Camberwell Green
Camberwell Green, Camberwell, London, United Kingdom- Park
Compare nearby stays with similar location, guest experience, amenities, and class.
Unique Spanish-American Boutique Hotel
Cuban/Mexican Decor
Experience vibrant colors, arched doorways, and hand-painted tiles in a Cuban/Mexican styled setting.
Luxurious Amenities
Indulge in premium L'Occitane toiletries, air conditioning, LED TVs, and DVD players. Enjoy free organic teas and an artisanal selection of spirits at the Havana-style lounge.
Convenient Location
With easy access to central London by bus, and proximity to transport stations, explore the city effortlessly.
Book now to enjoy a blend of culture, luxury, and convenience at Church Street Hotel.
Check-in from
02:00 PM
Check-out by
11:00 AM
Parking
PAID
Children
Allowed
Pets
Not allowed
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
4 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 1 guests
1 adults
Beds
Twin bed (90-130 cm wide)
Room details
3 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
2 Twin bed (90-130 cm wide)
Room details
4 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 3 guests
3 adults · 2 children
Beds
Twin bed (90-130 cm wide), Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
1 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 4 guests
4 adults · 3 children
Beds
2 Twin bed (90-130 cm wide), Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
5 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Queen bed (151-180 cm wide)
Room details
5 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 1 guests
1 adults
Beds
Twin bed (90-130 cm wide)
Room details
4 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Queen bed (151-180 cm wide)
Room details
5 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
4 sqm
In-room amenities
Get answers about amenities, policies, and more — e.g. “Are pets allowed?” or “Is parking available?”
Provider-sourced guest reviews.
Nulka
Ambiente sporco, bagno con il water sporco di urina secca
Nulla. Non ci hanno mandato i codici per l'accesso e hanno ignorato tutti i nostri messaggi ignorandoci completamente. I numeri di contatto non ci hanno permesso di metterci in comunicazione con loro. Siamo rimasti senza alloggio e Booking.com ci ha detto di arrangiarci
Vedi sopra
Reasonable location.
Doors banging all night. Just needs the door closers to be adjusted. My room had virtually no natural daylight and had a strong smell of damp. Narrow corridors and confusing layout.
The location was great very close to the city . We didn't have breakfast.
The lockers in the bedroom where no clean and the table. The bathroom pan and toilet seat not great. Went out and got some wipes to clean . The stairs and the rails could do with a wash and a good clean.
Great location, contactable support team, good value for money
前台Alex态度很热情,已经很久没见过英国酒店前台态度这么好的了,还主动帮忙拿行李
希望房间里能增加热水壶
Quirky and unique. Good location and friendly staff
The man at the reception was very helpful and polite
Please let the cleaner clean all the bedroom sides wood near the sink and bathroom they are very dusty Also didn't know its shared bathroom
Friendly helpful staff Good location close to Denmark hill station and many bus routes Clean & comfortable Good wifi
Window blind does not close fully, so let's in light No tea or coffee facilities in room Poor shower flow bracket broken on hose
In retrospect my stay was ok.
There was no elevator; room 4 flights up. Because there’s no attendant I was faced with hauling 2 heavy bags up steep wooden stairs (another guest came to my aid). There was only a sink in my room (shared toilet/shower.
Location
Stairs are steep
It was in an easily accessible location and the staff were very helpful
The aircon was broken on the first night but they fixed it for the second day super quickly!
It was located near the King’s hospital which was idea for me and it was comfortable and clean.
Nothing to say
Friendly staff. Great location.
Room window looked out to a wall. I didn't have an issue but some may have felt claustrophobic.
Il receptionist Gefin è stato molto disponibile. La posizione ottima perché vicina alle fermate del bus. La zona è tranquilla.
Non c’è l’ascensore quindi può essere un problema per chi non riesce a camminare bene. Non cambiano lenzuola e asciugamani per la durata del soggiorno. Le stanze sono molto calde, a meno che non si prendano quelle con l’aria condizionata.
