Oban 51st Highland Division War Memorial
Oban 51st Highland Division War Memorial, A85, Oban, PA34 5PN, United Kingdom- Memorial
Compare nearby stays with similar location, guest experience, amenities, and class.
Breathtaking Views and Convenient Location
Located on the Corran Esplanade, Muthu Alexandra Hotel offers stunning views of Oban Bay and Kerrera. Just a stone's throw away from McCaig's Tower, guests can easily explore the area.
Comfortable Rooms and Modern Amenities
Each room at the hotel features en-suite facilities, a flat-screen TV, and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can unwind with complimentary hot chocolate and cookies provided in-room.
Easy Access to Attractions and Transportation
With the ferry terminal to Isle of Mull and Tiree nearby, and Dunollie Museum within walking distance, guests have plenty to explore. Plus, Glasgow Airport is just 88 miles away, and Oban rail station is conveniently close.
Book your stay at Muthu Alexandra Hotel now and experience a perfect blend of comfort and convenience!
Check-in from
03:00 PM
Check-out by
10:00 AM
Parking
FREE
Children
Allowed
Pets
Not allowed
Sleeps
Up to 1 guests
1 adults
Beds
Twin bed (90-130 cm wide)
Room details
9 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Queen bed (151-180 cm wide)
Room details
12 sqm
Sea View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Extra-large double bed (Super-king size) (181-210 cm wide)
Room details
12 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
2 Twin bed (90-130 cm wide)
Room details
12 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Extra-large double bed (Super-king size) (181-210 cm wide)
Room details
12 sqm
Sea View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
2 Twin bed (90-130 cm wide)
Room details
12 sqm
Sea View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Extra-large double bed (Super-king size) (181-210 cm wide)
Room details
12 sqm
Sea View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 3 guests
3 adults · 2 children
Beds
Twin bed (90-130 cm wide), Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
12 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
2 Twin bed (90-130 cm wide)
Room details
28 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults
Beds
Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
12 m2
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults
Beds
Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
12 m2
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
12 sqm
In-room amenities
1 Double Bed
322.92 sq feet
Internet - Free WiFi
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker, electric kettle, and room service
Sleep - Bed sheets
Bathroom - Private bathroom, shower/tub combination, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Desk, wardrobe or closet, and desk chair
Comfort - Daily housekeeping and heating
Non-Smoking
Sleeps
Up to 3 guests
2 adults · 2 children
Beds
Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
30 m2
In-room amenities
1 Double Bed
322.92 sq feet
Internet - Free WiFi
Food & Drink - Coffee/tea maker, electric kettle, and room service
Sleep - Bed sheets
Bathroom - Private bathroom, shower/tub combination, free toiletries, and a hair dryer
Practical - Desk, wardrobe or closet, and desk chair
Comfort - Daily housekeeping and heating
Non-Smoking
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
30 m2
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
2 Twin bed (90-130 cm wide)
Room details
12 sqm
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 1 guests
1 adults
Beds
Twin bed (90-130 cm wide)
Room details
9 sqm
Sea View
In-room amenities
Sleeps
Up to 2 guests
2 adults · 1 children
Beds
Double bed (131-150 cm wide)
Room details
12 sqm
In-room amenities
Get answers about amenities, policies, and more — e.g. “Are pets allowed?” or “Is parking available?”
Provider-sourced guest reviews.
L’emplacement est central. La chambre très grande et donc très bien pour trois personnes.
The location was perfect overlooking the water. The hotel was very clean & the staff were all very nice & friendly. The swimming & sauna area was very clean.
Possibly a lunch menu. The drinks were quite expensive.
Hi loved the fireworks display and the restaurants were brilliant the coast for steaks and the Chinese restaurant the lndian restaurant and norries chippie and last but certainly not least the chocolate factory
The elevator was not working had to carry cases up 6 flights of stairs so didn't go out much to save going up and down the stairs The swimming pool was also closed
Easy to get to and park. Very friendly and helpful staff
Located on the sea front. Not far from the town centre. Fantastic views.
