Chungking mansions
Chungking mansions, 36-44 Nathan Road, Yau Tsim Mong District, Kowloon, China- Attraction
Compare nearby stays with similar location, guest experience, amenities, and class.
Central Location
Conveniently situated in the heart of Kowloon's Tsim Sha Tsui district, Germany Hostel is the perfect base for exploring the vibrant city of Hong Kong. Immerse yourself in the bustling atmosphere of Tsim Sha Tsui while being just steps away from iconic attractions such as Tsim Sha Tsui Promenade and K11 Art Mall.
Essential Amenities
Feel at home in one of our 14 air-conditioned rooms equipped with modern conveniences like microwaves and safes. Stay connected with wireless internet access and enjoy a comfortable stay with complimentary local calls and a 24-hour front desk at your service.
Nearby Attractions
Within a short walk from Tsim Sha Tsui Star Ferry Pier and Harbour City, Germany Hostel offers easy access to Victoria Harbour and Ocean Park, ensuring a memorable stay filled with exciting adventures.
To experience the best of Hong Kong, book your stay at Germany Hostel today!
Check-in from
02:00 PM
Check-out by
11:00 AM
Children
Not allowed
Pets
Not allowed
2 Double Beds
22 sq feet
Internet - WiFi
Food & Drink - Refrigerator, microwave, and coffee/tea maker
Sleep - Bed sheets
Bathroom - 2 bathrooms, shower, towels, and a hair dryer (on request)
Practical - Safe, phone, and iron/ironing board (on request)
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Non-Smoking
Sleeps
Up to 4 guests
4 adults · 3 children
Beds
2 Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
2 m2
In-room amenities
4 Double Beds
Overlooking the city
Internet - WiFi
Food & Drink - Refrigerator and microwave
Sleep - Bed sheets
Bathroom - 2 bathrooms, shower, towels, and a hair dryer (on request)
Practical - Safe, phone, and iron/ironing board (on request)
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Non-Smoking
Sleeps
Up to 8 guests
8 adults · 1 children
Beds
4 Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
City View
In-room amenities
1 Twin Bed
22 sq feet
Internet - WiFi
Food & Drink - Refrigerator and microwave
Sleep - Bed sheets
Bathroom - 2 bathrooms, shower, towels, and a hair dryer (on request)
Practical - Safe, phone, and iron/ironing board (on request)
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Non-Smoking
Sleeps
Up to 1 guests
1 adults
Beds
Twin bed (90-99 cm wide)
Room details
2 m2
In-room amenities
1 Double Bed
22 sq feet
Internet - WiFi
Food & Drink - Refrigerator, microwave, and coffee/tea maker
Sleep - Bed sheets
Bathroom - 2 bathrooms, shower, towels, and a hair dryer (on request)
Practical - Safe, phone, and iron/ironing board (on request)
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Accessibility - Wheelchair accessible
Non-Smoking
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults
Beds
Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
2 m2
In-room amenities
1 Twin Bed
151 sq feet
Internet - WiFi
Food & Drink - Refrigerator and microwave
Sleep - Bed sheets
Bathroom - 2 bathrooms, shower, towels, and a hair dryer (on request)
Practical - Safe, phone, and iron/ironing board (on request)
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Non-Smoking
Sleeps
Up to 1 guests
1 adults
Beds
Twin bed (90-99 cm wide)
Room details
14 m2
In-room amenities
1 Double Bed and 1 Twin Bed OR 3 Twin Beds
22 sq feet
Internet - WiFi
Food & Drink - Refrigerator, microwave, and coffee/tea maker
Sleep - Bed sheets
Bathroom - 2 bathrooms, shower, towels, and a hair dryer (on request)
Practical - Safe, phone, and iron/ironing board (on request)
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Non-Smoking
Sleeps
Up to 3 guests
3 adults · 2 children
Beds
3 Twin bed (90-99 cm wide)
Room details
2 m2
In-room amenities
2 Twin Beds
22 sq feet
Internet - WiFi
Food & Drink - Refrigerator, microwave, and coffee/tea maker
Sleep - Bed sheets
Bathroom - 2 bathrooms, shower, towels, and a hair dryer (on request)
Practical - Safe, phone, and iron/ironing board (on request)
Comfort - Air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Non-Smoking
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
2 Twin bed (90-99 cm wide)
Room details
2 m2
In-room amenities
Pets not allowed
Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
No rollaway/extra beds available
Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
Essential workers only - NO
Staff wears personal protective equipment
Property is cleaned with disinfectant
Social distancing measures are in place
Professional property host/manager
No cribs (infant beds) available
Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
Unicode Support true
Get answers about amenities, policies, and more — e.g. “Are pets allowed?” or “Is parking available?”