Das Hotel hat eine hervorragende Lage, da sämtliche Busanbindungen verfügbar sind und tolle Restaurants und Pubs sowie Einkaufsmöglichkeiten fußläufig liegen. Der Empfang im Hotel (Gefin Alex George)l war sehr freundlich und immer verfügbar. Wir hatten ein geräumiges Dreibettzimmer mit tollem Flair. Wir waren zum 4. Mal im Churchstreet Hotel und kommen gerne wieder.
Rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Staff are friendly. Good comfortable room. Rooms look amaizing.
We have stayed here before and breakfast was excellent portugese cakes cheeses boiled eggs etc, amd now was just bread and ham noot even smell of coffee. So we did not have our breakfast. Parking was extrImly difficult to book with two telephone numbers provided did not work.
The bed was comfortable. Eventually an electric heater was provided. This warmed the room for our last night’s stay.. Nothing more to say on a positive note !
Air con made the room too cold (and it was noisy). We were not informed how to switch it off with a remote control. Reception is often unmanned ! Had to use a phone link to report an issue that required staff attention. Radiator was not working at all.
Lokatie was goed
Het brandalarm ging af door een technische fout. Heel vroeg in de ochtend rond 6 uur. Dus uitslapen was er niet bij. Communicatie er over was beperkt. We hadden ook een ontbijt besteld maar dat was zeer slecht.
Made working in the area much easier for me, great place to stay.
Location for us
The stairs were an issue with suitcases and no help available for us being in our 80’s. The lounge was uninviting. Facilities were not clean. Our room (No 3) had no plug in sink the shower tiles were dirty as was the wash stand. Shower was unadjustable. (Ok for a child to stand under but not an adult) Had to use the spray which wasn’t very convenient. Only met one staff who was helpful.
Location and cleanliness
No airconditioning and shared bathroom. Which was promised on the website of Booking.com
style
room was small
Central and cheap, clean
Not attended!
The location is great and the staff Jayden was very helpful and polite will stay again .
On entry to hotel we were greated by a wonderful gentleman Mr Gefin Alex George who stood up greated us with a lovely smile and shook our hands. He took our details then took us to our room ( he was a true gentleman by taking my luggage from me to carry to our room. He explained about the colour route walls to take to get to and from the room. Once inside the room Gefin walked us around the room showing how lighting ,tv ,ect worked and put the air-conditioning on for us. I personally was overwhelmed with the room the decor and the most amazing mattresses ive ever sat on and the bath room WOW I loved it . Gefin then explained that we would have to get food and drinks out as the hotel didn't cater for that. Once Gefin knew we were settled he left us in piece. I would like to see Gefin be recognised by his company for providing outstanding customer service, satisfaction and most of all his outstanding people skills . Ive work in retail for 35 year and its very rare you come across a colleague with the natural flare and amazing work ethic that Gefin has .
The only downfall was the horrendous loud noise all night of the generators on the building next doors wall right opposite our window ( we were in room 6 ) didn't get any sleep all night and I was hoping to sleep really well as I was attending kings college hospital the next morning . We did see Gefin when we signed out at 6 am in the morning and told him about the no sleep due to noise, he genuinely looked upset for us but we explained it wasn't his fault whatsoever and we all said our goodbyes and left . Apart from the loud noisy generators all night it was a pleasure staying at your residence.
I had a wonderful stay at the hotel. The room was clean, comfortable, and well-maintained. The staff Gefin was friendly, professional, and always willing to help. Their excellent service made my stay enjoyable and stress-free. I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying here again.
Great location in the centre of Camberwell, surrounded by eating and drinking options. Comfy beds (we had a double and single room) & air con.
Keyless entry took a bit of getting used to.
Very cool
Everything is very good
The location is great for the oval cricket ground and local good restaurants
We have stayed here twice before and really liked the quirky feel about the hotel. However the breakfast has gone down hill. The breakfast was extremely poor. Gone are the danish pastries, fruit juice and hard boiled eggs. Very very disappointed
Gefin Alex George. Very good helpful host.Hospitality was good from Gefin.Secure and nice place to stay.
Location and cleanliness of room
Serious health and safety concerns that were not addressed through a complaint. Fire alarm was turned off remotely without any attendance of staff to the site. Guests were expected to return into the building with no confirmation that it was safe to do so.
