Woods Park
Woods Park, Derdepoortpark, Pretoria, City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality, South Africa- Park
Compare nearby stays with similar location, guest experience, amenities, and class.
Luxurious Accommodation
Indulge in stylish rooms with air-conditioning, satellite TV, and a minibar. Pamper yourself with complimentary toiletries, robes, and slippers. Some rooms even feature a relaxing bath in addition to a shower.
Fine Dining Experience
Savor exquisite meals at Granita restaurant and cellar, or enjoy a lavish breakfast buffet at Kingsley’s carvery. Arrange for a delightful picnic in the rose garden or by the pool for a unique dining experience.
Relaxation and Recreation
Unwind at the Winelands Spa with saunas and a heated indoor pool. Bask in the sun by the outdoor lap pool or partake in lawn croquet and giant chess. Free Wi-Fi and parking are available for your convenience.
Book now for an unforgettable stay at Kievits Kroon, where luxury meets tranquility.
Check-in from
02:00 PM
Check-out by
10:00 AM
Parking
FREE
Children
Allowed
Pets
Not allowed
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Extra-large double bed (Super-king size) (181-210 cm wide)
Room details
55 sqm
Garden View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Extra-large double bed (Super-king size) (181-210 cm wide), 2 Twin bed (90-130 cm wide)
Room details
26 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
2 Twin bed (90-130 cm wide), Extra-large double bed (Super-king size) (181-210 cm wide)
Room details
22 sqm
Garden View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Extra-large double bed (Super-king size) (181-210 cm wide)
Room details
48 sqm
Lake View
In-room amenities
1 Queen Bed
258-sq-foot soundproofed room, balcony/patio with garden views
Layout - Bedroom and 2 living rooms
Relax - In-room massage available
Internet - Free WiFi and wired internet access
Entertainment - 32-inch flat-screen TV with premium channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker, minibar (fees may apply), electric kettle, and room service (limited hours)
Sleep - Egyptian cotton linens, a down duvet, a pillow menu, and blackout drapes/curtains
Bathroom - Bathtub, bathrobes, and slippers
Practical - Laptop-compatible safe, laptop workspace, and phone
Comfort - Climate-controlled air conditioning and daily housekeeping
Accessibility - Hand-held showerhead
Non-Smoking
Room is accessed via exterior corridors
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults
Beds
Queen Bed (150-160 cm wide)
Room details
24 m2
Garden View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Extra-large double bed (Super-king size) (181-210 cm wide), 2 Twin bed (90-130 cm wide)
Room details
32 sqm
Garden View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Extra-large double bed (Super-king size) (181-210 cm wide), 2 Twin bed (90-130 cm wide)
Room details
35 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Extra-large double bed (Super-king size) (181-210 cm wide)
Room details
50 sqm
Garden View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
2 Twin bed (90-130 cm wide), Extra-large double bed (Super-king size) (181-210 cm wide)
Room details
26 sqm
Garden View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Large bed (151-180 cm wide)
Room details
24 m2
Garden View
In-room amenities
Get answers about amenities, policies, and more — e.g. “Are pets allowed?” or “Is parking available?”
Provider-sourced guest reviews.
The advertisement for the restaurant we attended, ie Kingsley stated smart casual for supper and I suppose also for breakfast. We dressed accordingly whereas some of the guests attended in tracksuits and slops? Not certain how you dictate the dress code but you allow some to ignore the requirements.
The room we stayed in did not have access to DSTV, the TV channels had to be retuned to specific channels as all of the channels were tuned to one station. The reception of the TV was also not good. The pillows in the room is substandard and must be replaced. The safe in the room provides instructions to use, ie '*' or '#' to use to enter the 4 digit code, whereas the panel to key in the codes did not make provision for a star or hashtag option. Both the 2 x remotes for the TV and the air-conditioning did not function properly, both the batteries were either flat or the connection to the digits on the remote were faulty. The taps at the basin in the bathroom was leaking, the seals are definitely going and you have to really apply power to close the taps so that water is not wasting away. The amount of money that you pay at the Spa is not equal to the value you expect. Some of the facilities, ie the sauna and the warm water pool was dysfunctional. Some of the staff could not answer a question posed and first had to go and ask guidance. Not all the instructions at the Spa was clear and there were few that could accompany to clarify uncertainties
Access control at the hotel is extremely frustrating and significantly detracts from the overall guest experience. On departure, security staff insist on inspecting the interior of guests’ vehicles, seemingly on the assumption that hotel property may have been removed. This practice feels intrusive and inappropriate for a four-star luxury hotel, particularly when paying guests are made to feel as though they are under suspicion. The inspections also create unnecessary bottlenecks and delays at the gate. I have never encountered such a procedure at any other hotel. By comparison, The Blades Hotel, located less than a kilometre away and also rated four stars, does not subject its guests to this treatment. Based on this experience, it may well be the preferable alternative for future stays.
