Surrey Hills Boundary Sculpture
Surrey Hills Boundary Sculpture, Shere Road, Albury, GU4 8SE, United Kingdom- Sculpture
Compare nearby stays with similar location, guest experience, amenities, and class.
Luxurious Countryside Retreat
Free WiFi and Parking: Stay connected with complimentary WiFi and park with ease with our free on-site parking facilities.
Comfortable En Suite Rooms: Relax in our cozy rooms equipped with Freeview TV and enjoy stunning views from select rooms.
Perfect Wedding Venue: With a civil ceremony license and elegant function rooms, our hotel is the ideal setting for your special day.
Book now for an unforgettable stay at Manor House Hotel Guildford!
Check-in from
03:00 PM
Check-out by
11:00 AM
Parking
FREE
Children
Allowed
Pets
Not allowed
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Queen bed (151-180 cm wide)
Room details
25 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 1 guests
1 adults
Beds
Twin bed (90-130 cm wide)
Room details
25 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
2 Twin bed (90-130 cm wide)
Room details
25 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 3 guests
3 adults · 2 children
Beds
Twin bed (90-130 cm wide), Queen bed (151-180 cm wide)
Room details
25 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Queen bed (151-180 cm wide)
Room details
25 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Queen bed (151-180 cm wide)
Room details
25 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Queen bed (151-180 cm wide)
Room details
25 sqm
Garden View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Queen bed (151-180 cm wide)
Room details
25 sqm
In-room amenities
1 King Bed
Internet - Free WiFi
Entertainment - LCD television with digital channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker, electric kettle, and room service (limited hours)
Bathroom - Shower/tub combination, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Iron/ironing board and desk
Comfort - Air conditioning, daily housekeeping, and heating
Need to Know - Bed sheets not available
Non-Smoking
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults
Beds
King bed (151-180 cm wide)
In-room amenities
1 King Bed
Internet - Free WiFi
Entertainment - LCD television with digital channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker, electric kettle, and room service (limited hours)
Bathroom - Shower/tub combination, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Iron/ironing board and desk
Comfort - Air conditioning, daily housekeeping, and heating
Need to Know - Bed sheets not available
Non-Smoking
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults
Beds
King bed (151-180 cm wide)
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Queen bed (151-180 cm wide)
Room details
25 sqm
Garden View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Queen bed (151-180 cm wide)
Room details
25 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Queen bed (151-180 cm wide)
Room details
25 sqm
In-room amenities
1 King Bed
Overlooking the garden
Internet - Free WiFi
Entertainment - LCD television with digital channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker, electric kettle, and room service (limited hours)
Bathroom - Shower/tub combination, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Iron/ironing board and desk
Comfort - Air conditioning, daily housekeeping, and heating
Need to Know - Bed sheets not available
Non-Smoking
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults
Beds
King bed (151-180 cm wide)
Room details
Garden View
In-room amenities
1 King Bed
Features a private balcony/patio
Internet - Free WiFi
Entertainment - LCD television with digital channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker, electric kettle, and room service (limited hours)
Bathroom - Shower/tub combination, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Iron/ironing board and desk
Comfort - Air conditioning, daily housekeeping, and heating
Need to Know - Bed sheets not available
Non-Smoking
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
King bed (151-180 cm wide)
In-room amenities
1 King Bed and 1 Twin Trundle Bed
Internet - Free WiFi
Entertainment - LCD television with digital channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker, electric kettle, and room service (limited hours)
Bathroom - Shower/tub combination, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Iron/ironing board and desk
Comfort - Air conditioning, daily housekeeping, and heating
Need to Know - Bed sheets not available
Non-Smoking
Sleeps
Up to 3 guests
3 adults · 2 children
Beds
King bed (151-180 cm wide), Trundle bed (90-99 cm wide)
In-room amenities
Get answers about amenities, policies, and more — e.g. “Are pets allowed?” or “Is parking available?”
Provider-sourced guest reviews.
The grounds
The room, very bad smell, very old carpets, chipping paint, old and heavily used furniture and fabrics, poor facilities, no elevators, no air conditioning, poor customer service.
Everything was amazing
Everything was acceptable about room & breakfast.
