Ty'n Rhos
Ty'n Rhos, B5110, Llangefni, LL77 7UU, United Kingdom- Historic
- Ruines
Compare nearby stays with similar location, guest experience, amenities, and class.
Luxurious Amenities and Facilities
Tre-Ysgawen Hall & Spa offers a lavish experience with its 16-metre swimming pool, air-conditioned gym, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and beauty/therapy suite.
Idyllic Surroundings
Nestled in gardens, meadows, and woodlands, the hotel provides a serene escape from the bustling city life.
Nearby Attractions
Conveniently located near popular sites like Beaumaris Castle, Plas Newydd, Anglesey Sea Zoo, and the picturesque Anglesey Coastal Path, there is no shortage of activities to enjoy during your stay.
Book your stay at Tre-Ysgawen Hall & Spa for a truly unforgettable and rejuvenating experience.
Check-in from
03:00 PM
Check-out by
11:00 AM
Parking
FREE
Children
Allowed
Pets
Not allowed
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
20 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Queen bed (151-180 cm wide)
Room details
34 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
33 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Extra-large double bed (Super-king size) (181-210 cm wide), 2 Twin bed (90-130 cm wide)
Room details
29 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Extra-large double bed (Super-king size) (181-210 cm wide), 2 Twin bed (90-130 cm wide)
Room details
29 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 3 guests
2 adults · 2 children
Beds
Queen bed (151-180 cm wide)
Room details
29 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Extra-large double bed (Super-king size) (181-210 cm wide), 2 Twin bed (90-130 cm wide)
Room details
29 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Extra-large double bed (Super-king size) (181-210 cm wide)
Room details
42 sqm
In-room amenities
1 King Bed OR 2 Twin Beds
Internet - Free WiFi
Entertainment - Flat-screen TV with digital channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker, electric kettle, 24-hour room service, and free bottled water
Sleep - Turndown service and bed sheets
Bathroom - Private bathroom, shower/tub combination, bathrobes, and free toiletries
Practical - Safe, iron/ironing board, and desk; rollaway beds (surcharge) and cribs (free) available on request
Comfort - Daily housekeeping and heating
Accessibility - Wheelchair accessible
Need to Know - Toothbrush and toothpaste not available
Non-Smoking
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Sleeps
Up to 3 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
King bed (151-180 cm wide)
In-room amenities
2 Twin Beds OR 1 King Bed
Internet - Free WiFi
Entertainment - Flat-screen TV with digital channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker, electric kettle, 24-hour room service, and free bottled water
Sleep - Turndown service and bed sheets
Bathroom - Private bathroom, shower/tub combination, bathrobes, and free toiletries
Practical - Safe, iron/ironing board, and desk; rollaway beds (surcharge) and cribs (free) available on request
Comfort - Daily housekeeping and heating
Need to Know - Toothbrush and toothpaste not available
Non-Smoking
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Sleeps
Up to 3 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
King bed (151-180 cm wide)
In-room amenities
1 King Bed
Layout - Bedroom
Internet - Free WiFi
Entertainment - Flat-screen TV with digital channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker, electric kettle, 24-hour room service, and free bottled water
Sleep - Turndown service and bed sheets
Bathroom - Bathrobes, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Safe, iron/ironing board, and desk
Comfort - Daily housekeeping and heating
Need to Know - Toothbrush and toothpaste not available, no cribs (infant beds) or rollaway/extra beds available
Non-Smoking
Connecting/adjoining rooms can be requested, subject to availability
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
King bed (151-180 cm wide)
In-room amenities
Get answers about amenities, policies, and more — e.g. “Are pets allowed?” or “Is parking available?”
Provider-sourced guest reviews.
The property is a beautiful property but needs to be refurbished and seen to many basic things. At the moment it is not value for money
The room was not cleaned and the second day we had no water and could not have a shower and use the toilets. When we asked what had happened they said that they do not know what the problem is
Beautiful.setting in large grounds. The restaurant and food was excellent, nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
Better coffee than sachet Nescafé in the room. would enhance the experience and saucers for the cups.
Potentially could be a property to recommend
Bathroom wash hand basin broken and not of use. Toiletries used not replaced. Towels and linen for bedding and pillows thrown in corridor carpet before use. Stayed for two nights but WATER both cold and hot in bathroom was MISSING.
The piece and quiet and spa
Was a bit tired and needs more menu for longer stays
Loved this beautiful piece of tranquility. The spa made it for me . Swim , sauna & jacuzzi before hot shower and down to the classy restaurant for meal and drinks .
