Market Cross
Market Cross, Market Place, Huddersfield, HD1 2AA, United Kingdom- Monument
Compare nearby stays with similar location, guest experience, amenities, and class.
Convenient Location
Located in Huddersfield, Huddersfield Central Lodge offers easy access to popular attractions like Victoria Theatre and White Rose Shopping Centre, making it an ideal choice for travelers looking to explore the area.
Modern Amenities
Enjoy a comfortable stay in our rooms equipped with flat-screen TVs, ensuring entertainment and relaxation during your visit to Huddersfield.
Convenient Services
Benefit from complimentary WiFi and the option for private parking, adding convenience and ease to your stay at Huddersfield Central Lodge.
Experience the best of Huddersfield at Huddersfield Central Lodge. Book now for a memorable stay.
Check-in from
03:00 PM
Check-out by
10:00 AM
Parking
PAID
Children
Allowed
Pets
Not allowed
Sleeps
Up to 3 guests
3 adults · 2 children
Beds
Twin bed (90-130 cm wide), Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
28 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 3 guests
3 adults · 2 children
Beds
Twin bed (90-130 cm wide), Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
28 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
28 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
28 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
25 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
28 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 3 guests
3 adults · 2 children
Beds
Twin bed (90-130 cm wide), Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
28 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
28 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
28 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
28 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Twin bed (90-130 cm wide), Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
28 sqm
In-room amenities
Get answers about amenities, policies, and more — e.g. “Are pets allowed?” or “Is parking available?”
Provider-sourced guest reviews.
Location
*No one help u in any thing and very very restrictive *Deposit damages too much..200£ and very hard for international turist to pay in local bank account.. they not accepting cash or international card for damages deposit... * I stayed 3 night not seeing any house keeper to clean the room or change bedding or even remove carbag..
It was central and clean
All contact, from arrival at the outside of the building was with AI, not with a real person. It was scruffy on the outside, and it was quite creepy staying in a virtually empty place with no humans about. It was not cheap and was poor value.
Good location
Dirty kettle and towels
They cancelled our room without notifying us and never gave the refund.
Spacious, clean and superb location
There were no dislikes
Great location very near town with all that Huddersfield has to offer. Holly, who was available on the phone and messenger at all hours, was amazing. Short notice bookings; no problem, parking facilities; no problem. Sense of humour and sophisticated banter: no problem.
Nothing really. It suited my needs and was available at short notice on several occasions
Lovely staff, very clean and comfortable, great location and super value for money.
Very pleasant and helpful staff, clear messages re check-in and personally talked through the process. Located near train station and town, easy to find. Very clean and comfortable. Very quiet location. Great value for money.
Convenient, cheap.
The amount of signs in the room telling you things you couldn't do was a bit offputting, for somewhere so basic it should just sell itself as a very basic stay.
I booked & they refused to open the door to let me in, despite me paying in full
Awful customer service
Very central, clean and excellent value plus very good remote staff communication
It wasn’t immediately obvious that you had to pay £200 damages deposit by bank transfer when first booking though if I had looked harder I would have seen it was in the T&C. Plus they returned deposit very quickly.
Stayed at Huddersfield Central Lodge and everything was great. The location is very central—right in the town centre—which made getting around really easy. A big plus was the gated parking, which felt secure and convenient. The two girls on the team were very attentive and helpful throughout my stay.
Nothing
The location to the town centre was amazing, the room was clean and tidy. Also, the communication from the staff was brilliant.
Close to Huddersfield fc, secure parking
Terrible bed, mattress sunken in places, didnt get any sleep.
Nothing. Appalling place.
Everything. Appalling place.
We liked how central and convienent the property was and quiet surrounding.
Car parking was not really explained well but we were pleased to have a car park space.
Many other recent negative reviews mention very similar issues: unclean rooms, unexpected deposit deductions, and rude, dismissive customer service. The high overall rating feels quite misleading once you read the lower-rated reviews. If cleanliness and transparent charging are important to you, I recommend checking the recent reviews carefully before booking.