Provider-sourced guest reviews.
Nothing like the picture. No windows in the room. I got one towel for my entire stay, and no cleaning during the stay, although I was demanded extra for cleaning, about HKD36 a day. Aircondition was very noicy, but worked fine though. Be prepared for a very crowded space. And nothing German about it either, its run by indians who also run a few more hostels in the same building.
Toilet blocked. Air condition not working
Horrível place
the bed sheet is humid, small cockroaches walk around
On en a pour son prix…
I booked this property through agoda. As I normally do not cancel my bookings, I had booked a non-refundable room. However, since the situation in Hong Kong has become rather unsafe, to the point that even public transportation and hospitals are unsafe with even allegations of dangerous chemicals (i.e dioxin) having contaminated the vegetables and fruits, I had contacted agoda to request a cancellation due to the special circumstances. Now, this is where the true colours of these conmen shows. The first time I contacted agoda, about a month ago - the property replied that it was too early and the situation was still ' safe'. Fast forwarding to today, the situation has become so unstable and I contacted agoda again regarding cancellation. Now, at this point of time, the property just outright refused to cancel the booking, vehemently holding on to the point that this is a non-refundable booking. While I do understand that, this actually constitutes to an extraordinary circumstance whereby the entire city has become engulfed in turmoil and I am concerned about my safety and that of my family. Only then did I read the reviews here and I realised that they dont even give you the rooms as per the photos and the conditions of the actual rooms are very rundown. My advise, avoid these conmen like the plague.
臨市區很近很方便,就是小了點……
這是一個在尖沙嘴地區性價比高的住宿地點(以收費條件而言)
位在很國際話的商場裡 有各國的人聚集在這 非常繁華 為於港鐵站附近 交通發達 附近是維多利亞港 風景很漂亮
The price is very reasonable.
This is just a hostel. Room has everything but so small. No place to put luggage. You have to keep it on your bed. Building is not nice. Even we booked 3 nights we left hostel after one night. No refund.The photo is just a trick. We were ready to pay more but may be there is one room like this for photo.
ไม่ตกปกอย่างแรง ตึกน่ากลัว คนแขกเยอะมารุมแจกการ์ดโฮสเทล ลิฟต์แคปเก่าเหม็น ละในแผนที่บอกอยู่ขั้น 6 พอจริงๆ ต้องไปชั้น 10 วนขึ้นลงจนปวดหัว Reception บริการแย่มาก พูดจาเหน็บแนมเป็นภาษาอังกฤษ ห้องเล็กน่ากลัว สำหรับเราเช็คอิน 1 ชม ละย้ายเลยค่ะ ไม่แนะนำ !!!
Really small place not like the photos. They dont even put toilet paper. You have to go to level 10 for the check in, the lift just go up, you have to use the stairs, not enough space for nothing, toilet and shower the same, etc.