Nothing
It was elegant with old world fabrics and decorative features
Our room , room 40 , was adequate but desperate for an update
Our room, 32 appears to have been recently updated, and was very good. The auto night lights in the bathroom are a great idea. The restaurant is very pleasant and the food is excellent. The only, small, criticism is the menu. It wasn't changed all week, we were there Mon-Fri, and while the food is excellent it does get a bit samey. But all in all it was a very good stay, thanks
Nothing really
Beautiful building, spa was nice. Huge pool and jacuzzi was lovely and hot. Dinner was good and breakfast very good. I recommend scrambled eggs, I could have eaten a plate full.
Room wasnt very clean. Id booked the suite as it was my partners birthday. I expected a very luxurious room but it wasnt. The hotel itself needs a lot of renovation as does the room we were in. Curtains although were probably very beautiful back in their day,were tired and ripped. Hair was still at the side of the bathroom basin, the carpet hadn't been vacuumed, and the skirting boards were filthy. No toilet paper at all. I told the lady at reception who said she was very sorry and was messaging the cleaners as I was speaking to her. We went to the pool (which wasnt very warm, jacuzzi was nice and hot though) when we returned to our room,the sink had been cleaned but it hadn't been vacuumed as the same bits were still at the side of the bed. Skirting boards were still filthy (coffee or tea spilled down one of them too.) Bed was comfortable enough. When we came to make tea in the morning there were no teaspoons. It was just silly,annoying little things like that that you wouldn't expect from a lovely hotel. I couldn't tie one of the curtains back in the morning to let more light in so I could do my makeup as there was no tie back or tie back hook even. I had to lift the curtain up and try and balance it on the windowsill. Again something small but very annoying.
Our short stay here to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary was lovely. Our room was fabulous (we stayed in room number 1 which was stunning), it was clean on arrival and everything i had hoped for to make it a memorable occasion. The staff were incredible friendy and polite, and the food both as an Italian and for Sunday Dinner were without fault. We used the spa and the gym both on Saturday and Sunday. My spa treatments by the lovely Kellie added to the relaxed atmosphere. I would highly recommend staying here.
My only feedback would be that having a welcome pack in our room with the Internet password and places of interest to visit would have been helpful. However, when we did ask for the password for the Internet we were informed of it very quickly.
Romana restaurant and staff were the positives about this property
Too much to mention…. Hotel was so quiet it looked and felt closed. We werent allowed to speak to anyone or even attempt to check In until 3 and when we walked around there wasn’t a human in sight. The room was £140 and was one of the worst rooms we’ve ever stayed in, dated, old fashioned, stains on walls and floors, damp stains, wallpaper falling off, light hanging off the walls, rust on metal and dirty bed and carpets and windows.. dead insects on window ledge… phone not connected to even use and no light switch in bathroom so fan stayed on loudly for long periods of time… online stated clock tower was a sports bar so was going to watch the football on a Saturday night and told it was closed for the night at 5pm and they don’t have sky tv anyway… they’ll had one bar staff so they only open one bar staff, I was highly disappointed… Saturday night and no life or atmosphere and no bar or sports as described when I booked. After meal they had no cream so couldn’t make my Irish coffee - in the spa the jacuzzi was only warm and full of dirt and grime it was disgusting, sauna only warm and all in need of modernising…no soap in shower silencers and no bags on roll for wet trunks, no lock on toilet doors and changing room were so unclean. Billiard room looked like a storage. Area and full of broken and dirty dangerous furniture with awful smells everywhere. Was my wife’s bday present which I mentioned on booking and they made no mention of this… the whole hotel was old and tired and was a waste of £140 - will never return
The gardens were beautiful,
The room could do with a freshen up , wall paper ripped by side of the bed
In a quiet location but not too far away from places to visit. Pool & Spa facilities. Great food.
Shouldn’t complain but found the size of the cooked breakfast a bit overwhelming. Asked for a smaller breakfast on 2nd day but it isn’t on the menu.
The food both for breakfast and evening meal was very good
The bedroom we occupied was very dated , furniture and fittings need to be upgraded
Spa facility was good, the staff were so nice and friendly. Superb food in the restaurant . The breakfast was excellent on the first morning. Services at the breakfast and dinner were brilliant. Good size bedroom with every essential, kettle, iron , ironing board, hair dryer etc
The actually room we stayed, room 35, the view from the window was awful and it was big pipe in the roof which made loud noise early morning, it disturbed my sleep. The treatment room wasn't as relaxing as the other spa I have been and I didn't enjoy the treatment as much as I would like to.
Good breakfast and spa
Location, restaurant, spa facilities, and value for money.