There was a very noisy wedding reception taking place in the function room just across from our room. We complained to the reception staff, and were reluctantly moved to a new room. The reception manager was very unwilling to engage and left the complaints about the noise to be dealt with the receptionist (who did his best to accomodate us).The new room was marginally better, as it was one floor higher, but still more or less above the function room. The noise was still very noticeable in the new room but thankfully died down around midnight. We were waiting for the breakfast room to open at 8am, and chatting with other guests who also were unimpressed with the noise levels in their rooms. We paid for breakfast but didn't realise that it wasn't available until 8am, which was a little frustrating as an earlier breakfast would have been a nice option especially as we had to travel to Gatwick to catch a flight. We had also booked this hotel because it had a hot tub and pool, however, they shut at 8pm which we think is very early for such a hotel that calls itself "manor house and spa" and as such we didn't make use of the facilities, especially as we had to waste time moving rooms.
Cosy room Bathroom was cramped
Steam room wasn’t working Changing rooms cubicles were tired and in need of replacement.
Kettle was disgusting couldn’t get the shower to work the whole place needs a good refurb and clean
Everything
Lovely gardens
I’m extremely disappointed with how Guildford Manor Hotel & Spa handled my £50 room deposit. I was charged a £50 deposit over a month ago and was told at check-out that it would be returned that same afternoon. It wasn’t. After a week, I called the hotel but couldn’t get through. I tried again and was eventually told that the refund should come through that week. It never did. I then emailed the hotel twice and received no response. Over a month after my stay, I called again to chase the money. The lady at reception simply said that I “probably had damages in my room.” I can guarantee that I did not cause any damage whatsoever. I stayed in the room, slept there, and left it in the condition I found it. I asked for clarification, but instead of providing any evidence of damage or explaining why my deposit had been withheld, I was told that I would receive a call back or an email. Neither happened. At this point, the hotel has kept my £50 without providing an explanation, despite multiple phone calls and two unanswered emails. The money itself isn’t the main issue — it’s the lack of communication, the failure to return the deposit as promised, and the completely unsubstantiated suggestion that I caused damage. If the hotel is going to withhold a deposit, I would expect them to be able to tell me exactly what the alleged damage was and provide evidence of it. Very poor customer service and extremely frustrating to have to repeatedly chase this.
Location was great. First impressions on walking into reception were amazing, very clean and looked high class
When we got to our room at approx 16:30 it hadnt been cleaned, bin was full, basin in toilet dirty, and bedding hadnt been changed. Very frustrating. Why are the rooms not checked after cleaning? Basic errors and didnt meet the expectations on arrival. Tea tray, very basic. Again when you stay in a place like this, you expect better standards. Poor tea and coffee selection, no welcome pack which should have information on things like Fire Evacuation, emergency contact information. After looking at the small signage on the door about exit routes, which I struggled to read, I walked the route. Again very poor if it was dark and smoke filled, very subjective!! From a Health & Safety perspective, very poor ( yes I have H&S qualifications) and experience in health, hygiene to CQC standard so am going to be critical. If your staff and guests dont feel safe, everything else is irrelevant. Also I havent received the £100 pre payment, which I was informed would be sometime after 13:00 once the room had been checked, and all was ok
Pool, gardens
Dated and tired decor, staircases & corridors not very clean and not cleaned in the 3 days I stayed there - dirty glasses left in the corridor, dead insects on the stairs not cleaned up in 3 days. Too many stairs and no lifts, no offer of help with bags. New staff unfamiliar with hotel facilities and procedures. Bathroom was cleaned every day and (poor quality) towels replaced, even though not needed, but bed not made and dirty coffee cups not replaced or washed, bin not emptied. Breakfast expensive (£15) but only full breakfast option available, no buffet or more limited option available.
The grounds were good
Dirty staircase. Bar closed at 9.45 and we were told to leave. Our room was only half cleaned. Bed not made up.
This is my regular hotel that says it all.
I'm disabled so walking up and down the stairs does alot to my body.Ground floor would be better .
The spa and room was amazing
Having to leave !!!
The hotel is situated in a quiet countryside location with attractive extensive outside gardens. It has attractive public / function areas. The restaurant is attractive and the breakfast was good.