あまりの汚さ、シーツも枕カバーもなく、部屋に入ってすぐゴキブリがいました。御社のサイトの画像とあまりもギャップがあり、ほとんど詐欺です。4日間の宿泊をキャンセルしました。日本人にはあのホステスの滞在は、不潔すぎて不可能です。
酒店地址沒有寫是在重慶大厦內!很難找,也有誤導成份!上到去六樓完全沒有人,原來要上十樓!去到又要收50蚊手續費,工作人員態度非常差! 入到房間,空間超小,環境惡劣,廁所有蟑螂,垃圾桶的垃圾沒有倒,周圍都有陣怪味,最重要的是沖涼沒有熱水而且正值冬天!以後不會再來,對香港很失望
I ‘ve stay in hotel. The Reason to stay is location near tsim sha tsui. I think mong kok are also have same thing.
写真の部屋とは全く違うベッドしか無い。案内された部屋はドイツホテルでは無く同じグループ?の部屋。シャワーもお湯が出たり出なかったり。安さと状況が分かっていれば良いけど、チェックインでさらに350ドル位支払った?何でかは分からない…
写真がまったく違う別物 ふざけるな! ホテルに辿り着くのに困惑、迷路、返金を請求したい。部屋は半畳で立つ場所しかない。ベッドは足が伸ばせない。二度と泊まらない。
現場又被额外收了27港幣服務費,床單很髒
まぁ、次はあえて選ぶことはないでしょう。
Extremely bad hostel, Total rip off! Rooms extremely small. Bathroom and shower in one. But no space to shower or shit. The hostel is located in kowloon but in a crapy building. The Building Cant be Safe a lot of people are asking you to buy stuff. In the room the beds are tiny and unstable. No working safes or lockers are in the room. And dirty rooms! All the hostels in the Building are the samen (at least 20 other hostels). Please do not book this hostel, you can better sleep on thé streets! It's cheaper but safer and cleaner.
選擇了兩間3床房,是給廣州同事入住。可惜check in 時,兩間房都是2床房,試問3個人怎樣瞓兩張床,跟管理人員要求時,態度惡劣,根本就完全沒有想幫忙換房,最後這幾天下來都是沒有換過房,差評..................永遠都不會再在這間地方,永遠不會!
入住地址根本就是重慶大廈! 完全被騙 還沒有熱水
I booked a 14m2 triple room, with a double and a single bed, which was supposed to be on the 6th floor of Chungking Mansions - had to go to 10th floor to sign in, the staff tried to put me on the 17th floor (lifts at Chungking are very poor, so getting to the 17th floor would take ages, over half an hour if busy) in to a room that was approx. 7m2, with no bed clothes or towels. I was subsequently shown various other rooms on several different floors at Chungking Mansion, all of which were not the size I had booked. All the rooms were in disgusting condition and looked like they had not been cleaned for a while. I returned to the reception on the 10th floor, where the staff were surly and abusive when I commented on the poor condition of the rooms, which were total different to that I had paid for. To add insult to injury they then tried to charge a 15% "service charge" fee for cleaning, to which I took great exception as the room obviously had not been cleaned for some time - a flat fee would have potentially been more reasonable, but the nightly rates varied - 15% of $50 = $7.5; whereas 15% of $100 = $15 essentially for the same service - I mentioned if they actually cleaned the room I would be prepared to pay the extra HK$800 requested at the end of my stay, but if the room was not cleaned, and towels and bed linen not provided then I did not see any reason to pay the extra. I eventually walked away and did not stay at all. I ended up booking a totally different hotel
Room is really smelly. Extremely small room, bed, bathroom and bathroom sink. There's no tissue, bathroom shoes and space for bag as well. Only can use hot shower for 2 seconds. Dirty bed and toilet. Broken hair dryer, very slow and small lift... It was horrible experience. But great location and cheap price.