Great location for the price, hotel was well kept clean and modern feeling.
Would be useful to have a cup or glass in the room and not just bottled water
Gefin was great help place was great, clean and good value
The best thing about staying in this hotel was the help I received from Jaydev. He was very friendly and helpful: carried my suitcase up the very steep stairs, solved my phone charger issues and stayed longer on duty than he was supposed to. I would recommend making him a manager
I wanted to extend my stay by one more night, but the management increased the rate by 15 pounds, something I never encountered before in my many travels. Jaydev tried his best, but he did not have the power of a manager to make this decision, so I changed my mind
It was close to the hospital and that's why I booked, it is surrounded by shops and food places, everything you'd need around you
Awful room, absolutely disgusting. Hairs and pee and dust and what I think was toenail in the corner of the bathroom. I left a night early which added much stress to a stressful situation since I only had to stay here because my partner was rushed to the nearby hospital
Room was what I expected, Quirky lay out for last minute stay. Bit of a maze:) Good for single travellers
Bit of a nightmare to actually get checked in. But overall was good place to crash for one night stay. Room was really warm.
Location for the Brixton Academy, quick bus ride away and the street was filled with great restaurants and we had a fantastic Kurdish meal. The rooms were quirky with the decoration but all getting tired.
Place wasn't the cleanest, the communal kitchen area was very strange, free tee and coffee but all dusty and a bit tired. We didn't have the breakfast but it looked very grim sat for hours in the warm room. It was a very warrm weekend and the remote for the aircon was missing, so couldn't use it. For the cost with unmanned reception thought it was over priced.
😇😇
Near to Kings College hospital as my husband had appointment there
No tea / coffee facilities in room, although you could help yourself to coffee tea downstairs in breakfast room. No television service only DVDs .one tiny cupboard for clothes with only 2 hangers.
No tiene recepción, no tiene ascensor. Las habitaciones sucias, las cortinas rotas. Una de las dos noches empezaron a sonar las alarmas de incendios en todo el hotel y durante media hora el ruido fue insoportable. Nos llevamos un susto de muerte. Tardaron mucho en solucionar la incidencia.
Nada
No pude acceder al lugar por la pésima ayuda del personal puesto que brillan por la ausencia
Comfy bed.
I have been charged £15 for parking and never received the code to the gate. I had to find alternative parking! SO FAR I HAVE NOT BEEN REIMBURSED AND THEY ARE IGNORING ME. Extractor fan in the toilet whined like a mad Banshee (Room 5). Loud AC in the adjacent room (room 6) kept making noises (that sounded like someone chopping dill on a glass chopping board) throughout the night, waking me up.
Terrible experience. I was never sent the access codes required to enter the property, which meant I was unable to access my room upon arrival. At 11:00 p.m., with no way to get in, I was forced to find and book another hotel. No one provided any explanation, assistance, or solution to the situation. This level of service was extremely disappointing and unacceptable.
The first time I stayed here a few months ago, I was sent the wrong room access code and had to call in order to receive a new one. It took more than an hour for the issue to be resolved. At 10:30 p.m., situations like this create a great deal of stress because there is no staff available in person to assist, and you are left uncertain about whether you will even be able to stay in the hotel that night.
The floor needs to be moped and the future dust.
Other people who came were banging the bath door and waking me up from my sleep.
The location.
It was dirty and badly maintained. The shower was in dire need of repair and wasn’t draining although this improved once my husband fished all the hair out of the drain. We found packets of prescription anti depressants, anti anxiety and antihistamines in the bedside drawer. The breakfast we paid for was an absolute joke and on the second day it was clear that the same slices of bread from the day before were put out and they were all dry and curly. I don’t even want to think about the ham and eggs. Much of the kitchen equipment was broken, including the bin lids, which meant they were grubby and unhygienic, especially as the bins didn’t seem to be emptied. I assume this was why a hand sanitizer was left plonked on the counter. We did not see a member of staff for our entire stay. For the money we paid, £258 for 2 nights, plus a further £32 for breakfast it was shameful.
