs Retreat is ideally situated just 800 metres from the renowned Hanmer Springs Thermal Reserve, making it a perfect choice for those seeking relaxation and rejuvenation.
Comfortable Accommodation
Each room at our retreat is equipped with a kitchenette, ensuring that guests have the convenience of preparing their meals. The en suite bathrooms with complimentary toiletries add a touch of luxury to your stay.
Outdoor Amenities
Our property boasts facilities such as mountain bike washing area, guest laundry, and outdoor BBQ area, providing guests with opportunities for outdoor recreation and relaxation.
Book your stay at Hanmer Springs Retreat now to experience a perfect blend of comfort and convenience during your visit to Hanmer Springs.
Check-in from
03:00 PM
Check-out by
10:00 AM
Parking
FREE
Children
Allowed
Pets
Not allowed
1 King Bed and 2 Twin Beds
592 sq feet
Layout - Bedroom and sitting area
Internet - Free WiFi
Entertainment - 32-inch TV with premium channels
Food & Drink - Kitchenette with microwave, cookware/dishware, electric kettle, and toaster
Sleep - Blackout drapes/curtains and bed sheets
Bathroom - Private bathroom, shower/tub combination, and rainfall showerhead
Practical - Iron/ironing board, laptop workspace, and guidebooks
Comfort - Fresh towels (on request), air conditioning, and daily housekeeping
Need to Know - No cribs (infant beds) available, toothbrush and toothpaste not available
Non-Smoking
Room is accessed via exterior corridors
Sleeps
Up to 4 guests
4 adults · 3 children
Beds
King bed (151-180 cm wide), 2 Twin bed (90-99 cm wide)
Room details
55 m2
In-room amenities
1 King Bed and 2 Twin Beds
915 sq feet
Layout - 2 bedrooms and sitting area
Internet - Free WiFi
Entertainment - 32-inch TV with premium channels
Food & Drink - Kitchenette with microwave, cookware/dishware, electric kettle, and toaster
Sleep - Blackout drapes/curtains and bed sheets
Bathroom - Private bathroom, bathtub, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Iron/ironing board, laptop workspace, and guidebooks
Comfort - Fresh towels (on request), air conditioning, and daily housekeeping
Need to Know - No cribs (infant beds) available, toothbrush and toothpaste not available
Non-Smoking
Room is accessed via exterior corridors
Sleeps
Up to 4 guests
4 adults · 3 children
Beds
King bed (151-180 cm wide), 2 Twin bed (90-99 cm wide)
Room details
85 m2
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 3 guests
3 adults · 2 children
Beds
Single bed (90-130 cm wide), Extra-large double bed (Super-king size) (181-210 cm wide)
Room details
45 m2
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Extra-large double bed (Super-king size) (181-210 cm wide)
Room details
35 m2
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 3 guests
3 adults · 2 children
Beds
Single bed (90-130 cm wide), Large bed (151-180 cm wide)
Room details
45 m2
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 4 guests
4 adults · 3 children
Beds
2 Single bed (90-130 cm wide), Extra-large double bed (Super-king size) (181-210 cm wide)
Room details
55 m2
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 4 guests
4 adults · 3 children
Beds
2 Single bed (90-130 cm wide), Extra-large double bed (Super-king size) (181-210 cm wide)
Room details
85 m2
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 3 guests
3 adults · 2 children
Beds
Single bed (90-130 cm wide), Extra-large double bed (Super-king size) (181-210 cm wide)
Room details
35 m2
In-room amenities
When booking more than 4 rooms, different policies and additional supplements may apply.
Free private parking is possible on site (reservation is not needed).
WiFi is available in all areas and is free of charge.
Pets are not allowed.
Children of any age are allowed. Children up to and including 4 years old stay for free when using an existing bed. You haven't added any cots. You haven't added any extra beds.
Get answers about amenities, policies, and more — e.g. “Are pets allowed?” or “Is parking available?”
Provider-sourced guest reviews.
No idea why the VR Hotel Group did not notify us they had closed this hotel down. Travelling all the way from Queenstown they had accepted our booking 5 weeks earlier and charged us via Booking.com. No reason why they closed it down was given and no other accommodation was available in Hanmer Springs that weekend. Disappointed is a massive understatement, this was a costly trip to a wonderful area to be totally let down by the Hotel causing much stress on a planned weekend away. Shame on the hotel group.
Nice clean, spacious, well equipped unit. We arrived 'after hours' and the system for 'checking in' worked well.