I normally don’t leave negative reviews, but I feel it’s important to share our experience to help other guests. We arrived around 12:30pm after agreeing to the early check-in fee. Unfortunately, the room wasn’t clean or ready to use. The bedding had visible stains, there were almost no toiletries (1 tiny shampoo for 2 adults), and no cot/extra bed was provided for our 19-month-old even though we were charged as an additional guest. We reported the issues immediately, hoping they would be resolved promptly. When we returned from lunch at 3pm, nothing had changed. They told us no housekeeper was available until later that evening. When I questioned the stained bedding and suggested discarding it if the stains couldn’t be removed, they claimed they reused it for “eco-friendly reasons”. This left us with serious doubts about whether the bedding was properly washed between guests. They also suggested we check out if we weren’t satisfied and insisted the room was in "pristine condition", which directly contradicted what we saw on arrival. Since nothing was fixed, we had no choice but to leave at 4pm without staying overnight and book another hotel at short notice. We would have happily stayed if the problems had been fixed. Afterwards, only part of our deposit was returned, including an undisclosed £10 “late admin fee” that was never mentioned before and extra guest charges for the 2nd night despite us leaving the same day. I regret sending the deposit via bank transfer. They seemed to deduct whatever charges they wanted. I have since received a chargeback from my bank for the main booking amount. Overall, this was a very disappointing experience. I would not stay here again. Amendment: The hotel’s response doesn't reflect what actually happened. We didn't stay overnight, and we were 2 adults and 1 child, not 5. The stains were there from the start. The misconduct claim was only raised after we disputed the deposit.
Price
Cold. Heating not working. No staff at reception.
The staff have been exceptionally wonderful! And environment comfortable.
N/A
Found the staff on the intercom to be remarkably patient and helpful. The location was perfect for a gig at The Parish and an easy walk from the station.
Nothing. Perfect for my needs.
£200 upfront payment.
Absolute joke of a property with disgustingly rude staff
Staff
Everything
N/A
Holly was really helpful as it was a virtual check in process.
New shower curtain, definitely past its best before date.
No
Customer service
Central Location, staff attentive
Temperature, quite warm outside, unable to open a window and ventilate the room. Pretty warm in the room
Scammers
Stole money and blocked my number
It was clean and quiet
The remarkble staff that keep the place in order!
No comment.
Not much to like. More basic than a travel lodge.
The upgraded room was cold. The radiators were never on for the two nights I was there. The water for the whole building sounded like it ran through my bathroom pipes. This room temp was especially a problem when showering in the morning. The bed was very soft and two lumpy pillows on the double bed. There was no morrow anywhere near a socket or the built in hairdryer. The place isn't staffed it's down a dark alley. Just not great for me as a single female.
Great central location Secure on site car parking Clean, well lit, spacious room Good quality shower facilities Friendly and very helpful staff, especially Holly who assisted me upon arrival and all throughout my stay
Nothing as we're refused entry. Wanted 200 pound for despot for damages on top of £124 for two English people to stay ,
See above
The excellent customer care shown by Holly to telephone me to ask how I was following my fall the previous night. Holly was very kind.
Nothing.
Good value good location, clean,Holly was very helpful 👌
Great security for your vehicle to stay
N/A
Don't book this hotel—you'll just waste your money. The staff are neither helpful nor polite. If you enjoy dealing with narcissists, you'll feel right at home here.
Central convenient location with car park
The room was as described, exactly what I was looking for. The bed was a little uncomfy, but just my personal taste. The communication from the staff was excellent!
Only the bed, but like I say, just my preference
Friendly staff and very ideal location.
Great location and friendly staff. Nice large room.
Was not a great fan of the self check in and having to pay a damages deposit. Pillows also very hard!
Location good.
The deposit is very high of £200 prior to staying . The room was cold and there was no hot water on an evening. When I rang for fresh towels was told only available on the 4 th day of visit as was serviced apartments or I could try to find the staff who were servicing the rooms .