Clearly it can only have been rated 4-star for short-stay spa and (wedding) functions. It has no lift (but three floors) and neither of the two car parks has any exterior / security lighting, given their location. We had a snack in the restaurant on arrival first evening but a further meal was not of a good standard. The hotel had not responded to my email prior to arrival of their gluten-free restaurant provision for our daughter who is a celiac and did not inspire confidence in situ. The room was unsatisfactory for a number of reasons: 1. Uncomfortable bed 2. high single opening window inaccessible safely. 3. No sign of any cleaning staff during stay and room seemingly only 'serviced' once in 4 days. 4. Other than a 'standard' 'Fire Action' sticker on back of door, no other hotel information provided in the room. 5. Bathroom: - Shower cubicle screen not large enough to prevent water spillage onto floor, with no safety handrail on smooth, wet slippery floor. - Towels (hand and bath) both inadequate, too small and poor quality, with all wet towels taken to reception after three days to be changed. - No liquid soap provided for shower or washbasin use.
Location
The stuff just open without knocking Carpet dirty Blankets dirty
Lovely pool. Room and bathroom were clean
Noisy air exchange/fan in room which woke us up every hour. View from room of a wall covered in plastic leaves and an unkempt shed door. No mobile signal in room
Spa pool and indoor and outdoor Jacuzzis. Nice seating area outside with lots of tubs of well maintained flowers. Gardens lovely. Room nice view . Food good. Pleasant staff.
Changing room for pool could do with update. There was a flood on floor but expect it will be fixed.
The outdoor jacuzzi was great.
The indoir pool area in need of renavation
Good size family room, good location on the north downs way.
Tired decor, terrible service and food in the restaurant
Good
Nice stuff, Nice pool view from window
First room had no garden or pool view only view of roof roof. Asked to move to a different room with a view of the pool and garden that what we book from. Wasn't told they was having a wedding there. Music very very loud until midnight and people up until about 3am in the morning. No control over a.c at night as hotel turn in off at night. Bedding very dirty Shower screen to small so water goes all over the floor. You can hear people in room next door like they are in the same room. Door to room had about a inch gap as the bottom. Shower when hot and cold. Hotel room looking very tired
The gym and poolside facilities were good, with outdoor option. Our room was quite impressive with a 4 poster bed. Comfy bed, was out like a light. Place was generally clean, quirky and the staff were friendly. Proximity to walks and Guildford town. Castle and Surrey Hills worth seeing.
Bedroom was a weird layout. Bathroom was down 2 steps. Getting to the room was onerous with luggage. Poolside changing was weird being unisex, could do with more lockers and some notification that you needed pound coins. Steam room was not working best during our visit. Smelling someone smoking hashish outside our room wasn't great. Not sure if guest or staff.
hotel was nice and parking good
breakfast shut to early and also everyone expected to pay £50 deposit each after we had spent nearly £1000 on rooms in advance, and as 2 of rparty were late evening arriving the hotel recepionist would nt let the guys come inhotel with out paying £50 each although their rooms were fully paid in advance....very bad form when my worked were tired from working
The swimming pool is lovely , the sauna and jacuzzi lovely too ..gym is great. Bed was comfy
3 of us staying , only left 3 teabags & 3 coffee sachets and only 5 teeny milk pods . Not enough.. no netflicks on Tv. Glass of wine £13!! Extortionate! Food expensive , not great either
Everything
N/A
Incredible view outside and in. We had a good family time.
Food,staff,room.
Food and staff were great, especially a shout out to Mo and his team in the restaurant. Facilities were good, although we didn’t get a chance to use them on this occasion. Location is great, nice and peaceful.
Starting to look tired in places, maybe renovating rooms and dining area, plus halls may help. High traffic customer turnover starting to tell.
Everything
Nothing
Food was excellent… pool spa was great
Need me refreshing up a bit painting ect
Beautiful property and estate in an very scenic location. Conveniet proximity to Guildford.
Unfortunately, our stay at this hotel was extremely disappointing from beginning to end, and I would strongly advise others to think twice before booking. Our room had a terrible smell when we arrived. As the hotel appeared to be fairly empty, we asked if we could be moved to another room. We were told someone would get back to us, but nobody ever did. More concerning than the room itself was the attitude of the staff. We found them generally rude, unwelcoming and unhelpful. Our experiences with housekeeping and room service ranged from poor to completely unacceptable. On one occasion, a member of staff essentially pushed past me into the room after I had specifically asked them to come back in 20 minutes. On another occasion, our room simply wasn’t cleaned at all. We tried the breakfast once. It was ridiculously overpriced for what was offered, with a poor selection and disappointing quality. We didn’t bother returning. My wife’s experience at the spa was equally bad. The therapist was around 30 minutes late for the appointment, with no advance warning or communication. Rather than apologising properly, staff then attempted to blame the communication failure on my wife. The massage itself was very poor, made even more uncomfortable by the therapist having very long nails — hardly what you expect during a professional massage. Any one of these issues might have been forgivable if handled professionally. What made the stay particularly unpleasant was the combination of problems and the apparent lack of interest from staff in resolving them. Hotels don’t have to be perfect, and things inevitably go wrong occasionally. What matters is how they respond when they do. In our experience, this hotel failed badly on both service and basic hospitality. We certainly would not return and, based on our experience, I would strongly recommend looking elsewhere.