Good value
very quiet.excellent bed
Great visit
The dinner at the on site restaurant was very good. We are outside and the back dining area was very pretty. Wear close to shoes due to sand flies which can be a problem all over New Zealand. Our room was very spacious and clean.
It was slightly annoying that we could not access the property untill 3.00 in the afternoon.
Check-in at 3 PM, check-out at 10 AM, so if you’re staying one night, you’ve booked a very expensive nap. Couldn’t make it this time (sick kids), but the hotel has a strict no rebooking, no refunds policy. Messaged to see if there was any flexibility and got bounced to Expedia. Expedia tried calling on my behalf, but the hotel didn’t pick up. Eventually, I got a text saying they’d leave my key in the room…which wasn't the help I was needing. I’ve stayed before, and the rooms are clean, but the furniture whispers “I’ve seen things.” fewer stains and more charm, would go a long way. There are plenty of other spots in Hanmer Springs with flexibility, lovely accommodation, and great customer service - We’ll be choosing one of those next time.
Large room Excellent evening meal
The room was large facing the west for afternoon sun, was clean and well appointed
Excellent accommodation, good friendly staff, a shame there nothing to do in the town.
A little run down but ok because of value.
Spacious room, everything you need for a comfortable stay. Good bed.
.
Great for our 1 night stop over. Smaller unit but clean and comfy. Great restaurant on site.
The staff were pleasant and very helpful, couldn’t fault them.
The complex is getting more and more run-down through lack of care & maintenance. Exterior lights are hanging off the walls, cigarette butts on the decks. The fridges are never defrosted - completely blocked with ice. There was no milk. The shower head needs a new seal as water blows everywhere from the back of the fitting. I left a personal item in the motel and the owners ignored all requests to get it back. 0/5
The people went out of their way to be helpful and pleasant. A great place to stay for a couple of days. Highly recommended.
Staff friendky upon check-in. However no reply to 4 messsges left prior to arrival. Very disappointing
An average NZ place to stay. Beautiful surroundings
Comfortable and quiet with beautiful views.
Booked a Supierer Studio room for the weekend to celebrate my wife's 50th Birthday. Arrived after Reception closed 6pm (very early to close) to find they had put us into the disability room complete with Hospital style bathroom. Normally Hotels/ motels would sell these rooms as disability rooms so at least if you book it you know what to expect but beware this place does not specifically advertise it has disability rooms so you book a normal room and there is a chance they will give you one of these rooms. Breakfast was very mediocre, we tried 2 of the breakfast cereals and they were very stale and same for the crackers with the cheese. Coffee did not taste nice at all.
Can't say anything wrong about this place hosts and staff could not do enough for us for the 2 days we where there and the room was super clean tidy
Convenient access to pool.
Nice location. Loved the size of the room, the balcony, the quiet
Stayed a few years back and the place was very good. It however now needs updating. The attached restauramt has declined.badly and breakfast is not worth it, just go into town. Its clean and comfortable and good access to town but needs an update
The managers were extremely helpful and took care of my every need
Staff are amazing, friendly and helpful! Rooms could do with a better clean!
Room was a good size. Bed was very comfy . Room was clean. Felt the bathroom needed a bit of a spruce. Broken tiles in shower area. We had one of the rooms that had wet room for access to visitors with a disability. Angling the shower was a knack so the floor didn't become too wet. Reception staff very friendly. Great location for the parkrun which was why we were there. All in all a good place to stay.
Awesome place to stay
Stayed just one night but great place for short stay. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Large comfortable room and bed, slept well. Walkable to shops.
The reception was unattended and only open at 3pm. We had food in a cool bag and just wanted to drop it off so it's not sitting in the warm car. We couldn't go for a walk and explore as we had to wait for reception to open. We even phoned the number on the reception door and asked for help to no avail.
Could we please get a bigger fridge in the room. Is my only critique
Very courteous and flexible staff
The motel needs an update in the bathrooms. The water in the toilet cistern was running and noisy!
We wished we could have stayed longer. Thank u for having us
Nice big room, clean and comfortable. Having the kitchenette was great. Big bathroom with good shower pressure
Excellent service
The stay was so good. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. The spa bath was lovely The manager owner was friendly and went out of his was to make our stay really nice. We didn't know how breakfast was included he called the kitchen to keep the buffet out.
A generous, spacious room and equally roomy bathroom. Really lovely relaxed stay, felt safe for a solo traveler, highly recommend!