I enjoyed the food, spa treatment
There was construction for some of the rooms, so the noise was a bit annoying
The room was beautiful
The spa facility respond was poor. They never communicated the time for my treatment and I had to cancel on the day of the treatment. It was disappointing because I also shared my email address, maybe I was interacting with AI
An amazing experience. My second time returning to this Spa! You will not regret it as the food and service and the whole experience is amazing! Super happy customer !!!! 😄 😊 😁 ☺️ 🤗
Großartige Glampingzelte mit reichlicher Ausstattung, tolle Anlage, verkehrsgünstig zu erreichen,
etwas laut
Location – ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Kievits Kroon is beautifully situated in a peaceful and picturesque setting. The estate offers a perfect balance of tranquility and accessibility, creating an ideal environment for both business and leisure. Atmosphere – ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ The atmosphere throughout the estate is warm, welcoming, and relaxing. From the moment you arrive, you are made to feel at home. The elegant surroundings and exceptional hospitality create a truly memorable experience. Rooms – ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and well-appointed. Every detail has been carefully considered to ensure a relaxing and enjoyable stay, providing the perfect place to unwind after a busy day. Value – ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ The overall experience offers excellent value for money. The quality of service, facilities, accommodation, and dining exceeds expectations and makes every visit worthwhile. Cleanliness – ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ The estate is exceptionally well maintained. Rooms, conference facilities, restaurants, and public areas are spotless, reflecting the team's dedication to excellence and attention to detail. Noise Level – ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ The environment is peaceful and quiet, allowing guests to relax and focus without distractions. It is an ideal setting for conferences, meetings, and restful stays. Service – ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ The service is truly outstanding. Every staff member demonstrates professionalism, friendliness, and a genuine willingness to assist. Special recognition goes to the reception team, restaurant staff, conference support staff, IT team, and security personnel for consistently exceeding expectations. Amenities – ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ The amenities are excellent and cater to every need. The conference facilities, dining experiences, wine pairing, beautiful gardens, comfortable accommodation, and attentive support services all contribute to an exceptional guest experience. Overall Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 5/5 – Exceptional Experience Our stay at Kievits Kroon exceeded all expectations. The combination of outstanding service, excellent facilities, attention to detail, and genuine hospitality made for an unforgettable experience. Every team member contributed to creating a welcoming and seamless stay. We highly recommend Kievits Kroon and look forward to returning in the future.
Zimmer sind wunderschön, liebevoll eingerichtet. Frühstücksbuffet überwältigend, der Service erstklassig.
As a first time at Kievits kroon. I was so impressed that there's such a place in Pretoria.
None
The place is really beautiful,, except for the cold I cant really faulty it il try it again ik summer ,, ohh the breakfast was really nice 😊
The rooms are very cold in winter,, their heater /fan was not helping had to get more blankets , but thanks for getting help swiftly after I requested to be moved,, i really need to come back in summer though
Chefs were very friendly and helpful, understood and exceeded customer's expectations. Very delicious foods great wines. The experience was so amazing, awesome and memorable.
Staff hospitality, Great Villas/Specious apartments. Very Clean environment, Home away from home, Secured environment, Very Friendly Staff, Great Foods, Great Coffee, ******Wine Wine Wine were the finest Wine Wines********
Breakfast was delicious with loads of choices. Bed was nice and comfy and we got a free upgrade which was very kind. The grounds are stellar and the Spa was very accommodating.
The prices were a bit high, but thats' to be expected given the quality of the establishment. We loved everything else.