Restaurant was a bit pricey, but food was lovely, as was the cost of the treatments (e.g. massage) which put us off getting one. The
Food was excellent and spa tpp
Room was a bit dated, but very comfortable
The clock tower for lunch and drinks was nice. The Italian restaurant for dinner was excellent
More spa facilities would have been nice. For example water jets and a warmer swimming pool area
Beautiful setting and style of hotel, bar onsite Spa onsite, pool The best breakfast Restaurant on site and lunch available at the clock tower
mattress bit too firm for us We preferred lunch menu
Clean and traditional
Nothing
Location peaceful. Staff friendly and helpful. Meals including breakfast delicious. Spa great and relaxing. Room with terrace relaxing.
Poor lighting in bedroom - needed a bulb changing in entrance to room - difficult to see items in wardrope. Did report to reception
The grandeur of everything. The fantastic hall and stairs. The bedroom was amazing. Enjoyed the swimming pool and spa area.
The hotel, spa etc was lovely and clean, thw staff were very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast on the first morning was cold. The following morning we asked for it to be hot and it was beautiful freshly cooked.
We enjoyed the spa and thought that the breakfast was absolutely first rate. The hotel was clean and the grounds were well maintained.
I think that some areas of the hotel need some renovation and attention. The carpet on the way to our room was worn. Some of the paintwork/decor also needed rejuvenation.
Very friendly staff, location & excellent meals
N/A
The spa facilities were good and the building / grounds
Quite run down - shower knob broken, told reception and was told there was a hack to getting the shower to turn on. Why would you not just fix it? Hotel also not very busy so could have put us in another room if a known problem. Food was ok. Went for safe options as the footfall was low so knew produce wouldn’t be fantastic. Breakfast also ok. Spinach very gritty - don’t think it had been washed. Overall stay was ok. But not worth the price of almost £200 a night.
The hotel is in a beautiful setting and is well placed for exploring Anglesey.
The hotel is tired in some areas. Many of the staff are very helpful but some are less so. There is no one at reception to help with luggage and I found this difficult having just had a knee operation. The phone signal is non existent and the WiFi very intermittent. I stay here because of its location but feel it does not live up to its 4star rating. The parking for hotel guests is poor and often the car parks are full of cars used by people using the spa facilities. It would be better if spa users parked in the overflow car park rather than expecting guests managing luggage to use this area. There is no attention to detail - for example in my room the chain for the roller blind had broken making it unusable and the curtains did not work using the pulley system. The coat hangers on the wardrobe are a motley assortment and some are too small to be useful.
Very friendly staff and helpful. The food was very nice and good portions.
Very large hotel with a mixture of traditional and newer style building. Food in restaurant was very good and staff were friendly and positive.
Breakfast doesnt start until 8am which is not much use if you need to leave around that time to catch a ferry from Holyhead. Should be open at 7am.
We arrived early in the day, about 11am and used the spa before checking in. We enjoyed the pool, jacuzzi and sauna all of which were lovely. The adjoining gym looked well kitted out but we were there to relax so didn't go in!! For our late lunch we enjoyed a delicious vegan mushroom risotto for lunch. We checked into our room about 4pm. The room was clean and beautifully presented. After settling in to the room, we took a walk in the gardens which are sooo romantic. Sadly we didn't see any red squirrels! Dinner was delicious. Again we had the vegan options and it cost us about £50 in total plus drinks. The ambience in the restaurant was perfect for our anniversary celebration meal. Breakfast was the usual hotel offering, both continental and full Welsh with drinks. We departed after breakfast but I believe the spa was available should we have wanted to go again. Anglesey itself has some great walks and coastline and definitely worth a visit. The local town, not so great but we used the hotel as a destination hotel so intended to stay within the grounds throughout our short stay. Finally, all the staff were helpful and extremely polite. Nobody seemed to hide from their duties and smiles and pleasantries were commonplace. Would we stay again? definitely if we were in the area and more often if we didn't live so far away!
Only thing to be aware of is that the vegan cooked breakfast took ages to come out..... Fresh food not fast food I expect they would say! It was however delicious.
Break and dinner were lovely and great value. plenty of choices for vegetarians
Tolle Lage und ein schöner Spa Bereich wenn es mal draußen in strömen regnet 😃
Old fashioned needs to be updated !
Limited food options which was to expensive. To noisy at night know respect for customers.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The interior was rather dated. We paid extra for a terrace which was just a bit of outdoor paving with overgrown greenery
From the moment we arrived to leaving, the staff were so friendly & helpful. Christine on reception helped us out with something even though she was very busy. The hotel is lovely in magnificent grounds, I felt like I was at Downton Abbey!
