Sergeants Memorial
Sergeants Memorial, Cathedral Street, St. John's, NL A1C 3Y7, Canada- Memorial
Compare nearby stays with similar location, guest experience, amenities, and class.
Indulge in Comfort and Convenience
Discover a smoke-free inn featuring 5 uniquely decorated guestrooms with memory foam beds and deep soaking bathtubs. Stay connected with complimentary Wi-Fi and enjoy cable programming for entertainment.
Convenient Services
Benefit from express check-in, express check-out, and dry cleaning/laundry services. Enjoy free self-parking and nearby recreational activities like hiking and mountain biking.
Centrally Located
Perfectly situated in Downtown St. John's, steps away from Basilica Cathedral of St. John the Baptist and minutes from The Rooms. Explore nearby attractions like Mile One Centre and Port of St. John's.
Book your stay at Abba Boutique Inn for a memorable experience in St. John's!
Check-in from
03:00 PM
Check-out by
11:00 AM
Children
Not allowed
Pets
Not allowed
1 King Bed
300 sq feet
Internet - Free WiFi
Entertainment - HDTV with premium channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker, electric kettle, toaster, and dining table
Sleep - Memory foam bed, premium bedding, a pillow menu, blackout drapes/curtains, and bed sheets
Bathroom - Private bathroom, bathtub or shower (deep soaking bathtub available in some rooms)
Practical - Desk, phone, and iron/ironing board (on request)
Comfort - Air conditioning and climate-controlled heating
Need to Know - Housekeeping on request
Non-Smoking
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults
Beds
King bed (151-180 cm wide)
Room details
28 m2
In-room amenities
1 Queen Bed
226-sq-foot room with city views
Internet - Free WiFi
Entertainment - HDTV with premium channels
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker, electric kettle, toaster, and dining table
Sleep - Memory foam bed, premium bedding, a pillow menu, blackout drapes/curtains, and bed sheets
Bathroom - Private bathroom, bathtub or shower (deep soaking bathtub available in some rooms)
Practical - Desk, phone, and iron/ironing board (on request)
Comfort - Air conditioning and climate-controlled heating
Need to Know - Housekeeping on request
Non-Smoking
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults
Beds
Queen Bed (150-160 cm wide)
Room details
21 m2
City View
In-room amenities
Pets not allowed
No rollaway/extra beds available
Contactless check-out is available
No elevators
Professional property host/manager
Contactless check-in is available
No cribs (infant beds) available
Get answers about amenities, policies, and more — e.g. “Are pets allowed?” or “Is parking available?”
Provider-sourced guest reviews.
Advertised as B&B! No breakfast at all. Coffee and tea in room but no kettle or coffee pot. Bed was comfortable, room was stuffy as the window couldn’t be opened. Parking was terrible. Room was comfortable but we were very disappointed about having no breakfast. False advertising as not a B&B
Good location, close to downtown.Poor climate control. Parking a bit of a challenge ( no guarantee).
This is a nice location and a nice place to stay. The rooms are small but OK for most situations. Easy walking distance to town, but there are hills to negotiate, up & down.We would stay there again! I was disappointed that they discontinued breakfast. It was one of the reasons I booked ABBA. Did not know it was cancelled until we got there. That was disappointing. Bedside lighting is not adequate.
Very clean large room, shops nearby, reasonable rates.
Unfortunately, we did not feel that safe in the area immediately outside the residence. That is not a problem caused by the owner, just circumstance. It is also a lot of stairs, if you have limited mobility, you really should look elsewhere. Parking can be a problem as it is only 2 hour parking, 9-5, Mon-Fri. But, it is close to downtown and walking distance ( straight up and straight down) to the waterfront area.
The room was clean with small refrigerator, with an air conditioner, very quiet building. Very comfortable bed. Close to downtown, restaurants, pubs, an amenities.
A really good property. There is street parking available. Make sure you check the signs to ensure your timing is good.
It’s a three star property. It can be noisy, I used my bathroom fan every night to deal with the noise. It is centrally located, but be prepared to walk some steep hills. There are bakeries in the area that are fantastic ! Stella’s is nice for dinner. It is a quaint spot. I never heard back when I sent concerns to the numbers they provided. It was perfect for me. Well priced, central and very clean.