Hi Landi, I just wanted to pass on my sincere thanks to you and the entire Kievits Kroon team for hosting the SAGS Congress. Your support, attention to detail, and hospitality were a big part of why the event ran so smoothly and felt so successful for everyone involved. A special mention to Genevieve, Tawanda, Jacqueline and Zenele – their professionalism, helpfulness, and calm handling of everything really stood out. Please pass on my appreciation to them directly. I have had excellent feedback from delegates about the venue, the service, and the overall experience. It made a real difference to the atmosphere of the congress. Looking forward to the possibility of hosting another congress at Kievits Kroon in the future. Thanks again for everything.
Beautiful establishment. Stunning rooms. Exceptional service and great food. We went to celebrate my husband's birthday and the staff, especially Levi, made sure that it was extra special.
Nothing
This place is a hidden gem, everything about it was amazing, from the reception till we left the gate
A fantastic estate and an ideal retreat near Johannesburg. The property offers very comfortable and stylish rooms, a beautiful pool area, and an outstanding spa, recently recognized as one of the best spas in the region. Guests can enjoy excellent dining, including a fine-dining restaurant, all set within a relaxing and elegant atmosphere. The staff are exceptionally friendly and attentive, making every stay a pleasure. I can highly recommend this property to anyone looking for comfort, tranquillity, and excellent service. Conveniently located just 50 minutes from Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport, the estate offers airport transfers in both directions, making arrival and departure effortless. It is also only around 45 minutes from excellent Big Five safari experiences, and the hotel can arrange all safari activities and transfers for guests. Whether as a relaxing stop before or after a safari, or as a destination in its own right, this is a wonderful place to unwind and experience South African hospitality at its best.
Dinner was awful however i did enjoy the breakfast
Dinner - Chicken Trio tasted like i bought it at Pick n Pay
An absolutely exceptional experience at Kievits Kroon! From the moment we arrived, the service was warm, professional, and truly memorable. A heartfelt thank you to Victoria and Vhutshilo at the spa for making the experience so relaxing, welcoming, and rejuvenating. Their care and attention to detail made us feel completely pampered. A special thank you as well to Nelisiwe and Buyisile at reception for their kindness, professionalism, and seamless assistance throughout our visit. Their warm hospitality truly set the tone for an incredible stay. The chef at the spa deserves special recognition for the delicious food and wonderful dining experience. Every meal was beautifully prepared and added to the overall sense of luxury and comfort. Lastly, a huge thank you to all three Refilwes for their outstanding service, friendliness, and dedication to making our experience extra special. It is rare to encounter such a genuinely caring and attentive team. Kievits Kroon exceeded expectations in every way. The beautiful atmosphere, exceptional staff, and overall experience made this a truly unforgettable visit. We cannot wait to return!
After loosing my dad, we sent my mom there to just feel a little pampered and cared for. The entire team looked out for her, cared for her in the way we really needed and she needed. It was such a special stay. We really grateful. And will most definitely have her go again.
Staff, service and special care. Attention to detail and sensitivity around our major loss of a remarkable husband and dad
We spent Mother’s Day weekend at Kievits Kroon Gauteng Wine Estate and had the most amazing experience. My son and I were treated so well by the staff from the moment we arrived. The food was absolutely incredible, both dinner and breakfast were exceptional. The Mother’s Day gourmet picnic was definitely a highlight. From the live band and sushi stations to the entertainment for the little ones, everything was thoughtfully planned and created such a beautiful atmosphere for families. We always love coming here for a staycation because it truly feels like you’ve escaped to the Winelands. The hotel is spotless, the grounds are beautifully maintained, and having a spa onsite is such a bonus. It is also one of the few places where children can play freely while parents feel completely at ease about safety. This place has honestly become our second home. The staff are warm, friendly, and always go out of their way to make every stay comfortable and memorable. If you are visiting Pretoria or simply looking for a peaceful staycation, this is an absolute must-stay. 100% recommended, definitely one of Pretoria’s hidden gem.
Open and tranquil
Everything and the outmosphere
Dirty rooms,curtains, blinds
Hospitality is on point .