Large spacious room with kitchenette, walk on closet to a large bathroom. Plenty of space for families and large groups to share meals. Easy walk into the village center for breakfast or the pools.
Lovely service and rooms were a nice size and clean.
Nice big rooms, great water pressure in shower, great location. Bathroom was not clean sorry - more so that items from previous customer were not removed. Staff at check in/checkout were pleasant, but weren’t forthcoming with local information. Breakfast was disappointing.
I will Update this review if I receive a response from management to my email. Very disappointed , booked through their website to take advantage of the $15pp cooked breakfast deal. Arrived this morning to a dismal continental breakfast with no cooked breakfast in site. We felt scammed as we could have gone to a nice restaurant for a cooked breakfast had we known and not paid the extra $$ pp . Hopefully this will be refunded . DO NOT GET FOOLED BY THIS DEAL!
Good stay
The room was fantastic, the staff were friendly. We had a nice stay. We included the breakfast with our stay and it was a nice small spread of a continental style. Only thing I'd say personally is the room with the pool table in the adjoining restaurant needs some of the stuff cleared out, it's currently far too cramped to play a game comfortably. If you're not a pool player then ignore my gripe 😄
Great apartment and check in was quick and easy
Booked online last min at like 8.30pm got there no one was at reception rung the number on the door someone came straight away and gave us our keys. Easy
The staff were incredible. They made us very welcome and even offered me a place to work when we had to check out. I was most impressed with this and it ensured I could continue to work in a comfortable quiet environment. It was much appreciated! Room was comfortable, clean and very spacious.
The property was well maintained, there was beautiful views of the mountains surrounding and the staff were very friendly. The rooms were clean and lots of channels on the tv, convenient kitchenette with a fridge to keep food and the bed was very comfortable. Parking was allocated and easy access will stay again.
Close to everything. Friendly staff and rooms were spacious. Will use again.
We were very comfortable in this motel room. Loved the King bed. Lots of shower pressure. Had to defrost the freezer compartment of the fridge before we could put anything in it. Thankyou.
We asked for a wheelchair friendly room, and the room in itself was fine but the front entrance was not wide enough for the chair and the back entrance had a step, so it was a challenge. The room was clean and breakfast was okay (just basic stuff, cereal, muffins, coffee, apples and oranges). Staff weren’t overly friendly and we were also annoyed by the fact that we had put the do not disturb sign as we had left clothes etc out and didn’t want the room serviced, yet when we came back the room had been serviced. No respect for guests requests!
Spacious rooms, plenty of space for the whole family
The room was fantastic, very clean and was very comfortable. The customer service we had when we got there wasn’t the best, wasn’t very welcoming. Felt like we were insulting him with our existence and he looked like Dhar mann.
You get what you pay for - enough for us
The room was generously big. It was well appointed but starting to show signs of age. Light switches getting hard to use. Net curtains missing runners. No separate handrail for bathroom handtowel. The hairdryer kept turning itself off.
Great property, amazing views from verandahs, restaurant on property with great food and services.
A great stay, large, clean and comfortable room. Good wifi
Friendly staff, easy to check in and out. Walkable to town.
We had a fantastic stay. The room was so spacious! We had a private balcony where we could hang our wet towels and swimwear after visiting Hanmer Springs hot pools. The bathroom also had a hot towel rail which was a plus. The bed was comfortable and we appreciated the ample power points on the bedside. I'd recommend staying here.
Place is looking tired, needs some maintenance and an update
Large spacious room. Sky tv. Great shower and plenty of hot water. Great reception staff very helpful.
.
Lovely property. Staff super friendly. Highly recommend the restaurant too. Few minor maintenance issues with the room but nothing that would stop me staying again
We stayed this motel, the moring we were leaving and went to restaurant for breakfast, did not hand a key to the office, when we come back found a cleaner start clean the room--move the bed and put some stuff on the sofa and table. we asked him leave till we hand a key to office. from the hammer spring we went to another city hotel found that a small bag was missing from luggage. we contacted office man. he did not ask any detail and just said nothing found.
Rubbish bin was full and had not been emptied, room was dirty, no towels in room. Staff were pleasant.
No problem
Great value for money
Staff were friendly but to be honest the cost per night didn't match the accommodation. Also very disappointing breakfasts.
The Retreat was ok. Evening meal was great. Shame about the deep deep fried calamari.
This is one of the cleanest places I've ever stayed in. Staff were helpful, flexible and friendly. Recommended.
The two bed room was ideal for our needs for a night. Plenty of space and clean.