N/a
What a beautiful hotel. A little dated but you can tell it is very well loved and cared for.
Location
Very old fashioned rooms design
Das Hotel liegt sehr zentral, direkt in der Bucht von Oban. Die Betten waren top. Das Personal war sehr freundlich und entgegenkommend. Hotelparkplatz vorhanden.
Das Hotel ist schon sehr in die Jahre gekommen. Würde eine Renovierung in jeglicher Hinsicht vertragen. Die Zimmereinrichtung ist sehr alt, ebenso die Badezimmereinrichtung. Das Frühstück war soso lala.
Staff v friendly and helpful, location fab dinner excellent, breakfast great selection and lovely dining room Room lovely, bed comfy and shower hot
Nothing
From the Moment we arrived, we were treated like Royalty.The Staff where so helpful and friendly throughout eg, We couldnt work the TV in our room and reception came up and sorted it no problem No guest wifi access available when we stayed, so we where allowed to use the staff one The food in the resturant was lovley with good portion size and selections and again credit to the wonderful helpful staff.Swimming pool was a bonus with hotel towels to use and its fantastic the steam room and fountain outside is working again. Room tidied every day and branded coffee , tea, milk, water replenished. The view priceless.
The hotel is getting tired and could be doing with refurbishment. Instructions in our room for the TV and shower would have been helpful.My husband said the buffet breakfast could have been hotter but thats just him.
Great decor and dining facilities. Perfect location to explore Oban or to catch the ferry to Mull.
Nothing
Staff very friendly breakfast really good also paid for a meal in afternoon value for money. Would definitely go back
Sauna was turned off during the day and when we went to use it it never seemed to heat up. Also wee bits around hotel could do with a bit of paint but its not really 2 bad
Location was amazing… less than 5 min from the ferry terminal. Great views from the lobby and bar areas! Loved that part!
Front desk staff was a little pushy in terms of the hotel restaurant and pushing for a reservation. We took the bait and did the reservation, but the food was only OK. And the service was non-exceptional to put it kindly. In essence, no one in the restaurant was attentive enough to offer any beverages from the menu. We had to call one of the wait staff over and specifically ask for the wine list finally about 15 minutes after our main plate had already been served. Probably would’ve preferred or given a higher rating if it wasn’t such a push. Had the food been just OK but no push probably wouldn’t have thought much about it. Bartender had terrible pour ratios and not very good recommendations of local whiskeys… When engaging in that conversation, it came out that the bartender was “not a drinker” 😬 so… how about we get a bartender in there who “knows how to mix good alcoholic drinks” lol?!?
Pleasant staff,
Very very limited on site parking, bed very uncomfortable, old and outdated rooms.
Had a lovely weekend and was warmly welcomed by all the staff. I would like to give a special mention for Rowan, she was lovely and very helpful. As someone else who manages people myself I understand how important employees like Rowan are.
Location was great, views are lovely and really close to town
The hotel was very run down. We tried to order a coffee at the bar but told to go to our room and make our own. overall feeling that no one cared about the hotel, the guests or the service.
Good
No suggestions
Goed, geen negatieve dingen. Top
Internet op de kamers erg slecht
Best location, best food and best service
Comfy bed
No cash accepted
Average generally pleasant hotel appropriate for the star rating. Swimming pool very nice. Staff were helpful and very polite
The one disabled parking space was completely inaccessible. People had parked their cars over it and so it could not be used. The nice receptionist found us somewhere else to park so it was ok but it would have been much better to have made the designated space accessible. Also the lift wasn’t working and there was no one to help us with bags. Ok for able bodied people but they need to address accessibility. This is not the hotels fault but It was also very noisy with people constantly walking heavily around in the room above, from very early in the morning which was so loud and went on for ages that it actually woke me up at five am. Also our room wins the prize for the worst window view ever! Which is minor but if you mind about that, be warned. Breakfast staff were pleasant but cleanly rushed off their feet and we had to ask for cups etc
Breakfast was excellent . The swimming pool was absolutely paradise always warm and quiet with big fluffy towels . The staff were all lovely and friendly. The reception staff Jude and the girls were always helpful
It was a bit of a walk round to the harbour area and shops etc . Although it was a lovely view from the hotel across the bay
Lage direkt an der Waterfront ist genial
Das Zimmer war dunkel, muffig und kalt
Beautiful place and amazing location.