Nothing at all
The general ambience
Nothing - it’s a lovely place all round
Was romantic and the food was great
Nothing in particular
This was my 3rd time going to Kieviets and everytime, it becomes better and better, and our stay is such a royal treatment. This wine estate is such a peaceful and relaxed place. The Granita fine dining restaurant is thee place to eat. I always take 11 coarse menu, the chef always excels and exceeds her expectations everytime with her menus. The breakfast is too die for. A full spread of everything. Fresh, delicious and oh so tasty to perfection. The spa with all of its pools, saunas, jacuzzi, steam bath, cold pool and the multi-shower head shower, is everything and you dont want to leave the place. Kieviets Kroon is the place to be, for the young at heart and to the more experienced seniors. We love this place and to all the management staff, reception staff, executive cleaning staff, chefs, waitresses, just about every employee are just so special and blessed. Thank you Kieviets Kroon for a 10-Star treatment. You deserve 2 more stars to your honorable status.
Breakfast buffet big variety well presented. Dinner three course exceptional good. Spa very clean relaxing staff friendly. Overall well done to all the staff, waiterers and mangement 100% will definitely be back soon.
Everything! Beautiful, isolated and it feels out of Gauteng.
I have one suggestion, maybe look at getting smart TVs for the rooms, where guests can log into their own Netflix or Prime. It was daunting to watch open view, some people just like to relax in the room and watch a movie. There was hardly signal and we reverted to watching on our phones with headphones on. Not nice at all. Then, maybe look at getting one extra double point plug per room, if you are 2 people, there is more than likely 4 devices to charge (phones and watches).
On arrival, the receptionist and Spa Manager mishandled our booking. Although our spa appointment was confirmed for 12:00, it was scheduled for 9:00. When we raised the issue, the Spa Manager refused to adjust the booking and told me directly that we would forfeit the money we had already paid, imagine in this economy and it was for three couples. Eventually, we were rescheduled for Sunday after Valentine’s Day, but the experience was rushed and impersonal. The focus seemed to be on pushing commission rather than delivering a relaxing, quality spa service. This was not the standard of hospitality or professionalism we expected.Spa Manager who was on duty on Valentine’s Day lacks experience she is very childish and unprofessional
First night was amazing and the welcome staff and facilities are great. The grounds are in immaculate condition and very enticing.
Saturday night - earth hour - was handled very poorly. No attempt to inform us of what was happening, not guidance o getting dinner orders placed timeously, incredibly poor waitering and front of house management on the floor. Basically all the staff left the restaurant for an hour to leave patrons without meals or service. The pizza oven and gas cookers remained functional but only half the meal came out before earth hour and the second half afterwards.
Great place to visit
Mooi uitzicht, fijn estate, top locatie
Location, cleanliness across facilities, staff attentiveness
Our picnic arrangement was not ready and didn’t have the same kind of details as others observed around us
The Television was not working in the room. I reported the issue on my arrival, but no one came to fix it.
Spa and food
All good
Listen, this place is stunning, stunning, stunning! All those complaining about an insect. This is Africa! The room was as per the website photos, very well appointed. Breakfast a feast, and the staff professional and friendly. The gardens are beautiful and well -tended. This establishment deserves our support; close to the city but far far away.
Wonderful five course vine and dine fine dining with wine pairing. We absolutely enjoyed the dinner here. The vegetarian options were delicious and much appreciated.
GUYS, THE CHEFS KNOW THEIR STORY HEY!! I ENJOYED EVERY MEAL INCLUDING THE CURRY BUFFET. LET ME TELL YOU ABOUT THE WAITERS, VERY PROMPT WHEN THEY ARE ASKED OF ANYTHING, THEY GO BEYOND. THE WINE PERSNONELL - TOP NOTCH !!!! THE RECEPTION STAFF WENT BEYOND TO PHYSICALLY SHOW US THE OTHER TYPES OF UNITS WE CAN BOOK IN THE FUTURE THE SHUTTLE DRIVERS ARE SO PATIENT AND ON TIME THE SPA - STAFF AND FACILITIES - EXCELLENT
THE SHOWER HEAD IN ROOM 28 , THE PRESSURE WAS A BIT LAZY, IF THAT CAN BE IMPROVED PLEASE, OTHERWISE I WAS HAPPY WITH EVERYTHING IN MY ROOM.