Central location,, great communication with staff, competively priced.
Took me a while to find but that is more due to my lack of directional awareness.
Great location nice n clean
Handy location. Friendly and helpful staff.
Rien.
N’allez Jamais dans cet endroit !!Nous engageons une procédure contre eux, réservé un séjour de 11 Nuits, payés d’avance, et une caution de 200 Livres, non rendue…Matelas très déformé, chambre très froide, pas d’eau chaude le soir…Pas de ménage, pas de remplacement des premières nécessités.Au début ils semblaient très aimables, mais lorsque J’ai fait mes remarques ils sont devenus désagréables et méprisants, jusqu’à l’impensable, en 30 ans de voyage je n’ai jamais vu ça…Ils m’ont contacté par téléphone directement pour ne pas laisser de trace dans la messagerie Booking, ils m’ont menacé, menacé de la police…J’ai moi-même déposé a la Police suite à cela…Au bout de 4 jours j’ai demandé du ménage, papier toilette, gel douche, ils m’ont répondu que je n’était jamais présent dans ma chambre ou n’avais pas laissé la clé dans la boite... Aucune instruction donnée de leur part en ce sens..Ils m’ont expulsé au bout de 4 nuits horribles, et m’on accusé d’avoir été abusif avec leur personnel pour se justifier et retourner la situation contre moi, vous ne rencontrez jamais leur personnel ! (Entrée a Digicode, boite a clé a code..)Mes demandes et échanges étaient faits dans la Messagerie Booking uniquement.Ils trafiquent leur note flatteuse avec des fausses évaluations, des gens l’ont signalé, observez le nombre hallucinant de commentaires avec une note à 1, ou 2 ou 3 !! C’est réel….Ils feront pareil avec moi, ils répondent que vous êtes le problème, que vous êtes déjà connu chez Booking, quelle blague…J’ai du Diabète, le froid est mauvais pour moi, j’ai du me faire un lit de fortune au sol.J’ai donc du partir suite a leurs pressions et payer un autre hôtel car j’avais peur, n’étant pas dans mon pays.Mais ces escrocs semblent surs d’eux, donnent l’impression de ne craindre rien ni personne.Ils ont conservé ma caution, justifiant des dégradations, absurde, l'heure des comptes arrive.Une Vidéo sur Youtube sera publiée, il y en a déja mais de l'ancien propriétaire...
Fantastic service from the hotel, particularly Holly and Beth. I was given a free upgraded room which I didn’t expect. The cleanliness was on point and I was helped with every inquiry.
The location and helping staff, it was easy access too. Would stay again soon.
بسيطة، نظيفة، قيمة
إفطار
They listen to my needs Good
Nothing
Excellent Stay
wel ma yot dam pi dyere kabedo maleng
jami weng ber
-
-
Very nice stay
Nothing was amazing
Was clean and had everything we needed for our short stay
It was all that was promised
Central to Town
Outside of property run down and felt unsafe. Shower in bathroom unable to turn off
✔️
-
-
Nothing, we didn’t even get chance to stay here because we were not contacted directly to advise a security deposit of £200 would be required and only advised once we had arrived in Huddersfield and despite the fact that we said we would happily pay the deposit, they still cancelled our booking and refused to provide a refund! Apparently they messaged through booking.com, why did they not contact me directly by email or phone?!!!
The manager, incredibly rude and unhelpful. Booking.com tried their best for us and requested that a refund be issued due to the circumstances but they still refused, despite the fact that we had been told to contact booking.com to request a refund. Disgusting
Central location. Gated car park
Relativ nah am Bahnhof. Nah an Restaurants, Bistros udn Pubs, aber nicht laut.