Did not see any staff. One morning they did not clean my room. Room was great! Awesome view of the harbour! Great location.
Clean and within walking distance of downtown.
Amazing spot, a few blocks from everything in the heart of St john's. Room was a great size all the core essentials. Getting towel replaced/refreshed was a pain and the window shaker air conditioner didn't work (other than as a fan), but it was still worth it and would still recommend. Just a note that the building is three stories and is older, so the stairs and floor do creek. Parking in the hearth of St. Johns is extremely difficult as it is so the parking map that they give is extremely helpful.
Loved this place. So cute and homey. Super close to everything. We did not have access to a car so we walked everywhere including downtown, our hikes like deadman’s bay path and Signal hill, and also walked to Quidi Vidi. Also bed was super comfortable! Slept so good every night.
I enjoyed the character and location. However, there was an odd sort of mothball odour. The TV didn’t work. I texted the number provided but didn’t hear back for entire stay.
The picture on Expedia shows a fireplace in the room and a view. We had neither. Disappointing.
Parking was fine but the map you provide needs to be clearer. It shows parking past the steps of the park which has a no stopping sign. Never saw anybody park there. We parked on the other side of the street because the map confused us.
It was a safe and quiet space to stay while away from your regular busy city.
There was an overbearing smell of mothballs in our room and we found two on the floor. Their online photographs implied a breakfast was supplied but there was nothing. Walking up to the third floor was difficult.
Room shown in ad was not the room I recieved. Pic had a fireplace. Old furniture. No kettle for coffee or tea that was supplied.
Our experience here was during Canada Summer Games.Our room had AC,which we appreciated due to the hot weather.Very lovely room and bath. Absolutely empty "breakfast room",not even a water source. Because of heat,I walked barefoot throughout room.My feet were pitch black so guess floors were not washed in quite some time.No personal contact with a soul.
Nice place right in the middle of the city. Walking distance from everything. Definitely recommend this place.
Lovely clean hotel, convenient to St John attractions
Super clean. Comfy bed and pillows hot shower great pressure … Nice towels and linens. You should Mention I. You add that there is no continental breakfast at all ….as in nothing no coffee pods zip …but there is a great little coffee shop right around the corner Postmasters
Good location for touring around St Johns.
Conveniently located and good value!
We were pleasantly surprised to find out how conveniently placed the property was. The rooms were clean but some furniture was rather tired and cushions were grubby. We had a top and bottom sheet and a duvet but the duvet had no cover so we hoped it was washed between guests.
Never had a response for one issue Never had a response for questions E-mail sent Phone made
Donna and Bruce were very welcoming. Made a great recommendation for dinner. We had a wonderful breakfast.
Very good location, room was well kept and had a great view. Parking was a little inconvenient but not terrible.
We had a great stay in this lovely older building with lots of charm and character. The front room offered a partial view of the harbor—just a bit of pruning and it would be absolutely stunning. The space was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and we really appreciated the simple self check-in process. Staff were quick to respond via text, which made everything easy. There’s plenty of free street parking, and the location is convenient—just a short walk (uphill on the way back) from shops and restaurants downtown. While a Keurig-style coffee maker would be a nice touch, having the mini fridge was definitely appreciated. One note: there’s a park about a block away where we noticed some vagrant activity. Walking by felt a bit uncomfortable on a couple of occasions, but it didn’t impact our overall experience. Overall, a cozy, well-kept spot that made for a great visit! We loved Newfoundland!
Unique quiet affordable clean
don't know who the owners were. Would have liked to hear or meet someone. needed assistance with tv operation
Lovely room in a quiet area, nice coupe take care of the place and super clean nice room
Very nice view
We liked the outward appearance. First impression was fine. But inside, there were disappointments - small fridge was sitting on the floor so more difficult to access, no place to put the luggage. We were only there for two nights so didn’t want to unpack (so we didn’t use the cupboard), the bathroom was tight, parking instructions were not clear, the bed was fine (not sure how clean the bed cushions were).