Breakfast buffet. Love the buildings. The staff always put on such a lovely spread for the Somerset College rowing supporters dinner every year!
Nothing the experience was ruined by the lies from staff and how they tried to sugar coat it all.
No TV, No WiFi, saying we would be upgraded when it was clearly a down grade, being promised a couples massage for the inconvenience which would happen Sunday and we would be called at 09H00 which I still haven't been called for, going for breakfast and told to go to reception to get the issue resolved to be told the issue cannot be resolved and management will contact me Monday morning.... Its now Thursday afternoon and still no call even after I followed up.
Location
The plugs were not working, taps leaking all night, shower had black mould,
Awesome location beautiful place friendly staff
Property was fine only fact that my wife got food poisoning was very bad we missed out on my massage that was booked and paid for at 9 today
Spacious, clean , well maintained
Thank you to the entire team for an absolutely wonderful weekend celebrating my sister’s 50th birthday, with 16 of us coming together for the celebration. From the moment we arrived, everyone was incredibly welcoming and accommodating — from reception to the restaurant, spa, and housekeeping teams. The rooms were spotless, comfortable, and beautifully presented, and the grounds and public areas were equally clean and very well maintained. The restaurant service was exceptional, with a special mention to Moses, who did an outstanding job. The food was truly impressive — lunch was a real wow, and both dinner and breakfast were outstanding (and that says a lot, as we are a very fussy group when it comes to food!). The only small miss was the vegan cheesecake at lunch — perhaps not for everyone, as it was a little bland — but that was a minor detail in an otherwise excellent dining experience. The spa experience was next level. The added spa treats were a lovely touch, and the service and treatments were exceptional. The ladies were kind, caring, and made everyone feel completely relaxed. The spa facilities were immaculate and very well maintained. Special mention to Palesa and Virginia for our treatments — they were absolutely wonderful. Thank you Landi for helping me with the cake:-) PS — we did miss our Five Roses tea… the Ceylon tea just doesn’t quite measure up 😉 I would highly recommend this hotel and spa to anyone looking for a truly relaxing and indulgent pamper weekend. Well done to Francois and the entire team for delivering such a memorable experience. Thank you once again, Tracey Gounden
nothing
service !!!! waiting for 40 minutes just for 1 beer room service - Uber driver infront of my room all day - invasion of privice
The breakfast was stupendous
It was beautiful!!
It needs more activities
Perfect
Exterior
DINNER and BREAKFAST WERE EXCEPTIONALLY DELICIOUS.
I expected the staff to approach me and ask whether we needed assistance, especially if they realised we might be wondering. We had to call them often or go to them while they were sitting and chatting as a group.
Great
Gardens are beautiful, breakfast was good, room was very comfortable and clean.
It was irritating that security wanted to check our boot every time we left the property. It made us feel unwelcome and untrusted. Things like tomato sauce and butter was not on the tables at breakfast and took long to arrive.
Beautiful surroundings, friendly and accomodating staff, good breakfast
More attention to customers at the restaurant
Great spa facilities and restaurants
Breakfast with Bottomless Champagne it went down very well the omelet was very delicious and tasty big ups to the Chef who prepared it upon my request.
The are no interesting programs on their Televisions, that was the worst part ever. They should pay for more channels, imagine visiting with your children 's no cartoons on TV, change or add programms .