I'd like that it was very quiet inside and there was no one to bother you just left to be on your own with no staff self-checking I like that
but very noisy on the outside with the public at night time and the bed was very uncomfortable and the TV was very bad only a few channels not an update TV couldn't even access YouTube on the TV very fat very very bad
The location , it was central to the shops and pubs in Camberwell
Unfortunately, our stay was disappointing. The bed was very uncomfortable, which made it difficult to get a good night’s sleep. Our room also faced the main road, so there was a lot of noise late into the night from people in the street. In addition, one of the guests staying next door was extremely loud, with shouting and screaming continuing until around 2am. Overall, the noise levels and lack of comfort meant we were unable to properly rest during our stay.
Location
Too many horrible looking photo hang all over the place
Slight location
Extremely dirty, they never cleaned the rooms once nor changed towels in the whole stay . Shower was broken , curtains hanging fall out of the rails, very dirty windows . The bed was terrible the mattress did not even have a protective cover !!! Bed side disgusting . Staff extremely unfriendly, it was like they were unhappy to receive guests , when asked something it was responded clarify “on Line !!! . I would NOT recommend this hotel at all .
The location
It was dirty, old furniture, the bed was very uncomfortable
Nice clean room and lovely big bed
Nothing
Location
At this hotel, there’s no one to help you check in, check out, find your room, or fix breakfast. There is a receptionist whose presence is a matter of chance; you never know when he’ll be at the front desk and when he won’t. The only employee I encountered was Jeppin, who was always friendly and helpful one night when I needed to plug in the electric heater, but it was just a coincidence that he was there. I’d been here before and the service was better; at least there was an employee in the breakfast room who knew where things were, and there were better food options. Now it’s just a wasteland, and the 8 pounds I paid for the first breakfast went to waste. Cleanliness is not tops.
Estabelecimento perto dos transportes públicos.
Edifício bastante antigo com falta de limpeza, tanto nas escadas como nos quartos em si. Também não tem elevador. Compramos um desinfetante na mercearia para nos sentirmos mais à vontade.
Very clean and tidy, good value for money on a short break
Going home
Good location.
This is not the hotel it once was under the former management. My room smelled terrible, the sink was blocked, it clearly hadn’t been cleaned and clothes moths were eating my clothes by the morning. When I got back to my room in the evening, there was a dead battery light on the door keypad, which meant my room was actually unlocked and anyone could have got in. Bed also really uncomfortable, dvd player in the room was not even connected, air conditioning unites outside the window turned on every five to ten minutes all night. There’s also no one around to complain to - I didn’t see a single member of staff in the whole stay.
Location- was close to my University class
Rude stuff- the stuff on the reception said they were there only for emergency, the hotel is a self check-in accommodation, if any issues contact the customer service.
Location
Uncomfortable bed and poor response I.e no response from the hotel chain when I asked for a refund one week before the stay because I had booked the wrong week. This even after I booked for the correct week paid for two nights but only stayed one because the bed was so uncomfortable
Location.
The bathroom was like a sauna which also smelt a bit like poo. The shower didn’t appear the cleanest and was very cramped. The room smelt also smelt of poo. The window was a single pane which had a large crack through which allowed a draft which made the room very cold. The window also didn’t shut properly which meant there was another large draft, I had to block these with spare towels. The bed appeared clean however didn’t smell fresh at all.
Its a cool afordable hotel and the receptionist is a cool nice guy
Nada, pésimo servicio, no pude alojarme en mi habitación porque habían personas durmiendo en la habitación que me asignaron tenían el mismo código de acceso, no me quisieron dar otra habitación
No hicieron nada por arreglar el error que ellos mismo cometieron, en la recepción me dijeron que llamara atención al cliente y cuando llamé me dijeron que cancelarían mi reserva pero que no devolverían el dinero, dime tú cómo puedo pagar por un lugar en el que no me aloje y estaba ocupado con otras personas, el de recepción se pasó hablando en su lengua natal, era una Persona de la india, mientras yo espera con mi pareja él hablaba en su idioma por teléfono y me dijo que él no puede hacer nada que tengo que yo llamar para solucionar mi problema. Hasta el momento no me han devuelto el dinero que pague
Camberwell is a great place for bars and restaurants. We had a lovely evening in Camberwell.