Locația e foarte frumoasa
Miroase a picioare nespălate in camera
Staff were friendly, bed was comfortable and room was quiet. Food was also good and very quick service. Nice spa
Children in the spa.
The setting and grounds
The room I booked from the photo on booking.com had a two window view across the gardens. The room I was given was dark, one window and a poor view.
I liked it was close to home and I saw it had a pool.
The staff were rude, they had no authority to do anything and were unreliable.
Spa facilities, room , view and restaurant waiter on both nights was fantastic
Changing room is dated. Reception staff sometimes hard to contact
We really enjoyed the pool, hot tub, and outdoor vitality pool.
It was a bit disapointing as we left something in the room ad they never got back to us. We called several times and each time they told us that they would get back to us but no one ever did. The food could also be improved.
Location, friendly and helpful staff, convenience of the pool and jacuzzi being open until 10pm, good breakfast and clean rooms. Plenty of outdoor space to walk around or sit on terrace enjoying the sun
Could have improved on just tiny details (eg providing a few more packets of biscuits in the room) and ensuring stocked up each day...
Beautiful grounds , nice pool/gym area
The receptionist wasn’t overly friendly at check in , we didn’t feel welcome and didn’t feel like we could ask anything. Also would have liked to know in advance that there was a wedding on the same weekend rather than the day of. Usually wouldn’t care but travelling with a toddler, the music kept her awake
Staff - locations - room
Shower over bath is outdated
hotel restaurant, room etc
our spa experience was not so good
Nice location, generally nice and quiet, room was ok and had air conditioning
There were lots of cobwebs around our window and on the multiple plants in dining room. In the pool we were unable to enjoy our swim as a group of 2 adults and 2 children were throwing a ball across the pool which nearly struck us multiple times, however staff allowed this to continue. Outside there were multiple used glasses and items of rubbish near seating areas and outside pool which were left there most the day, you could even see this on our morning stroll of the grounds including ashtrays still full. We were surprised that we were unable to get a gluten free roll with the beef burger option meal, and was told it would just be 2 slices of GF bread. Having gluten free rolls on site is not a difficult thing to have. Bed was comfy however pillows were quite flat requiring folding to get some purchase.
Lovely hotel relaxing atmosphere friendly staff
No air conditioning in room but fan was ok
The hotel gardens were beautiful, such a gorgeous setting. The spa was spotlessly clean and really quiet. Absolutely fantastic
Couldn't fault it
Nice layout and the food was nice
The shower was dirty and the hotel itself needs a huge update it’s not modern at all, need paint work and just a modernised revamp
It was very close to silent pool gin distilleries where we were going to a party.
There was a long wait to check in at reception on arrival. The a/c in the room was not working and it was a very hot and unpleasant. They did put in a standing fan but it was too small to ventilate a room of that size. The waste bin in the bathroom had not been emptied and contained used period products from the previous guest’s stay. The spa and gym facilities were nice but there were no towels available at the spa. Overall, there were very few staff around.
Lovely location & grounds and spa & pool, Good value
The breakfast was very good a large choise to choose from.