This was our sixth or seventh stay and it will be our last. It's really sad because we used to rave about this place to anyone who would listen, telling them about Kievits Kroon as a great option for a convenient and luxurious weekend away. But we can't recommend it anymore. There were several small fails and two major ones that I can't overlook. This was the first time we'd been in a few years, as the last time wasn't great either, but we decided to give it one last chance because we had a function in Cullinan and needed somewhere to overnight. We booked a room for the three of us - me, my husband and our 2-year-old. On the morning of our reservation, we called ahead to confirm there would be a cot in the room. They didn't have one noted for our booking, but confirmed my full name and said they'd arrange one. We travelled through while our son was napping, so arrived a little early (about 1.15pm). We were not on the check-in list at the gate, but there was a queue of people arriving behind us, so after flipping through the papers several times they eventually waved us in. We headed to reception and said we'd wait until 2pm at the library bar and order some tapas. We asked again at reception about the cot. Nobody knew what we were talking about or who we'd spoken to, but they said they'd arrange one. We ordered food at about 1.45pm and it took an hour to arrive. At 2.10pm, my husband went to see if our room was ready yet, as we were due in Cullinan at 3pm and needed to leave at 2.30pm to get there on time. He got the key and he and my son waited for the food while I fetched the car and took our luggage to the room (no.88). When I got to the room at 2.20pm, there was a maintenance man lying on the floor, playing on his phone. He got a huge fright when I came in (which made two of us!) but was very apologetic and said he was waiting for someone to bring the battery he needed to replace the one in the safe. Why this was happening after check-in time, I have no idea. I asked him if I could just have 5min to change, so he left and I quickly got dressed. Another maintenance guy arrived as I was leaving at 2.25pm, bringing the battery. I asked him about the cot because there was still no cot in the room. He said he'd ask housekeeping again for me. I headed back to the pool, where my husband and son had moved to keep our busy toddler occupied. I got a call just after 2.30pm from reception to say our room was ready. I told the guy I already had the key, had been to the room and had found someone lying on the floor there. His response was, "Oh good." He hung up before I could ask about the cot. Our food eventually arrived at 2.45pm, so we quickly shovelled it in and dashed back to the room so my husband could get dressed. Still no cot there. We let our family know we were running late and then left. We were once again waved through at the gate because of queues. On our way to Cullinan, we phoned reception again to ask about the cot. They said they had a cot waiting for us, but hadn't known which room to put it in (?!) so they would now send it to room 88. When we got back at 8pm, the cot was there. The bedding looked dirty, but maybe it was just very stained, but we just put the blanket we'd brought with over it and started running to bath so we could get our kid to bed. And then I noticed A RING OF SOMEONE ELSE'S DIRT in the bathtub. Gross, gross, gross! I called reception and explained, and they sent housekeeping. Tshego arrived and had a look, took a photo and apologised. He came back after 10 min with a cleaning lady and they quickly cleaned the bath. But, as I said to him, when you find a dirty bath, you start to wonder about everything else... has the loo been cleaned, have the sheets been changed, etc. In the morning, we had a nice breakfast at Kingsley's (I have to say, the food was better than some of our previous stays, both the tapas and the buffet breakfast). Then we headed to the pool for a last swim before checking out. A friendly gent (Sibusiso?) brought us lounger cushions, but none of the three staff members we asked could tell us how to get pool towels. Eventually, I spotted them through the windows of the bar, on the counter as I was headed to use the loo. Because the bar was not officially open yet, one of the make staff members tried to physically block me from opening the door. When I said I needed the toilet, he let me past and I could go to the ladies' and then grab pool towels on my way out. After a quick dip, we headed back to the room to shower and pack up before check-out. Someone had been into our room and removed both bathmats. Nothing else - not the used glasses or mugs or the towels... just the bathmats. I put one of the swimming towels down so we wouldn't slip. As I was checking we had packed our PJs, A SMALL COCKROACH RAN OVER THE SHEETS! Gross, gross, gross! At 9.40am, housekeeping knocked on the door to clean. I said we were still packing up and would be out shortly. Again, why is housekeeping not matched to guest arrivals and departures? We checked out at 10am and my husband told the receptionist about needing to speak to 4 different people to get a cot, arriving at the room to find a staff member lifting on the carpet, about the filthy bath, etc. and said we'd been disappointed and had decided this was our last stay. The response was basically, "Sorry to hear that. Bye." So all of the detail I would normally put in a post-stay survey is now going on Google because I find it unacceptable that a lukewarm apology and a shrug of the shoulders is the only response from Kievits Kroon, which is supposed to be a luxury guest-centric establishment. It once was. But not anymore.