The whole place was shabby. The room wasn’t clean with lots of dust and mould round the windows. There were stains on the soft furnishings. The mattress was very soft and uncomfortable. There was only one pillow each.
The location and the quirky room
Cleanliness of the kitchen area
Nothing
Property was shabby tired and dirty. The bed was very uncomfortable with a stained mattress protector although the sheets and towels appeared clean the toilet lid was broken and the sink very slowly emptied therefore blocked. The images on booking .com were very unrepresentative of the reality. Very unpleasant experience and definitely would not recommend. I will not be back
Location
Dangerous-3rd floor/ no mention of that on booking. No lift. No staff. No cold water!!! No help to be had. Emergency phone number didn’t work.no reply to my complaint. Dreadful . Disgusting hotel.
Good location, easy check-in, good value
Room could be cleaner, also very hot and a lot of stairs
The hotel uses a self check-in system with access codes. Unfortunately, my code did not work, and there was no staff available to assist. I had to send a message via WhatsApp and ended up waiting outside on the floor for almost half an hour. This situation was completely avoidable, and the system clearly needs improvement. The room itself was not properly cleaned, although it wasn’t in terrible condition. The main issue was the mattress—it was very low, thin, and of poor quality, offering almost no support. It was uncomfortable and felt very cheap. Other than these issues, everything else was fine.
Central in Camberwell Clean room
Typisch Engels, zeer goede prijs-kwaliteit verhouding!
The price. At least it was affordable but get what you pay for.
It was a contactless check in but ‘reception’ knocked on our door 5 times. This made us feel very unsafe and on edge for the entire stay. Apparently they wanted to change batteries in the locks but this should be done when guests are not in the room. 5 disruptions during a one night stay was ridiculous and took away the whole relaxing element of a hotel stay. This was much more of a hostel than a hotel.
Nothing
Location. Traffic, sirens, shouting screaming- inside and out. Hot water in the cold taps. Half empty beer bottle in the room when we checked in. Unhelpful staff. Lipstick all over ‘clean’ cup in the breakfast area.
Staff were great. Room was good, bed was comfy. Just needed a deeper clean.
Just the cleanliness. Especially under bed and behind furniture.
It has a unique style, They offered me a refund.
The room was dirty. The shower and sink was covered in limescale. The wardrobe had a layer of dirt on it that has been polished off around the handles. I left before I had a chance to stay the night and found another accommodation last minute, I wish I had photos but I just wanted out as fast as possible. The photos on the website are outdated. If you're like me and get easily uncomfortable when away from home. This might not be the best choice for you
Die Lage war ganz gut,aber die Straße vor der Tür sehr laut. Das Frühstück war mies,bzw nicht vorhanden,die Küche sehr schmutzig. Die Wasserhähne an den Waschbecken defekt. Das Duschwasser war schwierig einzustellen,entweder total heiß oder kalt im Wechsel. Das Hostel war bestimmt mal sehr schön, aber es fehlt wohl jemand,der sich um alles kümmert. I
Struttura pulita, confortevole e soprattutto comodissima essendo vicino alla fermata di vari bus per le zone principali della città
Feedback themes are sourced from guest reviews provided by our data provider.
What guests love
Areas to consider
Cleanliness
5.44/10Multiple reviews highlighted cleanliness issues, such as dust and filthy conditions.
Service
8.91/10The desk staff were very welcoming, and there were mentions of friendly staff.
Location
9.45/10Great location in the heart of Camberwell, with good access to public transport.
Room Quality
6.9/10Some rooms were described as small and uncomfortable with maintenance issues.
Amenities
7.43/10Basic amenities available, but limited coffee and tea options in rooms.
Value for Money
8.89/10Some reviews indicated good value for the location despite issues.
Food and Beverage
6.44/10Breakfast not mentioned positively; limited food options available.
Overall Experience
8.11/10Mixed feelings due to room size and cleanliness, but positive staff interactions.