The air condition machine was quite loud in the night
Nothing it was very misleading
My experience here wasn’t a positive one, I’m afraid to say, which genuinely makes me sad, as we travelled as a family for work and were also looking forward to tying in the trip with seeing some friends. Sadly, the hotel experience really spoilt what should have been an enjoyable stay. From the moment we arrived, we were met with an atmosphere that felt quite hostile and unwelcoming, with negative vibes from some of the staff. Each day seemed to bring a queue of unhappy guests raising complaints or concerns. One recurring theme I heard from staff was, *“You need to take this up with the booking agent.”* I completely understand that hotels have certain responsibilities and that booking agents may need to deal with some issues, but hearing this repeatedly left me feeling that guests weren’t really being listened to or taken ownership of. Unfortunately, the condition and cleanliness of the hotel also fell well below what I would expect. The rooms felt tired, and some areas were quite dirty. The stairs at the entrance looked as though they hadn’t been hoovered for quite some time, which was one of the first things we noticed when arriving. We were particularly disappointed with the spa facilities. They also looked tired and, in places, didn’t appear particularly clean. I personally didn’t feel comfortable venturing into the hot tub because of this. For a hotel promoting spa facilities as part of the guest experience, I expected a much higher standard of cleanliness and care. Overall, the whole experience felt quite unloved. Rather than feeling like that genuinely wanted guests to have a good experience and leave wanting to return, it unfortunately felt more like a place focused on making money from visitors. I really don’t enjoy leaving negative reviews, and I appreciate that hotels can have difficult days and unhappy guests.
Location
Very clean, food was very good
Excellent as always! Our second stay and we will definitely be back! Very comfortable hotel with great facilities
Not a thing
The outside pool
The room was not as described with a view of the service area and work vehicles. Not as advertised with garden or pool view. Their was no easy chairs as shown in photos. We changed room as were not happy with original room and this was actually no better except had one chair. The room was shabby wallpaper peeling, chipped paintwork, shower tray chipped, window dirty with cobwebs, blind broken. The bedspread was frayed and old. There was only one small soap and one shampoo and conditioner. There was no towelling robe for the spa in the room and a cost of £7 per robe was required this was not refundable on return. The robes were old and thin with frayed and stitching coming undone. On reporting our issues we were told the Manager would contact us before 6.30 i told receptionist we would be at the pool /spa and to call my mobile no. When we went to reception at 6.45 we had not had a call and were told the Manager had called our room and gone to our room. The Manager came to speak with us but was unhelpful and asked what we wanted and intimated we wanted some sort of compensation she was not helpful or empathic. Was extremely brusque and my husband stated the stay was a treat for me after recent surgery, the manager just said 'i have had recent surgery too' at this point i felt upset and did not want to continue so i asked if she would speak with us the next day . We had a two night stay. The next day despite again asking at reception we did not get a call. As we left the receptionist assured us we would receive a call which we did not . The stairs were also very dirty ,, worn carpets and stair rails there was no bath mat in the shower room which could have been potentially a safety concern especially as i was receovering from knee surgery. We are now trying a charge back through the bank. On contacting Hotel . com they were helpful and understanding but again they were unable to get a response from the hotel after three attempts.
Very friendly staff. We had a nice room with a nice shower room. The hotel has a very nice outdoor area with a pool and sunbeds as well as indoor pool and jacuzzi. Good english breakfast with excellent coffee.
The bed was very small. Beds in hotels are usually wider.
Room
I was charged twice, haven't received refund yet
Bra frukost. Bra meny.
AC fungerade inte trots att vi påpekade detta tre gånger och de skulle åtgärdas. Vi erbjöds inget annat rum eller avdrag på kostnaden. Använde en fläkt som stod på rummet, så troligtvis visste de om problemet. Mycket varmt ute och även inne.
We always come back. From other stays, the manor is still the one to go back to!
It has everything you could want. From a great Spa experience, with the brilliant outdoor hydro pool. And now you can have snacks, and drinks bought to you!!
Lovely surrounding gardens and was fun to have a pool. Bed was comfortable and room had air con. Room was clean and had a lovely view. Breakfast was great.
Treatments were very expensive so didn’t end up booking, although they did have 30% off all treatments which I suppose is probably because nobody was booking them. Also didn’t like that treatments are more expensive on a weekend for no reason. Staff at dinner weren’t great. Our server never made eye contact with us and was scanning the restaurant the entire time. He gave a lot of attention to the single ladies though. He also must have been the manager as he was barking orders at the bar staff and wasn’t very pleasant to them at all. It seemed all he cared about was getting the food out REALLY quickly - all the food came out within minutes of us finishing the previous course, which is fine but customer service fell short. The table behind us also received the wrong bill with random items added. We received the right bill, and then that was taken away and we were given the same bill, but with a random cheesecake added on. We were wondering if they were adding things and hoping nobody would notice. The bar staff were lovely, receptionist was nice but also didn’t really seem to be happy in such a front facing role, didn’t smile and feel welcoming, she looked a bit overwhelmed or disinterested.