虫唾が走るくらいお粗末な設備と施設だった。2度と利用したくない。事前情報(部屋の案内写真等)が全くの誇大で、検証がなっていない。
Oh boy, where to start?! The pictures must be random pictures from the net (as admitted by the owner). To say the room was small is to say nothing! I came to a room that was maybe 2 sq meters in total. The toilet was 0.5 sq meter! (That's not a metaphor - see the pictures! You could only take a shower sitting on the loo!). Dirty as hell, window blinded, which was maybe a plus as the vent shaft behind looks like entrance to the Death Star (see picture). In the building there are posters warning against rats, bags with garbage pile up in front of the building... jesus! Then, when I complained to the owner that the pics are fake, he said "if you don't like it you can f*** off" (I have details of a traveler from Ireland who witnessed that). I didn't have an option so I stayed. Finally, they charged me 10% extra for credit card, which is illegal anymore. To sum up: I wish I had slept in the nearby park on the newspaper.
The place is a miserable ridiculous scam. Don't go there if you don't want to be fooled by malicious staff who know exactly what they are doing. I arrived, informed that I tried to make a reservation, was asked for how many nights, informed 6, she gave me the price: 600 local dollars. I had to change money. When I come back, my surprise, 1000 local dollars! All the excuses possible to justify the crime, and I even showed them a screenshot of my attempt of booking through hostel world with a much inferior amount and they just ignored it. Be careful if you really want to run the risk at this place, the cheap prices can easily fool you!
The elevator is terrible, be prepared to wait in line.
住了五天,只有最後兩天有電視看,唯一的一台還不清楚(連說了三天才有人處理)。每天都要跟整棟樓的人搶電梯,最少要等五分鐘以上。
Only for 2 person the room and very small only you will sleep and tv not working,2 ladies in main reception 1 Indian and I think 1 filippina not helpful not good service.
テレビは映りませんでしたが、重慶では広めの部屋で快適に過ごせました。チェックインは現地時間の14時、チェックアウトは11時です。
흠 괜찮았어요 근데 너무 비싸게 예약을해서 조금 그랬어요ㅕ ㅎㅎㅎ.. 너무 친절하세요 직원분들
Best place to stay for short trips and really worth for money. Rooms are clean and excellent location for shopping. Ideal place to stay for single and couple. MTR, Bus station close by. Good restaurants near by. If u r planning to stay for less than a week then this place would be a real good place. Only disadvantage is the Lift, sometimes u got to be in long queue otherwise awesome place.
Location is in prime spot right in heart of Hong Kong and next to Tsim Sha Tsui MTR. At this price point, those on tight budgets please be aware of the extra 15% "resort" surcharge payable as cash on arriving when comparing pricing to other guest houses/hostels within the same precinct/building. It was explained that this covers the wifi and the room cleaning (which was not done anyways). Also, be warned that no bath towels are provided and the blanket consists of 1 duvet cover only minus the blanket (yes I confirmed this is correct) an issue on colder Hong Kong nights as there are no heaters in room (air-conditioner yes). Also be aware there is a charge for staying past your check out time equivalent to another nights stay. On my first night they had NOT turned on the hot water heater switch and oddly enough the 2 telephone number on the receipt contacted an a Chinese hotel and the 2nd number correctly contacted the Indian receptionist. Wifi was good and condition was acceptable and clean.