The staff couldn't do enough for us, and everyone had a smile. Food in the restaurant was amazing and served promptly. We'll certainly stay there again.
We have stayed here a few times now it definitely our go to hotel in Hanmer springs. We have stayed in other hotels here but feel this hotel offers best value for the price. This time we had upstairs room 214. It was excellent very quiet and spacious. Had a deluxe feel and had its own very private balcony surrounded by nature which was so nice to have our cuppa there looking at nuture, mountains with snow top and listening to the birds it was neat. Comfortable bed, large tv and we enjoyed the spa bath. Very friendly staff. The buffet continental breakfast was good maybe extra fruit in bowl could be good there was only diced apple. Good car parking. Easy short walk to town and pools. Overall very happy will definitely be back.
Ours was a very roomy unit with everything we needed
Ideal place away rom the town .
Staff were friendly, helpful, approachable, well presented. Thank you for all your good work in running this establishment. Room and bathroom size roomy which was great. Bed very comfy. Great view and privacy (1st floor room). Lovely and airy - Hear Native birds all around. Nice! Cleanliness was really good (exception of plug but you did not see until removing plug!) - no odors, just fresh country air! Things that would have lifted a star rating -found hair under handbasin plug ; wobbly door handle ; carpet seemed bit tired; one side of net curtain didn't pull easily. Overall we enjoyed our stay, and felt very comfortable in surroundings. Felt refreshed and relaxed, which made our stay in Hanmer Springs so much better!
5 stars alround. Clean comfortable and well priced. Highly recommended
Great host, beautiful room but bathroom old and worn out. Grounds need overhaul, overgrown and dull…whole complex outside needs update. Place does not look inviting from the outside.
Convenient
Spacious accomodation. Easily heated. Comfortable beds. Friendly helpful reception. Good price.
enjoyable
Was well suited for out needs nice short walk to town and surrounding nature walks were great
Overall great place and lovely places to stay. Only comment our check in was not smooth and the staff member who checked us in was not overly friendly.
Lovely room with good facilities, on site restaurant and large bathroom
We booked this place thinking it was a lodge but in fact it's an average motel. With a nice looking bar and restaurant next door and lots of great outdoor seating which I'm sure would be great in the summer. We had a cooked breakfast the next morning and the egg whites were runny, they did offer to cook them again which was nice but said people like runny eggs. The room was spotless and the bed comfy, but someone turned off the heat pump unit outside overnight which was strange. The view directly opposite was into the back yard of the staff house. We decided from the reviews and prices to have dinner elsewhere and had the best Indian dinner ever in town . We had a game of pool in the bar after we came back from our dinner and chatted to a very lovely staff member but I'm not sure I would book again.
Good Value. Large rooms. Close to town
Quiet spacious room. Polite and helpful staff.
Great customer experience
Great place big rooms clean and warm good Restaurant on site parking every thing you need and more
We got upgraded room for free
Kind staff, very spacious and clean
Warm welcome, excellent housekeeping, friendly staff, comfortable beds, great layout for a family of 4. Spacious. We stayed for 6 nights and will be repeat customers.
Great stay, restaurant was fabulous
Warm, quiet rooms. Great breakfast included.
Very rear that I feel at home in a hotel. Loved our stay here and highly recommend.
Large room, clean, comfortable and quiet. Staff very friendly and keen to settle us comfortably.
Close to town, clean and tidy
We enjoyed our stay at Hanmer Springs Retreat. The room was very spacious and clean. The attached restaurant was great and had very nice meals. Would definitely go back again next time we visit Hanmer
Feedback themes are sourced from guest reviews provided by our data provider.
What guests love
Areas to consider
Cleanliness
6.6/10Guests had mixed reviews about cleanliness, with some mentioning dirty rooms and bathrooms.
Service
7.3/10The staff were generally friendly and helpful, although there were incidents of poor service reported.
Location
8.1/10The hotel's location was praised for being convenient and in proximity to key amenities.
Room Quality
6.7/10Mixed feedback on room quality, with reports of spacious and clean rooms alongside complaints of dirty rooms and maintenance issues.
Amenities
7.2/10Guests found the amenities satisfactory, although some highlighted issues such as lack of spa services.
Value for Money
5.6/10Mixed opinions on value for money, with some guests feeling the price was high for the services provided.
Food and Beverage
6.6/10Breakfast and restaurant services received average feedback, with some guests wanting more variety.
Overall Experience
6.9/10While most guests had a positive overall experience, there were instances of disappointment and unmet expectations.