Spa facilities were basic but good, room was clean. Evening restaurant staff were very friendly and welcoming.
Reception staff were not accommodating, putting us on the third floor with no lift when 20 weeks pregnant and refusing to move to a more appropriate room when one was available. Lampshade, plug socket and USB did not work in bedroom. Shower was weak. Breakfast was very disappointing especially for the price, definitely not worth it.
Lovely garden. Good food. Bottle of water provided.
I think they need a visit from the Alex Polizzi. They are stuck in a rule based system with no flexibility and the customer feels a nuisance. There was a problem checking in as the system wasn't working. They tried to blame booking.com (but info didn't tally). Eventually, while receptionist sat and I stood, they managed to take payment for the room but not the deposit. Then I was told they would "let me" go to my room anyway. I was trying to be patient despite being in pain (which I did tell them about) but being "allowed" to go to the room I had paid for was so rude! The restaurant manager was also brusque. Something is not right! The bedroom was noisy.... other people's plumbing, snoring, TV til 2am and at 6.45 someone was yelling so loud and hitting something so hard the room shook (I know that isn't their fault but it all added to an uncomfortable stay). The towels were old and small and the do not disturb sign blocked the door being locked so I was worried staff would come in.
Beautiful location, loved the spa and outside sunbathing area. Quiet rooms, 10/10 for the meal in the restaurant
Bed mattress very firm found it a bit uncomfortable but others might like a firm mattress
The staff were polite and welcoming especially Chloe she was brilliant so helpful, very welcoming and mad us feel special. It was a beautiful hotel and the facilities were great.
On our second day and they did not have the self service breakfast it was by order and we were just given the breakfast even if we wanted it or not, it would have been nice to be asked.
Lovely hotel surrounded by lovely scenery
N/A
Friendly, helpful and welcoming receptionist - intuitive which is unusual these days. Room quirky, open door and you go down a stairs to the bed and ensuite-bathroom. Did not use spa, we used hotel as stop over. Restaurant very good. Entrance to hotel beautiful, lots of flowers growing outside, really pretty.
Steps down to bedroom. It would be useful to indicate on booking form access issue. It was likely to be the only room with this type of access.
The bar and outdoor areas. The bar and restaurant staff were fabulous
Reception staff in the main were rude. As a group booking 5/6 rooms had issues with the plumbing. If it wasn’t a toilet continual running water it was a plug hole that wasn’t draining at all. The hot water was cold for some. The baths wouldn’t run. The shower units were broken. The towels were tired. Some days the rooms were cleaned. Others not but there would be towels on the bed. Or the bed made but towels left on the floor. Cups sometimes cleaned. Some days not. Having to pay to use a towel robe as a hotel guest for the spa was awful. There were issues with one room where the room was not ready by 2200 on day of arrival. Then being made to move rooms after 2 days due to a double booking. The bar closed for drinks at inconsistent hours and normally around 10pm.
Visiting family and hotel was in a good location for this. Pool and gardens were lovely. Receptionist always tried to be helpful.
Our room did not get cleaned particularly well...bed unmade, dirty towels left, hospitality tray of tea/coffee left unfilled and behind some furniture noticeably in need of cleaning.Also room was opposite wedding venue so quite loud during late evening...we did not expect this.
Location and gardens
The room we had was a loft room with an enormous bed that took up almost the entire room. Awkward to move around it. Sauna wasn’t working. Drinks are extortionate and food was awful
The location is beautiful, direct view of the gardens from my bed. A very relaxed feel, although the spa can be used by members they were all extremely friendly. Friendly staff
It’s an old building so the walls are thin, could hear every details being spoken next door. Some areas are tired and in need of repair but everything was clean.
Gorgeous grounds and stunning gardens. Rooms clean and comfortable. Tasty breakfast.
The staff were not very professional. We called to see if we could check in early as we were going to a wedding nearby and needed somewhere to change and spoke to a very helpful lady who said we would be prioritized. But when we arrived they said no room would be available until 1 so we changed in the toilets. We then left and the hotel called us in the evening asking when we were checking in. We explained we were at a wedding which we had told them earlier and would be there before midnight. When we did check in the guy seemed put out by us being there, gave us the wrong paperwork and kept forgetting to give us a key. Checking out they didn’t seem bothered either.