Easy to get to
View of the water
Die Lage ist sehr gut, direkt an der Küste und nur 10 Minuten Fußweg zur Stadt oder 15 Minuten zum Fährhafen und Bahnhof. Das Hotel sieht von außen gut aus.
Zimmer 56 und auch weitere Zimmer gehen zum Innenhof und dort brummt die Lüftung der Küche angeblich nur bis 21 Uhr, aber auch nachts lief diese. Ausstattung Zimmer und Bad sind unterdurchschnittlich für Hotels dieser Preislage. Der Zustand ist eher mäßig.
Läget kanon. Rum okej. Personalen vi träffade gjorde ett bra jobb. Åt middag i restaurangen, helt okej.
Allocated sea view rooms as requested. Only had breakfast on one of the days but it had quite a few selections to choose from. Nice walk along the front to the hotel. Didn’t have time to try out the facilities offered.
As we weren’t in the hotel too long I feel I can’t comment on this.
Large , comfortable and functional. Elegant curtains and high ceiling giving a real authentic Victorian vibe.
View from the window. Comfortable bed. Large screen TV. Toiletries. Staff friendly. Clean. Tourist information leaflets. Plenty of drawer space. Tea tray with Scottish shortbread each day. Great location. Car park good size.
Shower was terrible - no pressure! Very poor flow. Took over 5 minutes for water to get warm. Took ages to fill bath as we couldn't get enough water flow and then it wasn't hot enough. TV - no option for smart tv apps, e.g. no options to sign in on Netflix, BBC iPlayer etc. No dried fruits, prunes, sultanas etc for breakfast but did have white / milk chocolate chips...why? Safe in room unusable. Bit overpriced for facilities (water pressure/lack of smart tv)
Very well located on sea front
The annex was very tired looking, could do with a refurb. Shower not the best, water only luke warm
la chambre avec "vue sur la montagne" était une chambre avec "vue sur le parking"
The staff were very professional and friendly. We were blessed with a free room upgrade, which was very unexpected and offered views across the bay from the panoramic window. Just a short flat walk into the centre of Oban (which has everything a great tourist destination should have and more). Food was excellent, the place was spotless throughout and I have no worries about recommending the hotel to all.
I cant think of anything to write in the "what didn't you like" section.
la camera dependance esterna alla struttura principale dove hanno dormito i miei figli era assolutamente non accettabile, la mia affacciava sul retro sopra la cucina era rumorosa e entrava cattivo odore.
La bonne surprise c'est la surface, très grande chambre. Par contre c'est pas très glamour quand votre chambre est sur le parking.
Changer les rideaux!
Lovely clean building, great hospitality and welcoming.
Everything on point.
The staff were very friendly and helpful 😃 the food was delicious 😋
It was a bit pricey but not too bad . We enjoyed it anyway 😃
Nice dining room, splendid views.
Attic type window, sea view could only be viewed easily by one. Two was a squeeze
Room was large, pool was lovely and location was great. Free parking and plenty of spaces.
Toilet didn't flush well, ironing board in wardrobe took up space had to lift out then in the way. Beds far too soft (personal preference) Decoration was very fussy
Location Swimming pool Breakfast Hospitality
Wifi extremely poor
Great location. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Weird curtains. Strange metal statues in reception.
Taps in bathroom were difficult to turn on. Shower was difficult to figure out.
Excellent location. Frind.ly staff. Swimming pool a big plus.
Nothing really.