Pro It was a nice period decor, safe, clean and had a lovely view of the harbour from my large room. 5-10 minutes walk from downtown St Johns. Cons no breakfast provided even with photos suggesting otherwise on some websites There is a kettle, microwave and small frodge in room with just two cups provided. No bowls/plate, spoon or knife provided. So I had to buy a bowl and spoon to have some cereal and fruit for breakfast.
Clean, quiet and wonderful view. Loved it.
I love it
Very nice beautiful room and super convenient location. Parking can be very limited at times and there is a bit of noise for those who like it quiet.
the parking map they issued is not accurate . I got a 100.00 parking ticket.parking is a issue there
It has a fantastic view of the jellybean houses and the water. Very close to shops, restaurants and church. Happy to have microwave, kettle, fridge and free coffee and tea in the room :). Worth for the price. I enjoyed my stay there. Thank you.
Absolutely perfect there is nothing that I can say bad or discouraging about Abba. Perfect location I was able to walk everywhere in St. John’s from here. I would highly recommend this place to anyone if I was asked.
Was a pleasant time to be there for 3 days.
Amazing and comfortable.
Location
It is a great property to stay in. This property is up hill from downtown. Needs a better storage room or facilities for the guests.
Would definitely stay here again. Clean and close to everything you need. If you're looking for the true Newfoundland experience and don't want a fancy hotel....this is your place.
Arriving on site we had no interaction whatsoever with anyone, we sent email with no response, then the envelope with information was put in between the doors while we we’re waiting for a response. Not professional at all. The room had what we needed for the week , it is a walkable distance to a lot of St-Johns, but if I return I will probably book a hotel
They do not offered us the parking, so we parked at the street , got catches the empty space. Nobody cleaned our room for 5 days and we had to take out our trash too. Top floor, very hot on sunny day, no air-conditioner
Heritage property, charming, quiet neighborhood
It is unfortunate that the park next door is full of trash. The breakfast area was dull and dark. did not use it.
Lovely older building that was converted to an inn. Large room with high ceiling with a nice bay window with a water view. Small fridge and microwave. Excellent location. Comfy bed. Easy walking distance to everything you’d want to see and visit.
Just not for me
If you are expecting someone to help you with things about the room or your reservation, don't count on it. There is NEVER anyone around. Their phone number is fake and no one ever picks up. Simple requests like can I get a fresh towel will never be responded to or acknowledged. This is a very expensive place for the lack of service. Keep this in mind before you make a reservation.
For the price we paid, I did not expect much. However, I do expect the room to be a bit cleaner when I checked in. There was a piece of carpet that covered a big stain in the middle of the room. I also saw a piece of dust when I turned down the sheet. Location is great.
I wish I could have stayed here forever! I needed some time away from an abusive environment, so I booked a flight to Newfoundland to clear my head. The location is right next to the water, and is close to all the tourist sites without the negatives that come with it! (No drunk people or loud noises, just absolute peace.) The rooms are so spacious (but also cozy), comfortable and clean! And on the main floor there’s an entire kitchen/dining area free to use whenever! Staff is so responsive, I forgot the code to the front door so many times and the housekeeper speedily answered every time I rang. Such a fantastic experience. Oh, not to mention, all of this, AND YOU WON’T BREAK THE BANK! (-: Extremely affordable! I highly recommend this place. I am definitely going to visit Newfoundland again just to go back to the Abba Inn. Thank you for making my stay so peaceful.
This is my third day this year at this boutique hotel. It is gonna be my go to anytime I go to Newfoundland to see my daughter so convenient minutes walk to downtown restaurant shopping easy accessibility BUS, should you take 10 minutes of the water coffee shops. The facility is very clean very organized and quiet spacious rooms with a nice bar fridge kettle hot showers clean bathrooms last time I was there. I had a problem with the cable within minute. Somebody was there to help me with it and reboot the machine. You won’t be disappointed if you book us stay here. It’s a really good spot. Thank you for making my stay so comfortable and being so organized.