又髒又小又貴 旅館難找 電梯又難等 跟照片不一樣 安全設備令人堪憂 房間裡有油煙味 還有蟲 床單也不乾淨 洗澡還沒有熱水 也只是帶人進房間而已 還敢收服務費? 怒氣滿點 懷恨在心 罄竹難書
はじめての香港でした!! いつも安さを重視しているので、 ホテルの居心地や綺麗さは まったくと言っていいほど こだわりませんが、、、、、 ここ重慶大厦は、 本当にやばかったです、、、 朝から騒がしく、目を覚ませば5時半。 部屋は狭く、どのようにベッドを いれたのか、とっても気になります。 おしっこの匂いするし なんかチクタク音するし シャワーは気が向いた時だけ お湯出るので、冷水であびました。 フロントに言っても、 そのうちお湯でるよ!で終わりです。 唯一、良いポイントといえば マットレスです。柔らかくて、 それだけが良いポイントでした。 でも、ここに泊まれて このような経験ができたのは良い思い出です。 また、いつかこの汚さを思い出したいときに 行きたいと思います。笑
ห้องเล็ก เหม็นมาก ไปถึงโดนค่าห้องเพิ่มอีก งงเลย จ่าย expedia มานึกว่าจะไม่ต้องจ่ายเพิ่มแล้ว อย่าพัก ตึก Chungking Mansions เด็ดขาด !!!! มันหาที่พักว่างๆให้ ไม่ได้พักที่จองมาหรอก ยอมจ่ายแพง นอนรร อื่น ดีกว่า บอกเลย
Hotel sale et manque de sécurité le soir photo non contractuelle sinon bien placé
The Germany hostel is managed by an unique reception for 6 hostels. So that they gave me an accomodation in another part of the building (is possible to understand from the evacuation plan in case of fire). Even if I showed my disappointment they told that the Germany hostel was full and if I disliked this I could leave the room...very unserious
Great nice staff helpful
・チェックインから部屋案内までが不明瞭 →D-6Fとあるが受付はD-10F →部屋の掃除料金として別途200HKD請求された。 →案内された部屋はC-17F →部屋の鍵案内一応してくれたが適当 →チェックアウトの説明なし ・部屋 →清潔感はある →雨が降った際部屋の3箇所ほど雨漏りが発生した。幸いベッドゾーンは無事だった。 →シャワー、トイレは問題なし
worst - hard to find, smelly, dirty, small, broken door ....etc never come again
Worst place ever. Maybe in Hong Knog is normal these "coffin rooms" but we werent prepared to what we found. First off, the merchants harassed us constantly at the entrance in that infernal (and smelly) maze you have to cross in order to get to the lift. Once up the 10th floor, a woman guided us to our room and told us that we had got a bigger room than we booked (good, we thought!) but once inside the room, there was not barely space to place the suitcase. The shower was a hole in the tiny bathroom, so everytime you shower, everything gets wet, even the room floor. We decided go go down using the stairs because the lift was crowded and we saw disgusting stains of wee, something that looked like blood, and cocroaches. It really was depressing and disgusting. After that, we decided to go to a different hotel, even though we had already payed the whole stay and we lost that money. It was the best decision of the trip because we could enjoy it, otherwise sleeping there would have been a nightmare. It is really worth spending a little more in Hong Kong.
We booked in this hotel for 3 nights stay, unfortunately we didn't enjoy and would never recommend this dirty, smelly, unaccommodating staff special mention to maila the filipina lady who is very rude and unprofessional to the guests. 1. Room is different from the photo in the internet 2. Room have so many defects such as: -broken door knob, covered only with tape -no dial tone of the phone which is probably just a display in the room -ac not working properly -bed sheets and blankets too smelly like sweat and couldn't even get a new one because they dont have extra, they gave us temporary blanket which is a bed cover -room service "cleaning" which they never touch anything or clean anything except just removing the trash from the trash can -room/bathroom too small (photo shows its big) 3. unaccommodating filipina staff named maila, when we told her the temporary room given was dirty she said she knows and didnt even bother. 4. Since its our first time, we just found out after that the money we gave upon check in is the deposit and they never returned it back 5. we checked in at 4pm because when we arrived on time they let us wait for 1 hr then when we came again gave us a dirty small temporary room and waited again hours before we settle in a diff room, had to argue with the lady for them to give us room. 6. Hostel doesnt locate in a nice bldg. it is located in Chungking Mansion where the ground floor is like a market and you can see diff lifts of diff block to find out which floor ur hostel is located. 7. Place is dirty and smelly 8. Waste of money WILL DEFINITELY WONT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL, if you guys are trying to look for a promo/discounted or on a budget, never pic this one you will just throw ur money staying here. specially for those who are first timers try to look for a nice place where u can really relax after a tiring sightseeing.