Die Bettwäsche war benutzt, wie Haare und Flecken deutlich machten. Wir waren von der bereits gebrauchten Bettwäsche so angeekelt, dass wir in unserer Straßenkleidung geschlafen haben. Wir haben die gebrauchte Bettwäsche sofort gemeldet. Man teilte uns per SMS mit, das Zimmer sei grundgereinigt worden. Spätere Beschwerden blieben einfach unbeantwortet. Das Zimmer war kleiner als angegeben. Eine Seite des Bettes konnte man nicht aufrecht gehend erreichen. Die Schräge zog sich über eine ganze Wand und machte einen Teil des Zimmers unbegehbar. Die Ausstattung war extrem einfach und billig und entsprach nicht der Beschreibung. Beispiele: - Das Bett war mit 1, 40 m Breite sehr knapp für zwei Personen und bestand aus 2 merkwürdig zusammengeschobenen Einzelteilen. - Es gab nur einen winzigen Tisch und einen Stuhl für zwei Personen. - Nach Benutzung der Toilette musste man mehrmals regelrecht „pumpen“, der Hebel der Toilettenspülung funktionierte nicht. - Der Wandspiegel war nur für sehr schlanke Personen nutzbar. Die Entfernung zur Schrankwand betrug ca. 50 cm. Trotz der dürftigen Ausstattung verlangte man eine Kaution von 200 Pfund, und zwar als Überweisung auf ein englisches Bankkonto, andere Möglichkeiten wurden nicht angeboten. Eine Auslandsüberweisung hätte pro „Weg“ etwa 25 € gekostet. Eine Woche nach der Abreise hatte man uns das Geld noch nicht erstattet. Auf Nachfrage bekamen wir erklärt, die mitgeteilten Kontodaten seien falsch gewesen. Man hatte uns allerdings nicht über die fehlgeschlagene Rückbuchung informiert. Seriöse Abwicklungen von Geldtransfers sehen anders aus. Als wir das Zimmer verließen, traten auch englische Gäste aus ihrem Zimmer. Sie sagten „never again, never again, never again!“ Offensichtlich erwarten auch heimische Gäste bessere Standards.
Please don’t stay there, read the bad reviews, other reviews I’m sure are made up
Payed £200 deposit I definitely shouldn’t of payed, it’s not been returned. It’s like staying in a prison. You are not allowed to breath in there, if you do you will have to pay 200 extra for the privilege. By looking at the other bad reviews I’m sure I will get bad feedback for leaving this review. Bullish tactics, Please Please DONT STAY HERE I use booking.com all the time and have never had any problems. They will make up problems after you leave the room to retain the deposit. Definitely don’t use towels or sleep on the bed incase you leave any marks on there cheap bedding etc. plus the room was freezing. It’s shocking it’s advertised on here.
Great location
Had to pay a £200 deposit , wasn’t made aware of this Didn’t have any bank details with me
NONE
We accept that we missed the deposit message, but what happened next was shockingly unreasonable. At 4 p.m. on arrival day we immediately offered to pay the £200 deposit by cash, card, or instant bank transfer. The property refused every method, told us not to come, and then kept the FULL PAYMENT (£264) and marked us as a “No Show”. (We were there! See the photo!) We are Level 3 Booking.com travellers and have never before been asked to pay a deposit by DIRECT BANK TRANSFER into a property’s account, outside the Booking.com system, with NO SECURE confirmation. The deposit request was sent only through the app (our contact preference is email). Rooms were still available that day, yet we were refused entry. They even told us that if it were a new booking on the day, they could have taken the deposit somehow, which made no sense), Even Booking.com intervened and told us the manager had agreed to accept the transfer, but the staff still refused when we called back. Please be aware: if you miss a single message, the property may refuse all reasonable solutions and still take your full payment.
Nothing
The fact that the room got cancelled on me cause of email to do with deposit deadline that I never received like I'm poor and couldn't afford to pay But could have booked the room again online for the same night
The location of the Lodge is excellent, 5 mins walk from the Train Station and centre of everything. We would definitely stay her again
The only thing that we would have liked was the shower. It was difficult to put it on and adjust the temperature, the taps were very tight and the shower tap also. But it worked and we did get a shower
Room very comfortable
Nothing all good
The location was excellent.