We couldn't get phone reception in the hotel although the staff did offer to put us on their Wifi, we declined as it did us good to switch off for a while.
Lovely historic building, large rooms, fantastic grounds. Staff very accommodating and friendly.
Some areas of the hotel are a bit tired and in need of refurbishment. Spa pool area was dirty.
Breakfast selection was really good the pool and spa facilities excellent and had the best steak ever for dinner!
The evening menu is a little limited and slightly overpriced and the driveway to the hall is very narrow with a scary drop to one side
Rooms were large and well furnished. Bed was very comfy. Breakfast was excellent. Swimming pool, spa etc were lovely facilities which we took advantage of. Food was excellent. Service was super.
Menu choice was a little limited. We felt we would have liked a little more choice. No instruction was given when we arrived as to the procedure regarding using the swimming pool and spa ie getting towels and locker keys. Also weren’t told where breakfast would be the next morning. Had to go to reception to find out.
Comfortable
Just too quiet for me
The lady who checked us in and the waiter serving us at dinner were very friendly.
A lot of disappointments that overall made our stay quite uncomfortable. We had no WiFi until the last night when eventually we found someone at reception who confirmed it wasn’t working but gave us an alternative one to use. Reception was not manned during our 2 night stay, nor the phone answered when I rang down for towels, as there were none in one of our booked rooms. We had to go to the spa yo get some. The sink in one of the bathrooms was very slow to drain. When one room was refreshed, it was done very rushed and it felt like no care was taken. The door sign had been flung on the side. Very rushed job. Most disappointing was that we were not able to use the pool or gym. We were advised that maximum capacity had been reached. No offer was made to take our room numbers to let us know when we could go in. There was no option to charge restaurant or bar purchases to our room. (Especially frustrating after going to use the spa without wallets and couldn’t then go into the bar.) This does not make you feel like a welcome guest. We certainly wouldn’t return.
On our arrival, Mandy? on afternoon/evening reception was incredibly welcoming and helpful, a real credit to your hotel. Our room was perfect, with patios doors opening onto a beautiful garden terrace. Food in the restaurant was very good, although the menu had a small range of choices. Bed was really comfortable so we slept very well. Breakfast was excellent. We had the full Welsh breakfast both mornings of our stay and my husband commented that it was the best he had ever had, everything tasty, cooked to perfection. Spa facilities were very clean, pool was of good size so was able to enjoy a good swim and the jacuzzi was great.
Disabled access to the spa was difficult. My husband is completely blind and there wasn’t a ‘family’ or disabled changing room. Without going into too much detail, the regular changing rooms were very narrow and cramped. The potential to improve these facilities exists but would require a major overhaul of the changing room layout. Thankfully our room was nearby so we simply got changed there and then made our way to the poolside through the changing rooms, with a gentleman guiding my husband through the male changing room and out to poolside.
Lovely old house. Food was excellent. Waitresses and bar staff are attentive.
Timewarp of a hotel with decor from the late 1980’s. Run on a shoestring. Dirty room, cobwebs in our room, tv doesnt allow apps. spa is dirty. Indistinguishable shampoo or bodywash in our room. No toilet paper. Sauna and steam room not hot.. Lacks investment. No sign of any management. Disappointing.
On checking in I was told “we don’t clean the rooms as we don’t want to disturb people’s things”!! I didn’t mind the dated room but a weeks stay, no vacuum, no change of bedding, pulled up duvet on bed but don’t tuck or straighten sheets, don’t clean bathroom - no toilet brush provided! Hit and miss whether tea and coffee replaced or bins emptied. Staff in restaurant and bar lovely. Food great Spa good Lovely building and gardens
Excellent food and large room. Lovely staff in breakfast and dinning areas
Toiletries in room- no idea what the bottles were - green fairy liquid(?) and bright yellow gunk 😱 plus a luxury soap 😳😱😂. Wi-Fi 😂 until allowed into “private” system and no hotel check in - had to use the spa across the other side of the site and this was the only way to speak to hotel reception through the three night stay as the phone in the room didn’t allow us to speak %%%to reception3( room
The building and the grounds are genuinely beautiful, and the Anglesey location is excellent.
We stayed with two small children and spent most of the visit steering them away from things. The carpet joins are held down with black gaffer tape – in the doorway and, worse, across two stair treads. Loose taped carpet on a staircase is a trip hazard for anyone and a real risk for a toddler. In the bathroom, the mixer tap was missing its handle completely, leaving a bare threaded metal stud sticking up at exactly the height a child reaches for, with rust and limescale around the shower hose connection. The upstairs corridor was being used as a storage area: two vacuum cleaners, a folded travel cot and a portable heater with its cable trailing across the floor. Windows were dirty inside and out with cobwebs, the outer sills covered in bird droppings and feathers, and there was green growth on the outer frames. The armchair in the room was yellowed and stained. None of this needs a big budget – it needs someone to walk the building and look. We wouldn’t return with the children as things stand.