I wasn't expecting much from the cheap price but the room was absolutely tiny, the bed was the same length as the wall and my feet touched the wall when I was stretched out, it had a decent fan so wasn't too hot. There were no towels, I brought my own and think it's extra for them to provide them. The internet (wifi) was free and worked well. The hotel is not on the ground floor, the biggest problem is that you either have to wait 10 minutes to catch the elevator since it is very small and always full of people to reach your room or climb the back stairs (the option I took) which results in navigating around bags of garbage and the occasional rat. The staff did their job and kept the room clean but the front desk staff were not warm or friendly at all. If you are only in town for a few days and really don't mind roughing it for the sake of location and price then it might not be that bad but I wouldn't stay here again.
This hostel is something from the slums in victorian times England. The rooms are filthy, blood on the wall in the bathroom and the windows filthy. I have stayed in some dives but this beats them.all. The staff are so unhelpful and would not even. Make a local call for me as I have a Chinese sim card. To get to the hostel you have to walk the a maze of market stalls and have to wait a long time to get in the lift. I did not feel safe here and I'm a hardened traveller.
Well, we arrived very late and the street was full with indian and arabic men trying to sell everything, from clocks, lockers, bags, hostel rums, to drugs... I almost had a heartattack. The building is very high and all the hostels are from the same owner I think, because we lived in two different ones booking the same. To get there at night is a nightmare! However, the personal is nice and helpful. The rooms are tiny (and so the beds, we did not fit) not well cleaned and good luck with hot water. We left our luggage with them two days and it was storaged in the corridors, I thought "it will not be here when we will be back" but it was 8!) and they were actually pretty nice. The area is near everything, I just wish they didn´t have those men in the entrance. Creepy!
small room. Single elevator. If you have luggage and traveling as group, it takes at least 15 minutes to get the elevator. The shops on ground floor are clumsy and smelling.
Within moments of walking through the front door of Chung King mansions, we wondered how on earth we were ever going to stay here. The street outside is littered with hawkers, entirely Arabs and Indians trying to sell watches, advertise restaurants, and even fit you suits. Inside, the hawkers actually have stalls, and their products consist of SIM cards and dodgy-smelling (and looking) Indian foods. I mean, seriously, after walking past four times a day for four days straight and saying no, do they not think I don't need a new phone SIM card? The lifts upstairs were relatively easy to find, though queues build up due to their slowness. Television screens also creepily broadcast the inside of the lifts down to the ground floor. Germany Hostel claimed to be on the 10th floor, yet both our reservation and the floors list by the lift said it was on floor 6. So we went to floor 6, and found ourselves in a dilapidated abandoned corridor that would not have looked out of place in a post-apocalyptic thriller. It stank just as badly as the 10th floor equivalent when we finally made it up there. Germany Hostel was nowhere to be found. However there was another hostel there so I thought they could at least tell us where to go. We rang the buzzer and were admitted, but before I could ask for directions they asked for my name and grabbed the reservation paper I was holding. It turns out that this was Germany hostel, only it was not called Germany hostel but rather the name of the parent company that owns all the hostels on that floor. Checking in was a nightmare: the lady on the desk got the price wrong twice, and after denying my request to pay by card dumped all my change on the desk. As I was collecting the change the man registering my passport dumped it on the desk, and then chastised me for not being careful with my possessions. He is the one that just dumped it on the desk while I was collecting the pile of change his partner just gave me! On top of that, they hadn't even had a room ready for us, despite us arriving three hours after check in, so we had to wait twenty minutes in the lobby waiting for one to be made up. Sam, the man who showed us to our rooms, was thankfully very friendly and explained everything to us. Our room ended up being in another section of the building; so whilst the hostel itself was actually quite clean we had to walk through yet another filthy smelly outside corridor hub first. The double room we had booked at £20 per night, the cheapest we could find in Hong Kong, turned out to be absolutely tiny. There was barely enough floor space to put our bags on, never mind walk around in. The view out the window was the mouldy interior of the air vent chute, meaning that it was impossible to tell the time of day based on the light. The bathroom was smaller than the bed, with a shower placed in the most moronic position: directly above the toilet, which caused the the entire room of toilet, towels, toothbrushes, and toilet paper to become soaking wet every time we showered. The tap, which thankfully supplied drinking water, consisted of one temperature: warm. The shower had two: vaguely warm, and boiling enough to cook a lobster. We were told to leave our towels out for cleaning and replacement daily; yet they never were. Temperatures were exceeding 35 degrees, and they still turned off the fan and air conditioning every day while we were out, so we returned to a baking hot room. You do eventually get used to it, but Hong Kong is an expensive city and this was the cheapest we could find in the centre. In retrospect, however, I would advise spending a little more and at least ripped off for something good, rather than being ripped off here.