First time ever in NFLD (from AB). This is a very clean quaint heritage house just 2 blocks from the downtown and Harbor activity. I instantly like I was in NFLD !! Very slick virtual checkin and checkout. Room was very nice for one or two people. Thank you.
The Inn was quiet and clean. It inn could use a fan or 2 in the room. It was very hot. But overall the experience was good.
Basic accommodation in the center of the city. Very convenient to everything as I was on foot. It would have been nice to have some on-site breakfast options even as basic as cereal.
Good place to stay in and great views
Clean and close to downtown.
Nice little hotel. Room was small but adequate.
We loved the stay. It was awesome.
Beautiful quiet spot steps away from downtown! Relaxing and enjoyable. Highly recommend
Great property. Had room #3 with a perfect view of downtown and the harbour. Staff helped with cable issues super quick. Very clean and conveniently located property. Less than a few minutes walk to downtown and lots of shops, restaurants, coffee shop and liquor store. It’s my second stay at this property and I will be back again.
This is the place if you want to feel like it’s your place. A very user friendly, easy self serve, small, clean apartment downtown experience for a great price. Not the place for you if you want the big hotel feel with a large lobby, traditional check-in, pool, fitness center and restaurant (and accompanying price tag). But it is the place for you if you want the “I live in a small affordable apartment in downtown St. John’s” experience, and you’re planning to be out exploring St John’s the majority of the day(s).
It is a very nice place with great location - it is close to the port, the Rooms, a big grocery store and a bakery with gelato. My room was clean, bed comfortable. Self check-in worked very well. All in all, it was a pleassure to stay there.
Location is great. So.etimes noisy where it is an old house, depending on neighbors. Very quiet this stay.
Nice quiet street very close to downtown. My stay was off season so very reasonably priced. It was quite windy one night and a window kept blowing open a crack.
We found a chicken bone and other dirt under the bed when we dropped something and had to look under. There was an odour. The last morning of our two night stay we woke up to a freezing cold room and not light to turn on. Apparently there had been a scheduled power outage that we were not told about prior to booking the room. We wouldn’t have stayed there if we were told this beforehand.
Everything was pleasant, but needs more parking.
I liked the charming inn and the location was close to the water. Waking up and seeing the harbor every morning was pleasant to be eyes. The continental breakfast was good. I would definitely stay here again. I also liked the location of the inn being in the community.
Great location. Close to downtown and quick drive to the airport. Will definitely stay again.
Great hotel, but phone and email need updating in case of change of plans.
Terrible bed; tons of noise from street and homeless, carpet is disgusting. Did I mention the $39 bed? Unbelievable. On the other hand, the basement breakfast and setting was nice. The view of the harbor from room 5 was exceptional but the two worn, dirty chairs took away from the view. My party had three other rooms in building. Poor mattresses, shower valve broke, no response from management to requests for support.
We had a room with a great view. The breakfast options were limited, but ok, we didnt go hungry. We really enjoyed meeting other guests at breakfast.You had to call if ypu wanted housekeeping or more linens. I got a text chastising me for black stains on a washcloth. I guess it was mascara from washing my face. I assueed her it was washable, and doesnt stsin mine at home. Really?? The shower was difficult to regulate temperatures. A few things and it could be great, but we were ok overall with our stay for what we paid.
So many things that were disappointing. Abba Inn room 2. We opened the door and immediately smelt an odour of mildew that just wouldn’t go away even with fan on high. It looked like mould in bathroom by the sink and tub (black). They didn’t have any blankets, or enough towels and had to wash more and would bring them to us later. Housekeeping did not come when we asked him to. There’s no one on site. Poor communication with caretakers. This is rated 4 stars. It is not. Although the price point was lower than other places in downtown St. John’s, I requested from management a partial refund due to all the issues and that we over paid for what we got. They never got back to us, even though they asked to provide feedback.
The location for this hotel is excellent. The staff are very friendly, polite and accommodating. The property itself is horribly run down. The carpet is sticky and smelly. The shower was crumbling, moldy and very outdated. The shower curtain was filthy. The sink was dirty and taps were worn out. The floors by the fireplace were not clean and the dust had built up over time. Spider webs in the bathroom. Windows very dirty
Nice stay comfy king bed
Nice hotel in a quite area
Fire protection consisted of only smoke detectors. No rep on site.lousy breakfast. No hot food, no OJ,eggs,bacon,etc. Parking was a problem. No A/C. You had to phone to have clean towels. One of our 3 nights we had to re-use wet towels. Should be rated “Very poor”.