The pub was good when it was open. Enjoyed the pool. Food was nice.
Maintenance of guest areas have been neglected,feels like the property is being run down or no longer having any investment, just profit out. Pub was closed both Fri and Sat which was very disappointing. Billiards room had broken furniture, broken snooker and darts equipment, very poor.
Well presented and professionally served
Location
Not organised well !!
Beautiful settings, lovely building.
Beds were very hard.
enjoyed our stay very much
nothing
Breakfast food very good. Also dinner was pleasant although a limited menu. Hotel is a lovely old manor house with lovely features. Nice swimmimg pool and spa facilities
Whilst I appreciate the building is old the cleaning was generally very poor. Irritating sensor light in bathroom. Either on too short or too long.
Location was great
Room 10 could of been cleaner and the bed needs burning 🔥 it was the most uncomfortable bed we have ever used
Set in lovely grounds, room was huge, bed very comfortable and the bathroom was modern with a very large bath.
Everything was great - some may find it to be slightly out of the way but not an issue if you have a car with you.
Location
I had a disappointing stay. Having arrived to the EV charger being out of order I had to find a working one locally (not an easy task) and spend an hour charging away from the hotel. This meant I missed the spa opening hours (7pm close), the reason for choosing this hotel. I decided to sulk in my room rather than visit the restaurant after that debacle :)
Spa was good
In the middle of nowhere and satnav had us going round in circles
A grand old lady in the heart of the Anglesey countyside, we always love our stays at Tre-Ysgawen. Drawn in by the luxury of the swimming pool we always find something else to enjoy. The main hotel and public areas are steadily being refurbished. The rooms are comfortable with up to date bathrooms and fresh towels daily. The Italian restaurant is new since our last stay. The food was excellent. Fairly limited choice, but all the better for that. The grounds go on for ever and will be marvellous when they are restored. Very good value for money.
An excellent retreat spa and hotel. Room was lovely clean and comfortable and extremely peaceful at night. The staff from breakfast to housemaids to reception to the in house restaurant and spa were just so friendly helpful informative and kind. Couldn’t do enough for you. Mandy’s perfume at reception was so gorgeous it lasted til the morning!! Anyways the grounds are so beautiful and peaceful the building itself is so opulent and very grand it has the wow factor, the library the breakfast room the bar area the restaurant all beautifully kept and carries all historical features and atmosphere. The restaurant is an absolute must…the food and portion sizes are incredible value for money yet I would say myself a top top restaurant the chef is a master his flavours and presentation and generous portions are to die for!! The spa is excellent a great sized pool great jacuzzi and thermal rooms plus a good sized gym. All in all we will both returning a great find. Visit Anglesey.
On arrival the greenery is so luscious catches your eye as you arrive towards the entrance. Passing the spa entrance driving towards the main entrance the gardens are again such a calming well maintained view and so peaceful. On entering the main building with large oak doors you feel the opulence and how grand this must have been for the owner! Well it’s just a wow chandeliers huge hallway with grand stairs and glass roof of the period. Again each room in the hallway with doors closed are huge oak doors with the character of the history. Just so much history but well kept reflecting the grandeur of the decor. As to arrival there is a receptionist from 2pm so if you do arrive early don’t expect anyone in the main entrance but they do register you at the spa reception area. You can use the spa from 11am great touch if you have time to waste til 3pm for your room.
Nothing really it was above and beyond what I was expecting from the negative reviews. Don’t always believe what you read with the negative feedback.
Clean, comfortable. Lovely staff
NA
Considering the premium price we paid, we were extremely disappointed with both the condition of the room and the level of service we received. The accommodation was dated, poorly maintained and in a state of disrepair, and certainly did not reflect the standard we reasonably expected for the price charged. I have photographs showing a number of the issues, including: Torn and badly damaged curtains/blinds. Fabric that was frayed, ripped and generally in poor condition. Fixtures and fittings that were dirty and poorly maintained. Areas of the room and bathroom that clearly required a much higher standard of cleaning and maintenance. The overall appearance of the room being tired and neglected. These were not simply cosmetic preferences; the photographs demonstrate that parts of the room were genuinely in need of repair or replacement. Unfortunately, our problems did not end with the condition of the room. After going out for an evening meal, we returned to find that we could not gain access through the hotel door because it was locked and none of the keys we had been given worked. This was extremely frustrating and unacceptable for paying hotel guests returning to their accommodation. We had also planned to have a nightcap in the hotel bar. We had specifically been told that the bar would remain open until 11:00pm, yet when we returned it was already closed. This was another disappointment and meant that the information provided to us by the hotel was incorrect. Taken individually, some of these matters might appear relatively minor, but collectively they resulted in a stay that fell considerably below the standard we had paid for and expected. When a hotel charges a premium rate, guests are entitled to expect a clean, well-maintained room, reliable access to the property and the facilities and opening hours that have been advertised or communicated to them.