I reserved room from agoda.com for family 2 double bed room. They changed we to a small room in another hostel in their chain hostel. When we talk to check reserved room detail with manager. He isn't accept any talking and tell we that detail in website in mobile is "faked??" and get we out of hostel without any responsibility.
I'm stay here for 2 night May 16-18, 2016.The room is not too big but clean I shared a bedroom with 3 people. In the room have 2 single beds and 1 bunk bed with bath room inside have air conditioner, hair dryer, free wifi, free towel and free drink (coffee, water). All staff very friendly. Location is in the city center. Close proximity to a harbour, near MTR Tsim Sha Tsui, restaurant and shopping malls. Few minutes walk to Victoria Harbour and Star Ferry.If I go to Hong Kong again, I will definetly try to stay at the Germany Hostel again
Although this hostel is cheap and if you're looking for a place to just sleep at night it's a decent option, there were a few things I found rather unpleasant about it. First of all, the location is difficult to access, within a weird alleyway with men approaching you and aggressively trying to sell you things left and right. After that you have two options: take a tiny rickety elevator (which we witnessed get stuck while full of people) up, or many filthy, smelly flights of stairs that are home to roaches. Within the hostel itself there is a faint stench and while nothing inside is dirty exactly it's far from clean. Otherwise it's fine, although our hot water heater didn't work. The staff was also very accommodating, giving us better rooms than what we originally booked for the same price.
My friend and I were supposed to be staying at Germany hostel for just one night in a dorm room, but when we arrived after a 11 hour long haul flight the extremely friendly staff - John, Sherie and Sam - upgraded us to a private family room, just the two of us. We decided that we wanted to stay another night because our first was so friendly and comfortable so we checked in the morning and they allowed us to stay the night again in the same private room! So so kind of them. We were also given free tea and coffee, a safe in our room, and the room was immaculately clean and comfy. Thanks for such a lovely stay and your kindness!
Funny how disgusting this place is, in the chungking mansions. Don't spend more than one night here, far better hostels around.
Did not feel all that safe here. Staff misplaced one of our bags for several hours and failed to communicate with us. Is in a good location but took us a long time to find. I think there are better places to choose from in the Chung king mansion...
not good horible hotel dirty useless hotel thanks
I had a really good experience staying at Germany Hostel! The location is great because it's right in TST, close to victoria habour and the metro station. The building itself is a very interesting place too. Moreover, the staffs there are very friendly, especially Josie, Keyin and Aman! (not sure if I spell their names right)
I had a pretty good experience at Germany hoste. The lady at reception, Sherry was super nice. I did see a lot of people having dramas though. Rooms were small, but it is HK. Top bunk beds way too close to the ceiling, my head hit the tiles a thousand times. But overall not bad, especially given the price.
its my great time to stay this hotel.
I've stayed here before. If you're passing through town for a short visit and need a cheap, clean place to stay with your own bedroom and bath (even TV) and A/C then this place will do just fine. Great for single travelers. Looks seedy but staff, even guests, are actually quite friendly and people respect your space.
This place is superb. clean, secured free wi-fi and free coffee and tea. Staff are friendly and very accomodating. If stay for 3-4 nights staff will do a free laundry. Raj is nice, honest and take care of the guest. Location is a 5 min walk to star ferry. Couple of shopping mall nearby. Mark and Spencer just in front. Train station is just across the building. 10 mins to macau ferry. nearby to many tourist attractions. plenty of restaurant nearby.