It was quiet and relaxing.
Very average property
Felt very unsafe. Unable to reach mgmt, no returned calls. No one around. Breakfast was in the bsmt. No sink to dump old coffee. Dirty dishes sitting there the next day. Only cereal and toast with low quality muffins.
This is a great location, but rundown and not as described on the site. No lobby as described, could not sleep in that bedding. Worn shabby. Pillows yellow. Had to open window on ground floor and no screens! It says 24/7 available kitchen. Empty water cooler no sink so unable to wash dishes and they were left to sit dirty for several days.
It was easy to walk to downtown St. John's from the Inn, but it had very poor parking options. While the staff was very helpful (best extra blanket), the continental breakfast was mostly wet bread for toast and frozen jelly packets. Also, be aware that the ceilings and walls are very thin: you can hear everything.
Great location but the unit needs updating - it is starting to look “used”.
Lovely little spot, close to everything.
Overall, the property was clean. The blanket on the bed was slightly thicker than a sheet, basically a very thin coverlet. Upon request they did give me something a little thicker. Carpet flooring was a little dowdy. Rooms were cute but dated. There was barely any milk the second morning we were there, so many of us could not have cereal. Pretty basic breakfast, but OK.
Electrical plugs need to be replaced. Fridge out of service in kitchen area. No access to water in kitchen (water cooler empty)
It was clean but old. Not impressed with the bathroom. Very small. Carpet was old. Bed was too soft. No fridge in room.
Cute place I got room 5 and you can look out at harbour
I love how every thing set up and the place well keep clean and would stay again and would recommend to other people
I’ve stayed at Abba Inn previously with no concerns. But my room this time needed a full cleaning top to bottom - walls, doors, light fixtures, including window sills. Bathroom and towels were clean except inside shower wall needs bleach. Sheets on side of bed closest to door appeared to be slept in (dirt inside) so I slept on top of them. I tried to contact owner twice about parking and got no response so I figured a complaint about sheets wouldn’t be answered either. I was too tired to go elsewhere. It wasn’t awful but I think they need new cleaning staffs id go back if I could some way know in advance that it’s been totally cleaned. But after this review they won’t want me anyways! For the great price, I still expected a clean bed.
поспав добре,це головне:)
Pretty old fashion
Great view over the harbour. Room needs new mattresses and chairs.
Great location, easy check-in, quick response when I emailed, nice view from the room. It’s a nice property but a little tired and could use some refreshing with a new coat of paint and carpet.
Excellent communication, delightful old building, stunning view from room 5, well stocked breakfast/snack area.
I don’t know what you say, I overall like the property. The thing that disappoints me is the washroom tub and their was a some kind of bad smell when we enter the room but that smell went after sometime later, so it doesn’t bother me that. Otherwise my overall view is good for you facility. 😊😊
Feedback themes are sourced from guest reviews provided by our data provider.
What guests love
Areas to consider
Cleanliness
7.85/10Many reviews mentioned the cleanliness of the rooms positively, but there were also mentions of old furniture and a mothball odor in some rooms.
Service
7.85/10Mixed reviews about service with mentions of lack of staff interaction and unaddressed concerns.
Location
8.85/10Frequently praised for being close to downtown and major attractions despite some concerns about safety.
Room Quality
7.35/10Rooms were described as small with some complaints regarding missing amenities and the quality of furnishings.
Amenities
6.85/10Reviewers expressed disappointment over the discontinuation of breakfast and lack of basic items like kettle.
Value for Money
7.85/10Perceived as reasonably priced but mixed feelings about the overall value offered.
Food and Beverage
5.85/10Negative sentiment regarding the lack of breakfast and confusion about the advertised amenities.
Overall Experience
8.35/10While there were some drawbacks, many guests enjoyed their stay and indicated they would return.