4 poster bed , beautiful linen Beautiful stately home style, tree filled grounds , spa so relaxing , pool and spa bath - Italian restaurant onsite for eve meal - v good food Staff v professional and hard working Fantastic breakfast
Maybe need update of wardrobes but older style goes with property
Excellent hotel in a beautiful building and location. The room was on the ground floor and plenty big enough, with a very big comfortable bed. The room was very quiet. The swimming pool is really nice. The restaurant and bars are lovely, and the prices very good.
Bathroom was a little tired.
The staff were excellent, attentive and highly professional. The food in the restaurant and the breakfast was excellent. Great location to explore the island.
Location
Dated and in need of refurbishment
Fabulous library n grand entrance. Pretty gardens
Rooms were decidedly average. Not 4 stars
Gym and spa were good
Room was very dusty in some areas Some curtain rings missing. Bathroom fan did not turn off..this was reported and the power was isolated to the bathroom resulting in having to use the toilet with no lights. Hole in the bathroom ceiling,cracked floor tiles, wallpaper issues and dated side lights. Carpet was not hoovered properly and marks on bedding. Very disappointing.
A lovely setting and all the grand features you want from a luxury hotel. Including a sweeping staircase and a library. The Pool and spa was very good and we had access to it for the whole of the day of our one night stay and the day afterwards if we wanted. The room was clean and had a lovely king sized bed and private balcony.
Sadly the preparation of the room was disappointing. There was no toilet paper and the complimentary tea/coffee had not been replenished. These are basic things you would expect to be done in any hotel, especially one costing £160 a night. The receptionis was however very apologetic and provided us with the items missing.
The location. The front of house staff were very friendly and worked very hard to please the guests. The breakfast was very nice. Really can't say more than this.
This hotel is very run-down. All of it is very tired. The entire venue requires a considerable reinvestment. It has the potential to be very nice, but not in this state. Nothing was clean. It is overpriced (considering the above). The rooms were not available at the advertised check-in time. The reception area was filled with guests with nowhere to go. The guest wifi didnt work (there is no signal in this location), so connection to the outside world is difficult. The VOIP phone in the room is for aesthetics only as it the room has no network connection. The stair and hallway carpets are gaffer taped together. The fire doors were wedged open which contravenes fire safety regulations. this, whilst at the same time, the government repeatedly sent mesaages in Welsh and English warning of wildfire issues. The building is surrounded by trees!!! This venue is a LONG WAY from the 4-star accommodation it advertises itself as, but a Google search shows this hotel as not deserving this, with guests consistently reporting poor cleaning, slack maintenance, and tired decor throughout the hotel. I would not recommend this to anyone.
Location
It was once a great place but it’s currently a sweat asset - it needs a complete overhaul
Ok breakfast Dinner not so good Not the best bathrooms
Chicken over done , Replaced it with very fatty lamb chops
I liked pretty much everything about Tre-Ysgawen Hall ans Spa. Our first floor room was located in the main hall that dates from 1882, the room was large and well appointed with a fantastic view out over the front lawn of the hall. The cooked breakfast was excellent, I had smoked salmon with scrambled eggs one morning and full English vegi breakfast the next. Both were cooked to perfection. The spa is great, with all the facilities you'd ever want. Gym, large pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms. Finally, the location is lovely for a spa/relaxation/escape from the rat race. It's right in the middle of the countryside in rural Anglesey, which is perfect for a getaway from the city. A car is essential to reach the hotel and to take day trips to the amazing beaches on Anglesey, but this is the only drawback I can think of for the location, and the hotel spa as a whole. We love this place and have stayed twice now, soon to return:)
There nothing I didn't like about Tre-Ysgawen Hall ans Spa.
Female front desk staff upon arrival
Failure to open spa on time This is an expensive facility likely invested in rather than bedroom refurbishment which badly needed
Everything including breakfast was fantastic. Amazing staff.
Location and atmosphere.