Friendly staff Lovely room Central location
Very small bathroom
Location is great, harbour/sea view. Staff were great.
The room has some odd elements and a bit haphazard with the fittings but was comfortable,clean and tidy.
It was in Oban and the breakfast was hot enough to eat and the staff were nice.
The room decor was outdated, the bar claimed to have cocktails but didnt.
La piscine intérieure Le charme de l’hôtel Le bon emplacement Le parking
Chambre un peu vieillotte et salle de bains également
This hotel is amazing and the fact you can have some free parking.Lots of Muthu hotels in scotland now.We stayed at Chtistmas in their hotel in the Algarve right on the beach too.Oban one has a lift.
Everything was good and the view amazing.
Friendly staff, good views & location. Comfortable & clean room
Shower was a bit confusing, wi-fi not always reliable
La proximité du centre. La déco de l hôtel est extra. Les bouteilles d'eau gazeuse dans la chambre. La gentillesse du personnel. Très beau séjour
Vista mare, veramente una bella posizione e molto comoda per raggiungere il centro anche a piedi. Camera spaziosa rifornita quotidianamente di acqua, caffè e biscotti.
Siamo stati alloggiati in una seconda struttura alle spalle della struttura principale, decisamente meno elegante e sicuramente da svecchiare. Connessione wifi disponibile solo nella hall.
Excellent location. Easy walking distance to Oban. Amazing sea views. Receptiion wrre helpgul and friendly....Juice, Stephanie and Tina. Grwat pool
The only down side was the steam room (not a sauna!) The temperature was way yoo hot for general use and should be looked at straight away to avoid any possible accidents
I booked this hotel last minute but would definitely revisit if in the area, fantastic hotel, perfect location, everything exceptionally clean, great room with comfortable bed, lovely bedding and lots of hot water! Lovely breakfast with wide selection and most of all the really wonderful staff
Two small things, I don’t think the lock on my door was working and I don’t know if it was staff or guests smoking below my room, but as a non smoker who likes the windows open, this was not great first thing in the morning otherwise perfect thank you
Location to town is fantastic.5 minute walk to centre.View is superb over bay and town.Food was great and receptionist was very welcoming and friendly.Service at bar and restaraunt very good.Sitting areas comfortable.
Nothing apart from no sockets near bed.
Posizione ottima. Personale molto gentile e disponibile.colazione buona e varia.
La nostra stanza era al di fuori dell’hotel, nel retro dove c’è il parcheggio auto. Praticamente una decina di stanze erano delle casette,non esattamente accoglienti già esternamente. La pulizia all’interno non era ottimale.
The breakfast was nice plenty of choice. The location was stunning beautiful view over the bay.The staff were tremendous, everyone of them was helpful and pleasant. There was plenty of tea,coffee and biscuits plus dressing gowns,slippers and bottles of water. Easy walk into the town. Bed very comfortable.
The shower in the junior suite was very difficult to operate. The buffet in the evening was not particularly good, not expecting chilli in the pasta dish.We found the management using tables in the dining room as their office when people were eating a bit off putting.
Food, facilities staff
Breakfast was simple and perfect overlooking Oban bay.
Complication around looking after teenager. Too young for a cot yet unable to sleep in a room by herself. Happy to pay extra to add another bed - not sure what problem is as most decent hotels do this.
The location was good, the room was on the ground floor, the room & bathroom were spacious if somewhat weirdly decorated.
The wifi was basically non existent. Only available in the public area & then dropped out after only seconds. Even the staff wifi was no better. Need to invest in decent set up.
Location
Nothing
Good choice for breakfast. Helpful staff.
The bathroom layout could be improved. No towel holder near the sink or the bath/shower area.
Location, location, excellent looking over the bay, from hotel facilities, restaurant, lounge and bar.