Talking to staff through intercom or phone, no face to face. No personal feeling about the place. Heating did not work properly and it was cold. I phoned to tell someone, who said it would kick in. It did for about 5 mins and radiator was cold at top and only warm at the bottom.Shower was a bit hit and miss.
No good words for this hotel. Booked the place for the location and reviews together with my colleague. Due to issues with the deposit I was not welcome in the hotel at arrival at 11pm. Late fee for late arrival of 15 pounds was even agreed. My colleague had to fix the toillet herself, while I had to book an alternative hotel. I would suggest booking to blacklist this hotel.
No good words for this hotel. Booked the place for the location and reviews together with my colleague. Due to issues with the deposit I was not welcome in the hotel at arrival at 11pm. Late fee for late arrival of 15 pounds was even agreed. My colleague had to fix the toillet herself, while I had to book an alternative hotel. I would suggest booking to blacklist this hotel.
Absolutely appalled with service from huddersfield central lodge.
After having to fond somewhere to stay last minute due to personal unfortunate events, I booked here to stay as it was the nearest place I could walk to in the rain with my suitcase. I was left at door and was asked for booking reference a pin security code I'd been given. The lady I was speaking to would not allow me access out of the rain, I was then asked did i get another email notifying for around £250 for damage deposit and if this wasn't sent after paying just short of £80 for the room I couldnt get in. I tried several times and was able to get into my emails but could not get into my online banking to transfer this damage deposit..the lady advised me to go to booking.com which I booked from and request a full refund and she said to mention the reasen that i couldnt access .y online banking. So I did this and booking.com tried contacting the place of stay as it was them not willing to give me a refund, neither did they offor a different day of stay or even if they said its non refundable and I would have gone and sorted my banking and returned when done so. Never have I been made to feel like this by anyone let alone someone who is offering their services. A man actually staying there was stood outside with me as he could see I was very upset, wet through and he was trying to get me to go in with him out of the rain. Thankyou to that man for showing kindness and care when I was going through a difficult time to start with. And Thanks for Absolutely nothing Huddersfield Lodge for making me feel more worse than when I didn't think that was eve possible. £80 charged....to be treated like dirt. !! 😢😢😢😢
Botched booking. Poor communication. Missed fon appointments, lied about fon logs. Blaming guest for their own failures. Worst experience ever. Guest was sent away although payment was completed. No advance notice of cancellation. Admin chaos.
Incapable management. Foul excuses. No delivery but breach of agreement. Shocking.
I like when the staff remain consistent and know how to provide good comfortable stays at the hotel.
I liked the area I was in, the room I stayed in, the size of it and the kindness and enthusiasm the staff provide.
Good location in town centre. Very clean room. Secure carpark
Room was a bit chilly despite radiator
You robbed my money and you wouldn’t give it back
You robbed my money you won’t give it back
Everything. Comfy bed, excellent staff and really close to the town centre
That I didn't stay longer
Clean room and comfy bed. Secure car park.
More than one coffee sachet in the room. Having to pay a £200 deposit. Although I understand why a deposit is necessary, that amount seems too high.
zal zeker weer verblijven
Feedback themes are sourced from guest reviews provided by our data provider.
What guests love
Areas to consider
Cleanliness
6.7/10Multiple complaints about dirty linen and unclean rooms.
Service
10/10Standard quality for this hotel tier, but issues reported with deposit handling.
Location
10/10Central location praised in multiple reviews.
Room Quality
6.7/10Small room with uncomfortable beds and inadequate furnishings.
Amenities
9.7/10Basic amenities provided, but not up to expectation based on description.
Value for Money
7.2/10High deposit and poor quality lead to a sense of low value.
Food and Beverage
10/10Standard quality for this hotel tier.
Overall Experience
7.7/10Overall stay was marred by deposit issues and room quality concerns.