Beautiful, relaxed and well laid out
The big plants in the restaurant as were in the way
gardens and food
The room was quite small, no air conditioning and the window had no facility to open fully. No water in room and the towels were worn
last minute availability
Staff not particularly helpful
It was very beautiful and the location and grounds were stunning and staff very friendly
the plumbing in our bathroom was problematic with cold water cutting out even after maintenance looked at it.
The hotel seemed ok to start with until there was the electricity cut at 10pm. Not only that but there was also no water.
There was no staff at hand to give any information about what happened or even to offer water bottles. The reception appeared completely unstaffed. We decided to leave at 7.30am the following morning and the only person on duty was a cleaner. No refund of the room rate was offered after a very worrying night, where we hardly slept and couldn’t see anything, had hardly any water left and couldn’t wash or flush the toilet. A quite unacceptable situation.
Van de buitenkant ziet het er prachtig uit, met name de tuinen.
De bedden zijn te klein. Zeker de eenpersoonbedden zijn alleen voor zeer kleine mensen. Daarnaast hadden wij de zolderkamers. Die waren absoluut niet de prijs waard die wordt gevraagd. Direct aan einde bed schuine muren waardoor je eigenlijk niet in de kamer kunt staan. Het ontbijt was bijzonder matig en de service liet ook te wensen over. Zou hier niet nog een keer boeken en liever verder rijden voor iets anders
gym
room, room aircon hardly works and they never bothered to do anything , bar and restaurant, reception with zero help , room wasnt cleaned every day ..maybe 3 or 4 times in a week,
Beautiful gardens and decor in the restaurant. The rooms varied from excellent to average. I booked 6 rooms in total for a family gathering and it was a bit pot luck as to whether the rooms were very nice with air con or not. There were a few cobwebs but none of the rooms were dirty. One of our family rooms was directly above the function room where the music was played quite loudly and we had to ask to move as the children could not sleep. The move was accommodated but why put guests who were not part of the wedding party in such a room? A lovely pool which we enjoyed and plenty of parking.
The staff seemed to be largely inexperienced and struggling. Definitely a bit thin on the ground and disappeared quickly when we needed serving. There’s a small bar in the restaurant with seating inside and outside.
All good except room was very hot. But asked and a very noisy fan was provided so bit better
The owner lady just walked in our room with out knocking and my daughter was not dressed to ask if we had checked in that day we hadn’t we checked in day before. Wasn’t comfortable with her just walking in are room though
Clean, good decor , well maintained, room good size and bathroom with lovely big bath. Restaurant was good for dinner and breakfast.
Bedroom was really hot , a/c didn’t seem to work , my room didn’t have a working tv unfortunately.
La posizione, comoda ma decentrata dalla città
Pessimo servizio alle stanze: cassaforte non funzionante, ho chiesto tutte le mattine e non mi hanno sistemato il problema. Pulizia: il penultimo giorno si sono dimenticate di mettere shampoo e sapone, poi glie l’ho fatto presente e per rappresaglia il giorno dopo mi hanno lasciato la stanza con il letto disfatto e senza pulizie. Siamo al limite della denuncia.
Its location.
Decor in very poor state, showing clear signs of lack of attention.
Rooms were attractive and clean. Air conditioning was very helpful and welcome during the heatwave. Buffet breakfast was generous. Spa colleagues were very pleasant, and treatments were very relaxing. The pool area was clean and very inviting. The restaurant features delicious Persian dishes.
Spa facilities and restaurant food
Bedroom was inadequate, service was poor
Restaurant dinner was very good. The outdoor spa pool area was fantastic and enjoyable in the summer. Staff were nice. The setting around the hotel was beautiful.
The breakfast was a bit average for the price. My wife said the inside swimming pool was very small and could only fit 3 people swimming at once. She also told me the changing rooms were unisex and although they had cubicles, that did feel a bit strange to her. The indoor swimming area and changing rooms needed a bit of TLC. I heard that some rooms had air con and were renovated/modernised, but the room I had was outdated and too hot in the summer without air con. Staff were friendly and did give extra free water bottles due to the heat however, at one point in going to reception to ring the bell for attention but after 15 mins, I gave up seeking attention which was rather disappointing.
Nothing I don’t even stay the night and I did not get my £200 deposit back
Nothing I don’t even stay the night and I did not get my £200 deposit back
Loved the outdoor jacuzzi and indoor pool. Room was a great size with balcony and air-con.