Shower was a little damaged and didn't work properly.
Lovely setting, peaceful and beautiful building
I booked 2 rooms 17 and 39, both costing the same. Room 39 didn’t have any bottled water or the selection of tea/ coffee and biscuits that were available in rm 17. In room 17 the toilet roll holder was missing. Small things but when paying £160 a night these things should not be happening. The spa/ pool area was lovely but there was a shortage of robes and slippers to wear poolside on August 12th. This shouldn’t be happening for 4 star hotel. In the very hot evening of 12th August the Clock Tower bar was closed and the outside terrace where there were candles and overhead outside lights. Guests had to relocate to the inside bar. This seemed ridiculous when the weather and facilities were available to use the outside space.
Do not recommend. Hotel in desperate need of updating and a top to bottom clean. Our room came with a black moldy shower curtain, deteriorating lamp shades, spiders, no towels or toilet paper. The staff was mixed. One or two were helpful, but the rest couldn’t be bothered.
I booked the spa & massage two days before we went. We arrived we weren't given flip-flops, thought ok. Went through to the pool, which was nice, the hot tub was small, there was people in it all the time we staved, so didn't get to try it Looked around & started seeing things weren't very clean. Thought right let's go in the sauna & it was absolutely filthy, the door was covered in finger marks & smudges & it smelt so bad, we didn't stay ir it. I walked out bare foot & we weren't given the flip-flops & my feet was covered in hair. I said I just want to go home. My husband said shower them off & we will try the steam room. No we couldn't it was broken. we weren't told this when 1 booked & we paid £190.!!!!!! So we go for a shower & get ready for our massage, they asked us to wait in the room, it was like the chapel of rest. We had our massage & it was lovely the ladies doing it were very good I couldn't say anything negative about them. After that we showered again & I told my nusband with the cleaning problems I don't want food & I just want to leave. When we got home I sent a message to the hotel & a manager replied, I told him they didn't inform me the stream room was broken & it was very expensive for a swim & massage, we couldn't use the sauna because it was filthy. He said he would sent me complimentary spa access, which my daughter said was an insult so she messaged & we've not heard back & didn't receive anything off the hotel. I truly think they are outdated & the price for a swim/massage is extortionate
Spa
Hoovered the carpets. There was confetti on the hall carpets for all 3 days we were there
Location is perfect for exploring the island. A beautiful setting.ovely grounds. Customer service was good. Spa facilities were very good. Breakfast was well presented, and well cooked. Restaurant food was good.
They appeared short of reception staff. Doubling up with the spa. Whilst we were told that it was a small bedroom, in gact it was the double bed that was small, not the room. This made for 2 very uncomfortable nights.
Lovely hotel, great facilities and very comfortable room.
Beautiful location. Fabulous spa facilities. Lovely staff
Limited menu
We enjoyed a three-night stay at the hotel and were very happy overall. The spa was excellent, and the restaurant was a highlight, with tasty food and friendly, helpful staff. The hotel itself is a little tired in places, and our room felt somewhat dated, but this didn’t detract too much from our stay. Overall, we had a pleasant and relaxing visit and would be happy to return
Beautiful hotel in Beautiful settings rooms were very clean, breakfast superb. The Italian restaurant at the hotel was also excellent. Had a really relaxing time in the spa and nothing was too much for the staff. My only critic I would say about my stay was that the WiFi was shocking, multiple people had issues with it.
everything
nothing
Spa was fantastic. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Food was fantastic and overall 10/10 hotel plus best sleep I've ever had beds were so comfortable and rooms clean and tidy. Visiting again in very soon already rebooked 😁
Nothing..... Everything was perfect
It's a lovely old Country House with some amazing features. The breakfast was very good and the room they serve it in is very fine. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are a bit tired and there was some dust around and bits on the floor. They had forgotten to fill up the shampoo and shower gel bottles and replace loo roll but we requested it the next day and they sorted it. We ordered lamb chops in the restaurant, they were too chewy to eat and questioned if indeed it was mutton rather than lamb but the restaurant manager wasn't interested.
The property grounds are lovely. The outdoor area was lovely to sit and walk around.
The property is very dated. I had a massage the next day and even the therapy rooms are dated. The pool, sauna and gym were a bit better.
Full of character. Very clean, staff lovely and very accommodating. We arrived late and they phoned to check we were okay. Spa facilities very good and we were able to use even after checking out.