For over £200 a night rooms are not very big. Good king size bed but poor electrics. 1 double socket in room of which one was needed to use the kettle. When booked I confirmed my wife has mobility issues, both walking any distance and stairs are an issue. Provided room close to lift, great, but only bath in bathroom with fixed shower head. Restaurant staff very helpful, but menu limited. Hotel caters for bus parties with a buffet. Unfortunately I was extremely ill next morning, only eaten in hotel one meal. At end of the day checked out after second night. No response from hotel management as to reason. Only that I pre booked and paid for 3 nights, so there would be no refund, not that I was asking for a refund, but some token of a hotel credit, for previous nights meal or a hotel group credit. Not a good experience.
Bellissima vista sul mare. Hotel molto comodo per chi viaggia con i mezzi pubblici - a 3 minuti a piedi da Corran Hall Park. A 10 minuti a piedi dal centro, con una piacevole passeggiata. Camera buona, ottima colazione, molto varia.
Volendo proprio fare un appunto, le camere famigliari erano all'esterno del complesso principale. Ma non è stato un problema. E comunque era segnalato.
Very nice quiet hotel with good facilities
Very helpfull staff especially Stephanie,Tina and Jude really good.
All was good.
Entire staff was great! Facilities were fantastic. Food was amazing!
The room was amazing, breakfast was fantastic and what a view!!!
The pool was really too cold to be enjoyable, which is a shame because it is a brilliant facility.
Location, cleanliness, breakfast.
TV in room didn’t work and to small in this day .
Very nice staff, Location, view , recently updated and in good decor and condition. Lovely restaurant for breakfast and dinner looking out onto the bay . Very spacious rooms. Highly recommend .. best hotel we stayed in all week
Bathroom didn’t reflect the quality of everything else about the hotel.
Location! Bar and reception area and the stuff. Stephanie and Tina were very welcoming from the beginning. So was amazing cleaning lady (sorry forgot her name). Comunal parts we loved and breakfast was really 😌
Bath tub needed updating. So are the doors. And few other things but saying that views from our bedrooms were amazing. And it is a 3* property after allergy
Decent spot, easily walking distance to town. Pool was a huge bonus.
Wifi was unusable and bar/restaurant quite expensive. Bathroom has a smell
Habitación cómoda y buena ubicación
la bañera que no desaguaba bien
Awful customer service
Very clean; staff very friendly and efficient. Great having a pool. The view from the big bay window was wonderful. Lots of hot water in the bathroom and shower
Very few staff around which wasn't a problem but I saw the same staff all the time. The maintenance guy who was buzzing around fixing things all day, was cooking in the kitchen in the evening, I know was him as he was still wearing his maintenance gear. The next night I saw him cooking again, this time with an apron on. The beds were very very hard, water pressure in the shower could have been better. Breakfast wasn't worth the money, it looked like someone had butchered the eggs, I'm sure they tasted fine but looked horrendous. At a 3 star hotel I would expect table service. Also no phone in the room and no room service available. Not very accessible for those with mobility problems and although staff were around no assistance for a disabled member of the party to get up two sets of stairs with a walker and luggage. We were told that there was an entrance to the rear of the hotel where there was a ramp but that would have meant a further ten minute walk over rough ground and then down quite a steep slope covered with drain covers. For the money that they were charging, this was not good value.
Location,big room
Bar prices,cold breakfast.mentioned this to staff member who then broke a sausage in half to convince me it was hot inside ,werent keen to give you a pot of water for tea this was confirmed by getting a half pot
Location.
Lack of parking.
Great location and well equipped, clean, and spacious rooms. Was nice to have a twin share room where the beds weren't pushed together but properly separated. Plenty of parking and even has a pool and sauna!
Very spacious bathrooms but lacking some storage space for toiletries etc.
Posizione eccellente, in centro, accoglienza, parcheggio ottimo, colazione e cena a buffet buono, camera tripla ampia e accogliente.
Niente. Struttura vecchia e mal tenuta.
Tutto.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Nice views of the sea.
The rooms and decor are dates. Windows dont close properly. Walls are paper thin, can hear every sound. Room are very small. Internet wasn't great on room.