Upon arrival, check-in at reception was smooth. We were provided with our room key and directed to our accommodation, which required us to drive to the other side of the estate. However, when we reached the room, the key did not work. We walked back to reception, where we were informed that a network issue had prevented the key from being properly programmed. The receptionist, who was very helpful, offered to accompany us to the room and opened it using a master key. She assured us that a functioning key would be delivered as soon as the network was restored. Upon entering the room, we immediately noticed that it had not been cleaned. The window sill was sticky with what appeared to be beverage spills, the floor was dirty, the bathroom mats were not fresh, and most concerning, there were rat droppings on the window sill, on the floor behind the curtains, and behind the door. I contacted reception to request housekeeping and asked to speak with a manager, as the condition of the room was unacceptable. A housekeeping staff member arrived, but I requested that cleaning not proceed until the housekeeping manager assessed the situation. The manager quickly confirmed that the room had indeed not been cleaned and that there were clear signs of rodent activity. She apologised sincerely, asked us to wait while the room was cleaned, and said she would escalate the matter to the rooms division. While waiting on the terrace outside, we noticed a mouse in the bushes, which explained the droppings found inside. After the room was cleaned, the manager returned, apologised again, and informed us that a complimentary bottle of wine had been arranged for us. We told her about the mouse we had seen and expressed that we did not feel comfortable staying in that room. She went back to speak with the rooms division, and we waited in the bar. An hour later, she returned with keys to a new room and directed us there. The replacement room was clean, though the entire experience made for a rocky start to our stay. The following day, after breakfast, we returned to our room to find that the terrace doors had been removed and two maintenance staff were working. This came as an unexpected surprise, as no one had informed us that repairs would be taking place. We decided to return to the bar to allow the work to be completed. As we were celebrating a birthday that day, the housekeeping manager kindly arranged for our room to be decorated with a birthday message. From that point onward, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay thanks to the exceptional customer service at the restaurants, bars, and spa. In particular, we would like to recognise Moses, Regal, and Tebogo at Kingsley Restaurant; Sibongile at Granatas; and Mandy at the spa for their outstanding hospitality. They truly made our stay memorable. Overall, despite the challenges we experienced upon arrival, we had a lovely stay. Thank you to everyone who contributed to making my mother’s birthday special.
Das Estate ist tatsächlich eine vorzügliche Oase am Rande der Stadt. Ich war nun bereits mehrfach in Pretoria - dieses Hotel ist uneingeschränkt empfehlenswert. Egal ob privat oder geschäftlich. Hier finden Sie eine professionelle Betreuung und eine vorzügliche Küche mit einem beeindruckenden Wein-Angebot. Wir haben einen neuen Favoriten für künftige Aufenthalte im Raum Pretoria/Johannesburg gefunden.
The scenery
The food
Clean and tidy, friendly staff
Wifi not working No dstv to watch sport
The environment, the Wine tasting and the meat platter with it, & sitting by the pool,very dreamy. Loved it
I had to pay an extra R70 for a broken cherry jar even when I am the one who notified the staff about it on checkout. And only remembered to let them know when I was about to walk out but I was made to pay for it. I didn't appreciate that especially when they had not even raised it as an issue. I could have left without saying anything but I thought to be transparent about it.
the staff is amazing. some of the friendliest best service we hae had anywhere in the world. the facilities is amazing .
the rooms are due an upgrade and the tv had only about 1 channel that worked. maybe get a golf cart for the poor people that have to carry the heavy trays to rooms for room service
Feedback themes are sourced from guest reviews provided by our data provider.
What guests love
Areas to consider
Cleanliness
7/10Several comments mentioned dirty rooms and poor cleanliness standards.
Service
9/10Friendly staff and good service mentioned in multiple reviews.
Location
9.5/10Beautiful surroundings and well-situated hotel highlighted in reviews.
Room Quality
8/10Some rooms referred to as needing upgrades, though many enjoyed their stay.
Amenities
8/10Good amenities mentioned, but issues with operational hours of some facilities.
Value for Money
8.5/10Generally viewed as good value, although some guests had specific grievances.
Food and Beverage
9/10Food described as exceptional in several instances, particularly breakfast.
Overall Experience
9/10Most guests left satisfied, with only a few concerns noted.
Nestled within Kievits Kroon Gauteng Wine Estate, enjoy a tranquil backdrop that complements your luxurious stay.
Unwind at the Winelands Spa with saunas and a heated indoor pool, then soak up sunshine by the outdoor pool.
Stunning gardens and expansive grounds provide a serene place to stroll and unwind.