I expected it to be normal but it was really good, specially the staff. They were so friendly and helpful. Mr. Raj also did my laundry which was nice of him to do so. They treat you as their family. I made a couple of friends from the dorm that I was staying in. It's a good place if you're on a budget and want a socializing place. I would recommend Germany to my friends who are planning on visiting Hong Kong. Had so much fun.
Tried to find the entrance, spent 15 minutes trying to find the elevator, whilst avoiding hundreds of men trying to sell stuff, yelling at me. Found the elevator where it said Germany Hostel - 6th Floor. Waited for the elevator for 10 minutes, got to the floor, but there it said I had to go to the 10th Floor. I called the phone number saying I had to heavy suitcases and was not going to go back to the elevator to go to the 10th, so badly indicated!! Then a random man who walked around opened a door for me, to a room with 3 beds, whilst I booked a 6 bed dorm. There are no keys for the doors. The room is too tiny for my suitcase and everything is so dirty. I wanted to stay for 10 nights but going to leave after 2, all the good hostels are fully booked so I have to stay here, but booked something else because this is really ridiculous for Hong Kong. I have been staying in Hong Kong for 1,5 months now and this is the worst hostel I have been to. No communal area either so if you want to meet other people then this is not the place to go to. Better to go to Hong Kong Hostel or Yesinn, both in Causeway Bay.
Booked this place online after seeing pretty good reviews on HostelWorld. Walking through Chung King Mansion trying to find the correct lift was difficult enough, after avoiding the seedy crowd trying to sell stuff. Waited about 15 minutes for the lift, ended up taking the stairs up to the 10th floor. The receptionist was friendly enough, she said the room I was staying in wasn't that great but if I stayed overnight she could upgrade me to the ones on the 10th floor if they were available. I agreed, thinking they couldn't be that bad as I'd seen photos online (or so I thought). I walked down to the 6th floor and a group of men randomly let me into a room without questioning whether I was staying there or not. He also showed me around the 'facilities'. I left immediately after seeing what kind of place I was in! Another girl standing by the lift was also equally shocked, so we both got our rooms refunded and left as fast as we could!
If you don't know what Chung King mansions is, look that up first. If you're okay with being a part of everything that Chung King represents, Germany Hostel is a great choice.
i had booked double bed room but they provide me just standard room, even i paid for double bed room. i feel like hotel.com cheat on me.
Very small rooms..but it works..if you need to rest or take a hot shower..the staff is very friendly and the price is reasonable.. i would stay again
Me and my girlfriend stayed here it turned out pleasant stay for us, considering our big luggage they change our room to spacious one. Unlike other hostels we stayed earlier in chung king mansion this one is clean and well maintained with good quality of service.
Hostel locality was easy to find but actual hostel was not so easy to locate and a number of people hassled us en route. The room provided was on the 17th floor with a lift up to 16th floor only. The bedsheets were not clean and no towels were provided except on request. There was a lot of noise throughout the night which hindered our sleep. Despite these drawbacks we were pleased to be so close to the main shopping area and harbour facilities.
Bed sheet was very dirty, asked them to change, cannot tell whether they did or not , still dirty; No service provided , feel like they don't want to talk to you anything more than check in and out
It´s a good hostel, it offers fair price and if you want to save money, stay there.
Feedback themes are sourced from guest reviews provided by our data provider.
What guests love
Cleanliness
1/10Toilet blocked.
Service
6.05/10Standard quality for this hotel tier.
Location
6.02/10Standard quality for this hotel tier.
Room Quality
6.06/10Standard quality for this hotel tier.
Amenities
6.01/10Standard quality for this hotel tier.
Value for Money
6.04/10Standard quality for this hotel tier.
Food and Beverage
6/10Standard quality for this hotel tier.
Overall Experience
6.05/10Standard quality for this hotel tier.