The shower looks great but when you use it the plastic shield between the shower and the rest of the bathroom isn't long enough so you can't use the main part of the shower or else it leaks all over the bathroom floor!
The friendly welcome and how stunning the entrance, gardens and vitality pool area is.
Spa
Room’s carpet needs cleaning.
Beautiful garden view and a water fountain the grand majestic architecture inside with marble and beautiful designs and fine touches. Sauna and out door warm Jacuzzi facing the fields and trees for a love sunrise
Breakfast was too pricey
Lovely setting
Everything, the gardens were so lovely, the swimming pool and hot tub were so nice and comfortable, the room was amazing and so clean, beds were really comfortable! It's at the perfect distance to visit both Birdworld and Chessington park.
I can't say I disliked anything since it was better than expected.
The look, the facilities, the restaurant and the staff.
The bed was too small and the aircon was next to useless. Even with the aircon on maximum, it didn’t work enough to counter the heat on the top floor. So being hot in a small overly firm bed, meant a very bad nights sleep. Which was a shame because everything else had been great. A special notice of the barman/restaurant manager? He was very professional and attentive. Oh and just to add, the indoor hot tub has a very dangerous handrail, it’s literally hanging out of the ground.
Excellent breakfast in lovely dining room One thing to make it perfect, change the chairs, they are a little low to suit the table height, not comfortable
Bathroom a little small, gap between toilet, sink and shower too narrow but functional
Love this place Many many stays Food is nice rooms clean
Nothing
Clean, beautiful surroundings and the room was comfortable with a peaceful viewing. Jay and Nushein both an asset to the team and hotel. Overall my stay was very positive.
Breakfast good be better, but the customer service was excellent.
Food staff pool terrace
Room facilities no soap toilet brush water
Location and facilities
Receptionist disappeared to work in the restaurant so no-one around for a while at 20:30 ish
Beautiful location and gardens
Dirty inside. Rooms were ok. Entrance hall and stair way with vast amounts of debris and dead insects. Office behind reception was cluttered and untidy. Service was extremely poor. No one on reception most of the time resulting in long waits at the desk. Staff would ignore you if you waiting. I was there for a wedding and the bar in use for the day had an issue with the pipes, apparently had been cleaned, then broken and were waiting on an engineer. The wedding party were all over the place to purchase drinks. On more than one occasion there was no one at the bar to serve and would have to wait up to 15 minutes for a team member to appear. Service throughout the day and night remained much the same. Team members not in uniforms resulting in a very unprofessional look bearing in mind it was a formal occasion!
I like this place, especially the spa facilities and the grounds
Facilities Could do with do with some renovation but not a major problem
Beautiful grounds, room was lovely and the facilities were great.
Beautiful building and grounds, nice health suite. Air conditioning was appreciated while it was on though i understand from others it wasnt in every room.
Stairs everywhere. We didnt explicitly ask for an accessible room true, but didnt expect a hotel of this level to have no consideration for disabilities. 3 sets of stairs to the reception alone. Other venues mention not having lifts, I think this venue should seriously consider redrafting their description. Also reception failed to tell as at check in anything about breakfast which resulted in us missing it as kitchen closes at 9am (and we went for a swim first).
The usual staples,, would have been nice to have sweet pastries
As above
The surroundings and spa
The view from my window
It was ok, I did ask for an upgraded room as my originally room was unbearable with the heat. My upgraded room was nice and spacious with air con
It wasn’t the hotels fault but the walls are extremely thin, the couple next door were very vocal at multiple times throughout the night!!!! I had a very important meeting the following morning and needless to say I didn’t get much sleep
Feedback themes are sourced from guest reviews provided by our data provider.
What guests love
Areas to consider
Cleanliness
5.85/10Multiple reviews highlighted dirty conditions and poor maintenance.
Service
8.81/10Staff were noted to be helpful, although service could be improved during breakfast.
Location
9.35/10The location was frequently praised in several reviews.
Room Quality
6.81/10Rooms were mentioned as needing care and having issues with heating and cleanliness.
Amenities
8.33/10Spa and certain facilities were well-received despite some complaints.
Value for Money
8.29/10Some found the price reasonable considering the facilities, while others disagreed.
Food and Beverage
5.85/10Food quality was mentioned negatively in multiple reviews.
Overall Experience
8.31/10The overall experience was mixed, with some positive aspects but significant drawbacks.