Location excellent and reception staff very helpful, great customer service. Good bar and enjoyed our swim
The breakfast was a bit of a let down, we would definitely stay again but not including breakfast. Last time we stayed the breakfast was amazing. There was French toast. The Scrambled eggs tasted as if powdered. Bacon only cooked on one side, not a great selection of fruit apart from melon. Coffee wasn’t nice from the big urn. Need a fruit bowl that is already prepared.
The location was great but even better was the welcome from Jude on Reception. He was so helpful nothing was too much trouble. The food was also delicious I really can’t recommend this hotel highly enough
Nothing
Die Lage. Das freundliche und hilfsbereite Personal. Vielen Dank
Good location, plenty space for parking,clean, lovely staff, nice breakfast.
The view
Everything
No
Friendly staff. Spotless clean.
Very dirty bathroom Bedlinen not clean pillows drained
Very disappointed
Nous étions dans une grande chambre pour 3 personnes. Les chambres familiales se trouvent a l’arrière de l’hotel avec vue sur le parking. Très bon petit déjeuner sous forme de buffet. L’hôtel est prêt du centre ville.
L’eau était froide dans la piscine.
The location is wonderful
The Restaurant is quite expensive
Lovely
Food was good, Breakfast was very good, the staff were very attentive and helpful
minor detail. the toilet seat was too small for the pan, The shower was over the bath and I have some mobility issues and could not uae it. Nesx time I will ask for a stand alone shower
Bella posizione e bei saloni. Ristorante accettabile
Per avere una camera in cui riuscire a muoverci abbiamo dovuto prendere una suite. Comunque arredamento orribile e vecchio, non certo da consigliare
Brilliant location, view from breakfast was fantastic.
It was all pretty good value for money.
Great location, lovely staff, nice pool. This hotel was also good on food and var prices. We are there twice in the evening and food was lovely.
The only thing i would say i didn’t like was the fried eggs at breakfast and most guests did not like them as they were all really hard yolks and all just piled on top of each other not very good at all. The rest of the breakfast was lovely.
Location was perfect, we were in one of the rooms in the annex, which from the outside don’t look like much, but they were so lovely on the inside. Very clean.
We had a really off putting instance with a member of staff at breakfast after sitting down at a table we didn’t realise hadn’t been cleaned yet. She was very rude to my friends (whose birthday we were celebrating) and it put such a sour taste in our mouths. The woman on reception in the morning was so nice but every other member of staff could not even crack a smile at us, especially considering it’s not a cheap price for one night of accommodation. Also the breakfast was not great.
Hotel was lovely, and all the staff were very polite, friendly and helpful.
Food standard was very poor. First night ordered Steak and told there was a supplement although it wasn't stated on the menu. Ordered 1 to be medium to well done and the other to be medium. Both came very rare !! Left them and told waitress when she came to clear table. Fish and chips second night was dry. Food let's the hotel down!
We had a room at the rear ...so it was nice and quiet..great view from the dining room and breakfast was lovely.
The room was a tad small but we were only there for two nights ..so it was adequate
Feedback themes are sourced from guest reviews provided by our data provider.
What guests love
Areas to consider
Cleanliness
6.64/10Several reviews mentioned dirty or smelly rooms, indicating poor cleanliness.
Service
8.11/10General feedback was positive regarding helpful staff, but there were some issues with communication.
Location
8.15/10Many reviews praised the location, noting it was close to town and with scenic views.
Room Quality
6.6/10Rooms received several complaints about comfort and maintenance; overall quality is lacking.
Amenities
7.63/10Facilities like the pool and bar received mixed reviews indicating they could improve.
Value for Money
7.09/10Despite some issues, the pricing was generally considered acceptable given the location.
Food and Beverage
8.64/10The breakfast was frequently mentioned as a highlight, receiving positive remarks.
Overall Experience
7.11/10While there were enjoyable aspects, several guests expressed disappointment with their stay.