Cooked breakfast could be improved
Beste breakfirst en klassiek Engels in moderne faciliteit
Nacht extra geboekt die niet kon doorgaan
the staff on reception did their best to help
A very disappointing stay Unfortunately, my stay was extremely disappointing, particularly as I had contacted the hotel in advance to request a quiet room away from the car park and extractor fans. Despite this, I was allocated a room overlooking the car park and directly above an extractor fan at the front of the building. The room itself was rather old-fashioned, but the more significant issue was the bathroom. On entering the room, the bathroom light and extractor fan came on automatically, and there was no switch either inside or outside the bathroom to turn the light off. After a while the light went out, but the fan continued running. As I am a light sleeper, I raised this with reception and asked whether it could be rectified. When I returned later, I discovered that maintenance had attended but had simply switched off all the electricity to the room. Given the hotel's rural location, I was extremely concerned about the safety implications of having no electricity or lighting at night, particularly the risk of falling or tripping in complete darkness. I was offered a room next door, but by this point the maintenance staff had left for the evening and I was told that someone would need to find ladders to see whether the extractor fan could be isolated. This was happening shortly before I was due to prepare for a dinner booking, and the situation had become extremely stressful and upsetting. Sadly, I decided to pack up and leave the hotel. This was particularly disappointing as the stay had been intended as a birthday treat following a very difficult year. I appreciate that problems can occasionally occur, but I felt that the way this issue was handled left me with no reasonable option other than to leave. Given the advance request I had made and the circumstances, I had expected a much more comfortable and considerate stay.
The hotel is in a quiet location and has a small amount of grounds to walk round - plenty of parking in the ‘overflow’ carpark. Good food - limited menu - generous portions. Our room was in the original building and large! With comfy bed and two casual chairs. The library - quiet seating / sofa and tables for playing cards and scrabble were not used a lot by guests despite the pleasant aspects of the room. We used it daily. Great place to just stop and relax or use the spa.
The room was good but somewhat odd. Old was expected for a Manor House room but the black shower curtain was not in keeping.
Bad light pull in bathroom and one curtain hanging off the rail. To give perspective this was notified on day one but only fixed on day 3. We left on day 4.
Beautiful setting, very clean rooms and spa was excellent. Staff were really pleasant and helpful
WiFi was absolutely rubbish
It’s a lovely Manor House in the countryside
It’s a shame the sauna in the spa area wasn’t working We had a dripping tap which was annoying when trying to sleep
Its a lovely hotel, in a quiet location in central Anglesey. Staff are lovely & friendly. Restaurant & breakfast both good..
The lack of a bar is a negative. Using the spa bar is ok, but not in keeping with the older part of the hotel. The old bar was lovely & more people would have drinks if it were open - missed opportunity
Room and hotel also gardens all very good
Menu only had one meal in hotel
The hotel is a bit dusty we could t even enter the library for example without allergies setting off. Overall the hotel is a bit Tired and in need of renovations. Our room Was not clean at all. Particularly the bathroom And toilet. You don’t want to go to the bathroom for the first time and see brown marks in the toilet.
Lovely location, Spa and gym facilities were nice and up to date.
Rooms didn’t feel very clean, lack of quality body wash and shampoos and attention to detail when room was made up when away to returning.
Lovely hotel, just a shame it's falling apart. The room was very tired and the furniture was dirty. The mouldy fridge was a particularly nice touch. The broken towl rail was fixed for us but the fridge was left mouldy and nothing else remedied. Disappointing for what was described as a superior king room. The disrepair and unclenliness of the room spoiled our stay. The manager stated hed been away for two weeks and was unaware of the damage. The cleaner later stated that they were aware and were trying to do it bit by bit. I wouldn't book that hotel again, upon arrival look to your left at the staff and delivery entrance you see a huge pile of rubbish, should have realised then that it wasn't up to standard. The theme of the hotel is great, the breakfasts are good, the staff were very friendly but the hotel itself bears a resemblance to that of the hotel in the film "The Shinig". Sorry but you did ask me for a review.
Excellent from checking in to checking out. Staff amazing & food. Our 2nd stay there, rebooked for NYE The gardens were spectaculer
Feedback themes are sourced from guest reviews provided by our data provider.
What guests love
Areas to consider
Cleanliness
7.74/10Room could do with being updated. Wasn’t as clean as it could have been.
Service
9.21/10The team were wonderful, accommodating our needs throughout our stay.
Location
8.75/10Great location and beautiful building.
Room Quality
8.2/10Room size was good, but some areas felt aged.
Amenities
7.73/10Spa facilities were shut at 4, and some amenities were out of order.
Value for Money
8.69/10Exceptional value for money.
Food and Beverage
8.24/10Delicious food in the restaurant and at breakfast.
Overall Experience
8.61/10Overall enjoyable stay with a few minor issues.